The Weekend Was Murder
  • The Weekend Was Murder
  • The Weekend Was Murder

The Weekend Was Murder

4.4 15
by Joan Lowery Nixon
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes The Weekend was Murder! from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.
 
        Mary Elizabeth can’t wait for the weekend to begin at the Ridley Hotel, where a famous mystery writer and a troupe of actors are coming…  See more details below

Overview

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes The Weekend was Murder! from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.
 
        Mary Elizabeth can’t wait for the weekend to begin at the Ridley Hotel, where a famous mystery writer and a troupe of actors are coming to enact a murder mystery for 150 amateur sleuths. Mary Elizabeth’s role is to discover the “body” in Room 1927, which is supposed to be haunted. But nothing prepares her for the real body she finds in Room 1927…
 
“A masterfully constructed, engaging read that…[is] ingeniously plotted, fast-paced and lighthearted.” –Publishers Weekly
 
“Fans will love wading through the myriad details and placing bets on the outcome.” –Kirkus Reviews
 
“Mystery fans will…enjoy trying to solve the various crimes.” –School Library Journal


From the Trade Paperback edition.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
The latest offering from the prolific Nixon is a masterfully constructed, engaging read that will delight mystery fans and challenge readers new to the genre. Tall, klutzy Liz Rafferty is hoping to fade into the scenery during the Hotel Ridley's ``murder mystery weekend.'' But instead of simply performing her mundane summer-job duties as the hotel's health club monitor, she finds herself the center of attention. Being drafted by the acting troupe's leader to be the make-believe witness who discovers the ``body'' is bad enough, but when a real corpse shows up, Liz has to put aside her insecurities to help solve both murders. Ingeniously plotted, fast-paced and lighthearted, this mystery manages to blend an engrossing double murder brainteaser with the blossoming of a self-conscious teen into a self-assured young woman. Ages 12-up. (May)
School Library Journal
Gr 7-9-- Mary Elizabeth, main character from The Dark and Deadly Pool (Delacorte, 1987), returns to find another dead body at the place of her employment, the Ridley Hotel. A famous mystery writer and a group of actors come to stage a murder-mystery weekend at the hotel. The fun takes on dangerous overtones when Mary Elizabeth discovers that a real murder has been committed in the midst of the game. In this something-for-everyone story, there are also a ghost and a mysterious woman who is being guarded as she enters a witness-protection program. Mary Elizabeth still has her short but clever boyfriend from the earlier book, and her mother is still very slow on the uptake. Characterization is minimal at best, with most of the adults appearing as silly or foolish or both. Mary Elizabeth herself is a clumsy but cute teen who bumbles her way to the solution of the real crime, with a little help from the ghost, who coincidentally inhabits the room where the murder takes place. The plot is fast paced but overburdened with too many twists and turns. Readers may find themselves confused as the real and imaginary murders merge with each other and with the problem of the woman in witness protection. Mystery fans will probably enjoy trying to solve the various crimes, but the novel is not as satisfying as the previous book. --Bruce Anne Shook, Mendenhall Middle School, Greensboro, NC

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780307823489
Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Publication date:
10/31/2012
Sold by:
Random House
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
208
Sales rank:
1,252,690
Lexile:
840L (what's this?)
File size:
3 MB
Age Range:
12 Years

Meet the Author

Joan Lowery Nixon was the author of more than 130 books for young readers and was the only four-time winner of the Edgar Allan Poe Best Young Adult Mystery Award. She received the award for The Kidnapping of Christina LattimoreThe SéanceThe Name of the Game Was Murder, and The Other Side of the Dark, which also won the California Young Reader Medal. Her historical fiction included the award-winning series The Orphan Train Adventures, Orphan Train Children, and Colonial Williamsburg: Young Americans.


From the Hardcover edition.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Weekend Was Murder (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
sarah_h_wv More than 1 year ago
The Weekend Was Murder is the title of my book. It is a very exciting book. It keeps you on the edge of your seat. This is a great book for people who like mystery books. The main character is Mary, she goes to the Ridley Hotel and a famous mystery writer come to the hotel with her actors and re-acts the murder. They are having a murder-mystery weekend at the hotel. Mary is excited; she gets to play the part where she has found a "dead body" in room 1927. But in the middle of their game they discover a real murder has went on. Mary is a clumsy teen that everyone enjoys being around. She loves mystery's, they way she solves this mystery is she has a little help from the ghost who coincidently inhabits the room where the murder took place. The plot has lots of twist an turns. The readers may find them selves confused when the imaginary murder and the real murder merge together.
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
With the books I read so far by her, you start to like them but then find you're already getting near the end and want more. This one is no exception. I was like, oh already wrapping up, okay then. It seems Mary Elizabeth should be a detective or assistant to Jarvis or something, shouldn't she? What with being entangled in yet another one and Jarvis being the one to solve it right? The title around sums up what this one's about. A murder mystery weekend, in theme to Clue and all the other shows or movies with a similar premise. One that comes to mind was that Golden Girls episode. Anyway, this one was pretty good, more like 3.5 though. Not bad or anything but still pretty good. And Fran can be adorable and supportive at times. Though I like first book better, more for the sort of creepy atmosphere? At times however it can get a little corny. Still, these are fun reads none the less.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was a very surprising book. It had twists abd turns that keep you on the edgeof your seat. At first,you might think 'Man,this book is not all that. It's just to normal.' But, as you read on you find that this book is very surprising and full of mystery adventure and surprises. although this book starts out plain, it gets more and more intersting, to the point where you're at the edge of your seat. That is why i gave this book 4 1/2 stars out of 5.Joan Lowery-Nixon really did do an amazing job.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is well thought out! There was just the right amount of terror a mystery book could have! Liz works at the Ridly Hotel and something is happening is the room 1327! To find out more read the book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a suspenseful thriller that never lets you put it down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book for an English report. Before I read i, I didn't know what kind of genres I enjoyed. My teacher recomended this book for me. I want to read more of Nixon's books. In my opinion she is a very talented author! I would like to read 'The Dark and Deadly Pool' next and add to my collection!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is another great book by Joan Lowery Nixon..I really loved this book!!! i read it cover to cover in a day and a half!! i recommend it to anyone who likes murder/mysteries!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is one of the best murder mysteries I have read (and i have read plenty of them!). Joan Lowery Nixon did it again! I could not for the life of me put it down until I had read it cover to cover-- twice!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I believe this book was amazing! The author captures everything we as humans fear into this book and it makes you turn the pages! I recommend this book to anyone who likes a good mystery!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I THINK THAT NIXON IS THE BEST MURDER-MYSTERY NOVEL WRITER THERE IS! I'VE READ ABOUT 1/4 OF HER BOOKS PUBLISHED (ONES AVAILABLE IN THE SCHOOL LIBRARY).