The Wapshot Chronicle

The Wapshot Chronicle

3.5 4
by John Cheever
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Based in part on Cheever's adolescence in New England, the novel follows the destinies of the impecunious and wildly eccentric Wapshots of St. Botolphs, a quintessential Massachusetts fishing village. Here are the stories of Captain Leander Wapshot, venerable sea dog and would-be suicide; of his licentious older son, Moses, and of Moses' adoring and errant younger… See more details below

Overview

Based in part on Cheever's adolescence in New England, the novel follows the destinies of the impecunious and wildly eccentric Wapshots of St. Botolphs, a quintessential Massachusetts fishing village. Here are the stories of Captain Leander Wapshot, venerable sea dog and would-be suicide; of his licentious older son, Moses, and of Moses' adoring and errant younger brother, Coverly. Tragic and funny, ribald and splendidly picaresque, The Wapshot Chronicle is a family narrative in the tradition of Trollope, Dickens, and Henry James.

Editorial Reviews

New York Times Book Review
Winner of the National Book Award, this classic novel is "the best introduction to Cheever's work...Richly inventive and vividly told."--New York Times Magazine
Library Journal
Released in 1957 and 1964, respectively, Cheever's stories of a New England family drift in and out of print every so often. The National Book Award-winning Chronicle and Scandal sequel will find an avid audience. Copyright 2003 Reed Business Information.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780060107413
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
10/01/1979
Pages:
549

Meet the Author

John Cheever, best known for his short stories dealing with upper-middle-class suburban life, was born in Quincy, Massachusetts, in 1912. Cheever published his first short story at the age of seventeen. He was the recipient of a 1951 Guggenheim Fellowship and winner of a National Book Award for The Wapshot Chronicle in 1958, the 1979 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction for The Stories of John Cheever, the National Book Critics Circle Award, and an American Book Award. He died in 1982, at the age of seventy.

Brief Biography

Date of Birth:
May 27, 1912
Date of Death:
June 18, 1982
Place of Birth:
Quincy, Massachusetts
Place of Death:
Ossining, New York
Education:
Thayer Academy

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >