Wait for Dusk (Dark Days Series #5)

Wait for Dusk (Dark Days Series #5)

4.4 97
by Jocelynn Drake
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

“A must-read addition to the urban fantasy genre, filled both with action and satisfying characters.”
—Kim Harrison

 

“Jocelynn Drake will have you coming back for more.”
—Jeaniene Frost

 

Vampire enforcer Mira must thwart the malevolent schemes of an ancient coven in the fifth action-packed Dark Days

Overview

“A must-read addition to the urban fantasy genre, filled both with action and satisfying characters.”
—Kim Harrison

 

“Jocelynn Drake will have you coming back for more.”
—Jeaniene Frost

 

Vampire enforcer Mira must thwart the malevolent schemes of an ancient coven in the fifth action-packed Dark Days novel from New York Times bestselling author Jocelynn Drake. Wait for Dusk is gripping, stellar urban fantasy in the vein of Kim Harrison and Vicki Pettersson, with enough sensual heat to enthrall readers of Christine Feehan, J. R. Ward, and Jeaniene Frost.

Editorial Reviews

Jeaniene Frost
“NIGHTWALKER is an action-packed, stellar debut. Jocelynn Drake will have you coming back for more.”
Vicki Pettersson on Nightwalker
“An unflinchingly self-assured first novel, chiseled with subtlety and irony into a darkly suspenseful and blessedly surprising story. In exacting detail, and with prose as silky and enticing as her protagonist, Drake has composed a love letter to the vampire genre. I wish I’d written it.”
Romantic TimesBOOKclub
"The action is riveting, the violence intense and the plot gripping. Score another win for Drake!"
Romantic Times BOOKclub
“The action is riveting, the violence intense and the plot gripping. Score another win for Drake!”

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780061851810
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
07/27/2010
Series:
Dark Days Series , #5
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
341,177
Product dimensions:
4.96(w) x 11.08(h) x 1.04(d)

Related Subjects

What People are saying about this

Jeaniene Frost
“NIGHTWALKER is an action-packed, stellar debut. Jocelynn Drake will have you coming back for more.”

Meet the Author

Jocelynn Drake is the New York Times bestselling author of the Dark Days series and lives in Florida. When not at her desk, she is most likely to be found playing video games, watching movies, or hanging with her family.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Wait for Dusk (Dark Days Series #5) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 91 reviews.
ILgirl82 More than 1 year ago
The big tagline for this book is that Danaus betrays Mira, I honestly don't understand this and how he exactly betrayed her. The cover shows a couple all hot and heavy but there is only one sex scene through the whole book and its toward the very end. I thought that FINALLY Danaus and Mira would be together from the beginning and they'd explore their relationship through the entire book as they took on the world but nope, just once and it's back to business as usual, it's like Jocelynn Drake doesn't know how to write anything besides action sequences. She uses the same phrases over and over in every book which drives me nuts! A book should have some humor, romance, action and suspense but her Dark Days series is all fighting, all the time. The characters aren't even worth saving which is what the entire series is based on, doesn't make sense to me to write about saving the vampires and then to write them as heartless monsters??? One good thing about book five is it's the best one out all the rest but still not great. Mira cleans out some annoying pest, finds out who her father really is, takes back her freedom and finally hooks up with Danaus. I also really like the side characters but was really ticked when i read about what happened to Tristan. I've already invested my time into reading all 5 books and now i'm calling it quits, Jocelynn Drakes writing remains the same and i don't see any reason to buy anymore of her books ever!
MyUrbanFantasies More than 1 year ago
Originally published on my blog, My Urban Fantasies. (myurbanfantasies.blogspot) Wait For Dusk starts seconds after where Pray For Dawn ends. Mira has just been kidnapped by the "witch" who helped Danaus and Mira banish the bori. The "witch" is actually a shapeshifting god who's been know by many names including Loki, Coyote and Raven. He asks Mira to call him Nick, short for Old Nick which is another name for Satan. Nick is also Mira's biological father. Although Nick is super pissed that Mira has become a nightwalker, he has decided to modify his plans instead of just killing her. Mira has to complete a task before Nick decides to move forward with those plans. Mira has to learn to take control of Danaus' and Jabori's powers. Nick refuses to let anyone have control of Mira other than himself of course. If Mira fails, Nick will make her human again and force Mira to have his child. Eww. And that's just the first chapter! Valerio shows up a few minutes after Nick has left Mira. It's time for Mira to take her place on the coven. Things suck for Mira, as usual, when she arrives in Venice but the danger does not truly begin until Mira arrives in Budapest to rid it of the naturi. In Wait For Dust Mira is fighting on several different fronts. Mira's sure Macaire wants her dead, the naturi are attacking, to make Nick happy she'll have to control Jabari, there's Nick himself and the one person who Mira trusted most betrays her. If it was not for the book blurb I would have never seen Danaus' betrayal coming. It's sad, some of it could have been avoided if Mira and Danaus' actually talked to each other like adults. Wait For Dusk is definitely worth 4 stars. I loved watching the relationship between Mira and Danaus develop, despite the fact that Danaus acted like a rat bastard. This book is definitely a must read.
harstan More than 1 year ago
He hammered her in the jaw cursing Mira for being a nightwalker as if that is the most sinful abomination in creation. Still recovering from her successful but harrowing triumph that has kept the perilous Bori from conquering humanity (see Pray for Dawn; better yet the entire Dark Days saga), Mira is further stunned when the man battering her claims to be her father. In between the vicious beating, she insists her dad is dead, but he proclaims otherwise and demands she use her paranormal power of being the only nightwalker who brings the fire for his profit or she and her loved ones and allies will suffer the consequences. The coven makes her an Elder and sends her to Budapest to repel the deadly onslaught of the Naturi incursion. Mira fears a set-up as she knows few if any trust her because her skills make her unique by placing her with a foot in each camp. She turns to Danaus the vampire slayer for back-up. However, in Hungary, as she learns who her dearest so called dad is, Mira is right about treachery, but wrong as to the source. As dark and bloody as its four predecessors, Wait for Dusk is a terrific entry in which this round Mira tells the tale. The story line continues the overarching theme of back stabling treachery with the mantra trust no one especially family and loved ones. Readers will appreciate this urban fantasy as the European vampire and human communities are being overrun by the insidious bellicose Naturi. Harriet Klausner
SmalltownSR More than 1 year ago
Fantastic!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fun, fast, series with a very likable heroine, but Danaus is a total jerk. He is supposed to be much older than Mira, but he sure hasn't learned much in his long existence. He is sullen, petulent, juvenile and unlikable. But I will read the whole series because of Mira.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Finally!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Blondeness032 More than 1 year ago
Glad she went back to Mira's viewpoint! More plot twists and turns and alot of action, the story kept moving along at a rapid pace. Good reading!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I look forward to seeing how this plot continues
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like action and thrill, then read