Wagner: Die Walküre

( 2 )

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 9/7/1993
  • Label: Teldec
  • UPC: 745099118624
  • Catalog Number: 91186
  • Sales rank: 359,386


Disc 1
  1. 1–53 Die Walküre (The Valkyrie), opera, WWV 86b - Richard Wagner & Daniel Barenboim (232:25)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Daniel Barenboim Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010


    Barenboim leads a masterful interpretation of what may be one of Wagner's best known operas. The tempi match the content far better than other's interpretations have; and John Tomlinson makes a far more interesting Wotan than Hans Hotter ever did. For example, at the end of Act II, when he says, ''Geh', geh''' to Hunding, instead of whispering the second word as Hotter did, he shouts it - a for more fitting introduction to his building wrath against Brunhilde. Matthais Holle does a wonderfully despicable Hunding. Poul Elming is a vibrant and lively Siegmund. He is able to put the right amount of histrionics into his words - at times, almost a ''singspiele'' style - to emphasize the meaning of what his character is saying. The biggest limitation of this album is that Anne Evans' voice seems a bit weak for the role of Brunhilde; and there is a degree of extraneous noise that is unavoidable at a live recording. Otherwise this is a monumental recording of this fine opera.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews