Warrior's Return (Warriors Manga Series #3)

Warrior's Return (Warriors Manga Series #3)

4.5 28
by Erin Hunter, James Barry, James L. Barry
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Graystripe and Millie have finally found ThunderClan's old territory, but Twoleg monsters have devastated the forest and Graystripe fears that all of his Clanmates have been killed or captured by Twolegs. Millie insists that they keep looking, and an old friend helps point the two cats on the path that the Clans followed many moons ago.

But danger still lurks

Overview

Graystripe and Millie have finally found ThunderClan's old territory, but Twoleg monsters have devastated the forest and Graystripe fears that all of his Clanmates have been killed or captured by Twolegs. Millie insists that they keep looking, and an old friend helps point the two cats on the path that the Clans followed many moons ago.

But danger still lurks around every turn, and Graystripe worries that he and Millie are lost on an impossible journey.

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Michael Jung
In the tradition of Redwall, Warriors takes the concept of a kingdom of animals and turns it into a fascinating saga of cats that have formed their own forest clans away from human society. Having proven itself as a bestselling middle grade series, "Warriors" has since been spun off into several original English language manga books including Warrior's Return, the final installment in the "Graystripe Trilogy." In the story, Graystripe, a warrior cat from ThunderClan, has escaped from a family of "Twolegs" (humans) who took him from his forest and attempted to turn him into a "kittypet" (housecat). Together with former kittypet Millie, Graystripe returns to the forest but discovers it has been destroyed by Twoleg loggers and abandoned by his Clanmates. With the help of a barncat, Graystripe gets pointed in the direction of his clan, but discovers he must journey through Twoleg territory to reach his Clanmates, braving Twolegs, cars and hostile cats in the process. Barry's art shows an excellent use of perspective, with every scene drawn from a cat's point of view. While most books in the "Warriors" series follow the adventures of several cats, Warrior's Return focuses on a single character, allowing Jolley to flesh out Graystripe's aggressive personality and prejudices toward Twolegs. Interested readers should check out other "Warriors" series including Warriors, Warriors: The New Prophecy, Warriors: The Power of Three, and Warriors: The Fourth Apprentice, which continue the saga in prose form. Reviewer: Michael Jung
School Library Journal

Gr 4-6

When Graystripe and Millie find the Thunderclan's old territory, they discover that everything has been destroyed. The two cats then set out on a journey to find the scattered clans. The black-and-white cartoon artwork captures the cats' expressive faces, action-packed battle scenes, and familiar surroundings as these animals travel through the realm of the "Twolegs." This is a great choice for reluctant readers, manga fans, or "Warriors" enthusiasts.-Mari Pongkhamsing, St. Perpetua School, Lafayette, CA

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780061252334
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
04/22/2008
Series:
Warriors Manga Series , #3
Pages:
112
Sales rank:
93,601
Product dimensions:
4.80(w) x 7.40(h) x 0.40(d)
Age Range:
10 - 12 Years

Meet the Author

Erin Hunter is inspired by a love of cats and a fascination with the ferocity of the natural world. In addition to having great respect for nature in all its forms, Erin enjoys creating rich mythical explanations for animal behavior. She is also the author of the bestselling Seekers and Survivors series.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BradleyStarr More than 1 year ago
At this point, Graystripe has the destruction of the forest and is discouraged. We all know what happened to his clan, of course, and are anxious for his reunion with his clan. After meeting with an old friend, Graystripe sets off with renewed vigor to rejoin Thunderclan. The manga continues the developement of Graystripe and Millie's relationship and ends at a certain point in The Sight (though the ending of the book doesn't coincide with The Sight). It's a good book, and if you're looking for a quick Warriors read, I'd check this out, especially if you're a Graystripe fan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Icefur More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the very first Warriors book and have become a big fan, Have read all the books and am waiting for book 6 of the Power Of Three Saga and I read that a new Warriors Saga is coming out, Am reading The Seekers now and find it just as intriguing as the Warriors Books, I like the manga series also, It's nice to read about the journeys that went on with Greystripe and how Scrouge came about and more on TigerStar..Keep up the good work Erin Hunter would love to see the Warriors in Animation some day That would make it complete..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
In this manga Graystripe goes through a lot of different feelings.Sadness,happines,anger,compassion,jealousy,love,confusion,and excitment. I was so happy he finally got home. . I loved this manga, but I wish it didn't end with him saying 'Everyone there's someone I'd like you to meet.' I wish you could see more. Before I go you wanna here a secret? Graystripe and Millie's kit's are called Bumblekit(tom),Briarkit(she-cat),and Blossomkit(she-cat)!!!! Well I must go. MAy StarClan light your path.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When i read this series, i didnt expect much and didnt get much. Graystripes never been my favorate, even though i like his sense of humor. in theese series, he HAS no humor, way to serious. It was okay though! Im not a mango lover anyways, so maybe thats why i didnt like it. But Scourge/Tinys book was way better in my opinion. AND DOES MILLIE REALLY HAVE TO KEEP THAT NAME? Oh, I, Brook, can keep my name, but . . . . Well, im going back to the tribe anyways! I think she would have been named Silverheart or Silverstripe in memory of Silverstream.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I didn't really like the ending. It took to much time for the series to end but this is only my opinion. Anyone who reads this review should read the book so I'm giving it 5 stars.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The ending of this saga was fantastic! I love the pictures of Graystripe and Millie and everyone looks so real. Just a wonderful masterpiece
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was so cool. You finally reach the end of Graystripe and Millie's journey. I loved how Ravenpaw and Barley were in it a bit! I miss them! And at the end, you get to see how the leaders look (Blackstar is awesome!) I couldn't find Lionpaw or Hollypaw, though. All in all, great book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can't wait for Warrior's Return to come out in April! I have to wait what seems a billion years for every Warriors book to come out. When I read a Warriors book, I finish it in 2 to 3 days! I have read every single Warriors book/manga that has come out! I am wriggling with excitement!
Guest More than 1 year ago
OMG!!!! I have read almost everybook and i cant wait till warriors return comes out! im so exited!!!! GO WARRIORS!!