Walrus (Ocean Life Series)

Walrus (Ocean Life Series)

by Martha E.H. Rustad

Text and photographs introduce the physical characteristics and behavior of walruses.See more details below

  • Checkmark Kids' Club Eligible  Shop Now


Text and photographs introduce the physical characteristics and behavior of walruses.

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature
This book is one in the "Ocean Life" series published by Pebble Books that supports national science standards. The series shows that animals have features that help them live in different environments. The book uses simple text and photographs to describe walruses and how they live. Readers will learn that walruses are mammals that swim in the ocean and rest on land and ice. They will also learn about the body parts of the walruses, which are clearly labeled on the full-page photographs. The author also discusses how walruses use their whiskers to find clams and snails to eat. The large, colorful photographs support early readers in their comprehension of the text. Readers are assisted in learning new words that are subject-specific through the repetition of words and phrases. Adults may need to help some children use the Table of Contents, Words to Know, Read More, Internet Sites, and Index/Word List sections of the book. This is an excellent resource for younger elementary children. 2003, Pebble Books/Capstone Press, Ages 4 to 7.
— Maureen Boyle

Product Details

Capstone Press
Publication date:
Ocean Life Series
Product dimensions:
6.40(w) x 7.30(h) x 0.31(d)
Age Range:
5 - 6 Years

Related Subjects

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >