The Wanderings of Odysseus: The Story of the Odyssey

The Wanderings of Odysseus: The Story of the Odyssey

by Rosemary Sutcliff
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

For fans of D'Aulaires' Book of Greek Myths and readers who enjoyed Homer's The Iliad and The Odyssey, comes a retelling by a master storyteller and an award-winning illustrator that evokes the golden age of mythical Greece.
 
The long siege is over, and Troy lies in ashes. The black ships of the Greek war-host set

Overview

For fans of D'Aulaires' Book of Greek Myths and readers who enjoyed Homer's The Iliad and The Odyssey, comes a retelling by a master storyteller and an award-winning illustrator that evokes the golden age of mythical Greece.
 
The long siege is over, and Troy lies in ashes. The black ships of the Greek war-host set sail for home. But for heroic King Odysseus of Ithaca, the return voyage holds hazards far greater than any he faced during the Trojan War. Forced by ill winds into unknown seas, Odysseus and his crew must contend with ever-stranger perils: the flesh-eating Cyclops, Circe with her deadly enchantments, the soul-chilling Land of the Dead.
   Woven through with a spectacular cast of men, magicians, and monsters, Odysseus' harrowing journey home to his family and kingdom tests the limits of his strength, and the power of his will.

"[Sutcliff] retells Homer's Odyssey with thrilling drama...The story of the hero's long years of wandering...has the mythic power of everyone's search for home...[and she] fuses epic grandeur with a direct simplicity that will bring the universal story home."-Booklist

"An intimate portrait of a man...Readers will enjoy this classic adventure."-SLJ

"Rosemary Sutcliff has done a great service...by warmly and carefully abridging two classics that many people find difficult to tackle in their original form. Not only has she broken the long tales into tolerable and interesting chapters, she has smoothed out the language while keeping true to all of the original drama and excitement."-Parents Express

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"[Sutcliff] retells Homer's Odyssey with thrilling drama...The story of the hero's long years of wandering...has the mythic power of everyone's search for home...[and she] fuses epic grandeur with a direct simplicity that will bring the universal story home."-Booklist

"Rosemary Sutcliff has done a great service...by warmly and carefully abridging two classics that many people find difficult to tackle in their original form. Not only has she broken the long tales into tolerable and interesting chapters, she has smoothed out the language while keeping true to all of the original drama and excitement."-Parents Express

"An intimate portrait of a man...Readers will enjoy this classic adventure."-SLJ

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780553494822
Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Publication date:
12/13/2005
Edition description:
Reissue
Pages:
144
Sales rank:
122,436
Product dimensions:
4.80(w) x 6.89(h) x 0.39(d)
Lexile:
1220L (what's this?)
Age Range:
12 - 10 Years

Meet the Author

Rosemary Sutcliff wrote more than 40 historical novels for young adults, including The Wanderings of Odysseus and Black Ships Before Troy, as well as five adult novels, and several books of nonfiction.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >