Wandering Significance: An Essay on Conceptual Behaviour

Wandering Significance: An Essay on Conceptual Behaviour

by Mark Wilson
     
 

Mark Wilson presents a highly original and broad-ranging investigation of the way we get to grips with the world conceptually, and the way that philosophical problems commonly arise from this. He combines traditional philosophical concerns about human conceptual thinking with illuminating data derived from a large variety of fields including physics and applied

See more details below

Overview

Mark Wilson presents a highly original and broad-ranging investigation of the way we get to grips with the world conceptually, and the way that philosophical problems commonly arise from this. He combines traditional philosophical concerns about human conceptual thinking with illuminating data derived from a large variety of fields including physics and applied mathematics, cognitive psychology, and linguistics. Wandering Significance offers abundant new insights and perspectives for philosophers of language, mind, and science, and will also reward the interest of psychologists, linguists, and anyone curious about the mysterious ways in which useful language obtains its practical applicability.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"Wandering Significance is a brilliant and highly original contribution to some of the main classical problems of philosophy, employing a novel (and very learned) combination of philosophy of language with the history and philosophy of science. Wilson thereby presents a radically new version of a "neo-pragmatist" approach to concepts and conceptual mastery (in the tradition of Dewey, Quine, and the later Wittgenstein) which far surpasses all previous versions in depth and specificity of detail. A major intellectual breakthrough."—Michael Friedman, Stanford University

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780199532308
Publisher:
Oxford University Press
Publication date:
05/01/2008
Pages:
690
Product dimensions:
9.60(w) x 6.70(h) x 1.50(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >