What Dat? The Great Big Ugly Doll Book of Things to Look at, Search for, Point to, and Wonder About (Uglydolls)

What Dat? The Great Big Ugly Doll Book of Things to Look at, Search for, Point to, and Wonder About (Uglydolls)

by David Horvath, Sun-Min Kim
     
 

Look out, Richard Scarry! There's a new busy word book in town—and Ugly has never looked better! The wildly popular Uglydoll characters are sharing their bright and colorful Uglyverse down to the tiniest detail. Featuring over 563 labeled wacky and regular words, readers will have a blast with lots and lots to search for, point to, and wonder about.

What

Overview

Look out, Richard Scarry! There's a new busy word book in town—and Ugly has never looked better! The wildly popular Uglydoll characters are sharing their bright and colorful Uglyverse down to the tiniest detail. Featuring over 563 labeled wacky and regular words, readers will have a blast with lots and lots to search for, point to, and wonder about.

What dat? Dat, folks, is a whole wide world of Ugly fun!

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
School Library Journal, September 2011:
"The popularity of the toys combined with the fun of a look-and-find word book should make this a popular choice."
Children's Literature - Carly Reagan
Take a trip into Uglyverse, where the Uglydoll characters are caught in their busy daily life, doing normal everyday things such as driving cars, going to the beach, and shopping at Worm-o-Rama for worms...okay, perhaps they are not entirely normal. Each brightly illustrated spread is filled from edge to edge with things to, as the title suggests, "look at, search for, point at, and wonder about," a new part of the Uglyverse featured on every page. A brief story accompanies each new spread of images, with a challenge to the reader to find a particular image somewhere in the fun and busy illustration. Fans both young and old of Richard Scarry's Busytown books will find this experience familiar, and with the many clever, ironic, and downright silly details to find and laugh about, both the child and adult reader will be entertained. Perfect for reading together, sharing observations, and asking questions. Reviewer: Carly Reagan
School Library Journal
PreS-Gr 3—In the tradition of Richard Scarry's Busytown, Horvath and Kim have created a word book featuring the Uglyverse. Each spread has bright, labeled cartoon illustrations, and brief paragraphs ask readers to find different things on each page. The scenarios, while full, are not too busy, so the items are easy to find and the labels are easy to read. The scenes are funny, and some jokes are obviously intended for an older audience. At the Farmer's Market, the main character, Babo, says, "I'll have a melted ice, hold the H20." These jokes will be easily passed over by younger children as they are buried within the scenes. The popularity of the toys combined with the fun of a look-and-find word book should make this a popular choice.—Laura Stanfield, Campbell County Public Library, Ft. Thomas, KY
Kirkus Reviews

A twisted Richard Scarry–esque outing finds the creators' "Uglydoll" figures serving in place of all the cute kitties and puppies and piggies.

Aimed at hip graduates of Scarry'sBest Word Book Ever(1963) and modeled after same, this visit to the Uglyverse invites readers to pore over big, busy, labeled assemblages of cartoon images while helping blobby Babo do a variety of things. They will search a city streetscape for his one-eyed unicorn, make stops at Ugly Port Harbor and elsewhere, tour a farmer's market and a factory, then finally explore Babo's home and neighborhood for such items as an "ebook reader," a pitcher of "tea with interesting taste" and "pricey 1/6 scale action figures from Hong Kong." Along with wisecracks in each relatively thematic spread's introductory paragraph ("What's a pleasure boat? Anything small that doesn't sink"), the authors mix conventional descriptive words for common objects and people with a sardonic lexicon of terms both useful ("ATM number pad," "retro game machine," "parking enforcement officer") and less so ("magnetic blender," "canned moonlight"). Each is placed near a small, simply drawn item or garishly colored monster.

Not the Best Riff on a Children's Classic Ever, but good for the occasional chuckle.(Picture book. 7-9)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780375864346
Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Publication date:
09/27/2011
Series:
Uglydolls Series
Pages:
32
Product dimensions:
10.20(w) x 11.80(h) x 0.30(d)
Age Range:
3 Months to 3 Years

Meet the Author

DAVID HORVATH  and SUN-MIN KIM are a husband-and-wife team living in Los Angeles with their daughter, Mina. They met in art school in New York, where they began creating and designing art and toys together. Their relationship continued to grow, and the Uglydolls were born in 2001, quickly becoming a worldwide success with fans of all ages. David, Sun-Min, and the Uglydolls family (24 characters and still growing) have won the Toy of the Year Award and have been featured on CNN, MSNBC, and the Today show and in the New York Times, InStyle, and Time magazine.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >