What about Bear?

Overview


It’s playtime, and Bear and Goose are having fun. But when little Fox joins in, somebody gets left out and hurt feelings result. Who can fix the friendship? In this delicate yet simple story, Goose and Bear show Fox that including friends is more fun than excluding them.
Read More Show Less
... See more details below
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (16) from $1.99   
  • New (10) from $9.48   
  • Used (6) from $1.99   
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.
Sending request ...

Overview


It’s playtime, and Bear and Goose are having fun. But when little Fox joins in, somebody gets left out and hurt feelings result. Who can fix the friendship? In this delicate yet simple story, Goose and Bear show Fox that including friends is more fun than excluding them.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"Artfully uses body language rather than text (which runs to fewer than 100 words) to crank up the emotional intensity. . . . Another splendid outing, indeed." --Kirkus Reviews

"Little listeners will identify with Bear's reaction to Fox's arrival and unfair exclusion and to cheer on Goose's defense of his big furry friend." --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

* "Fans of Goose and Bear from A Splendid Friend, Indeed (2005) and Treasure (2007, both Boyds Mills) will enjoy having them back." --School Library Journal, Starred Review

Children's Literature - Ken Marantz and Sylvia Marantz
Bloom's splendid friends Bear and Goose return with a humorous lesson about making new friends without losing the old ones. When Bear and Goose are happily playing, a small fox asks to join them. But then he wants to play different games, activities that he says Bear cannot join. Goose does not want his friend to leave. So, "What about me?" asks the fox. "You can be our new friend," says Goose. And they can all play together. Bloom uses just a few words in large type, leaving the large double pages free for the three appealing characters. Pastels create a textured, rather unkempt polar bear, sensitive despite his size. Goose is the clown, whose facial expressions and body gestures aided by his acrobatic neck keep the games going. The small reddish fox is the superficially innocent, doll-like newcomer to the action. There is a visual elegance to this trio that makes the brief text almost redundant. Do not overlook the endpapers. Reviewer: Ken Marantz and Sylvia Marantz
School Library Journal
PreS-Gr 2—Just when Goose and Bear are finally getting the hang of friendship, Little Fox comes along and wants to play too. Unfortunately Little Fox seems determined to leave Bear out, declaring him "too big," "too grumpy," and finally "too far away." Loyal, sensitive Goose boldly stands up for Bear, insisting that if Fox wants to play, the newcomer must learn to play with Bear as well. Bright and cuddly illustrations done in pastels are so rich with texture that readers will want to reach out and touch them. Movement and expression in the characters are beautifully rendered and bring a lot of spirit and humor to the easy-to-read text. Fans of Goose and Bear from A Splendid Friend, Indeed (2005) and Treasure (2007, both Boyds Mills) will enjoy having them back.—Julie Roach, Cambridge Public Library, MA
Kirkus Reviews
A small red fox joins playmates Goose and Polar Bear, introduced in A Splendid Friend, Indeed (2005)-setting up a "three's a crowd" conflict that even the still-diapered set will quickly recognize. Initial shyness dissipating quickly, Fox repeatedly announces "I want to play a new game." But Fox's hopscotch squares are too small for Bear, checkers is a two-player game and the telescope is a one-at-a-time sort of toy. Off Bear stomps in a huff, leaving Goose to make a choice. As before, Bloom poses shaggy figures against a rich blue color field and artfully uses body language rather than text (which runs to fewer than 100 words) to crank up the emotional intensity. Fox's sharp nose and bushy tail are particularly eloquent at expressing bossiness, lonely remorse after Bear and Goose depart and relief after Fox is invited back into the fold ("Bear is my big, old, sometimes grumpy friend," says Goose. "You can be our new friend") and curls up in Bear's lap to share a book. Another splendid outing, indeed. (Picture book. 3-6)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781590785287
  • Publisher: Boyds Mills Press
  • Publication date: 2/1/2010
  • Series: Bear and Goose Stories Series
  • Pages: 32
  • Sales rank: 487,702
  • Age range: 2 - 5 Years
  • Lexile: BRL (what's this?)
  • Product dimensions: 8.50 (w) x 11.00 (h) x 0.38 (d)

Meet the Author


Suzanne Bloom is a winner of a Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor for A Splendid Friend, Indeed. She is the author and illustrator of many books for children. She lives with her family in McDonough, New York.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)