What Distant Deeps (RCN Series #8)

What Distant Deeps (RCN Series #8)

4.6 5
by David Drake
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Master and Commander in space! Brilliant and brave starship captain Daniel Leary and ace spy Adele Mundy confront a pirate plot and once again save the Republic of Cinnabar despite itself.

#8 in the best-selling RCN military science fiction series.

Master and Commander to the stars. Captain Daniel Leary and master spy Adele Mundy must once again

Overview

Master and Commander in space! Brilliant and brave starship captain Daniel Leary and ace spy Adele Mundy confront a pirate plot and once again save the Republic of Cinnabar despite itself.

#8 in the best-selling RCN military science fiction series.

Master and Commander to the stars. Captain Daniel Leary and master spy Adele Mundy must once again save the Cinnabar Republic despite itself. The jackals are moving in! The barbarians of the outer reaches intend to play both Cinnabar and Cinnabar’s sworn enemy, the totalitarian Alliance, against each other and bring both empires down like an enormous house of cards. The barbarian pirates have commandeered and hot-rodded starships that can outmaneuver even Captain Leary’s trusty RCN corvette. But speed and tech don’t count for everything. The Princess Cecile has the incomparable Daniel Leary and his trusted aide and friend Adele Mundy in command. Faced with such grit, bravery and intelligent misdirection the pirates might find they’ve bitten off more than they can chew.

About David Drake’s “RCN” series:
“[R]ousing old-fashioned space opera.” –Publishers Weekly on the “RCN” series.

“The fun is in the telling, and Mr. Drake has a strong voice. I want more!” –Philadelphia Weekly Press

“[S]pace opera is alive and well. This series is getting better as the author goes along…character development combined with first-rate action and memorable world designs.” –SFReader.com

About David Drake:
“[P]rose as cold and hard s the metal alloy of a tank…rivals Crane and Remarque…” – Chicago Sun-Times

“Drake couldn’t write a bad action scene at gunpoint.” – Booklist

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
The war between the Republic of Cinnabar and the Alliance of Free Stars ended with RCN Captain Daniel Leary's stunning victory at Cacique, resulting in an uneasy peace. In the eighth offering of the popular RCN series, Leary receives orders to transport a diplomat to Zenobia and orders his communications officer, Adele Mundy, to investigate Palmyra, a semi-barbaric ally that is responsible for securing that sector from piracy. They discover not only that Palmyra is about to invade Zenobia, but that certain rogue RCN officers are actively involved. With the specter of renewed hostilities looming before him, Leary approaches his Alliance counterpart and makes an astounding offer, because "all civilized persons have a duty to stand against barbarians." Drake (As the Tide Rises) deftly weaves a web of political machinations and intrigue that vividly depicts the costs of war. Fans of Patrick O'Brian's Maturin and Aubrey novels will enjoy this intricate, rousing space opera. (Sept.)
Library Journal
After the declaration of peace between Cinnebar and its rival, the Alliance of Free Stars, Capt. Daniel Leary of the Republic of Cinnebar's Navy and his friend, the spy Adele Mundy, accept an assignment to the fringe planet Zenobia, an easy mission that should afford them a period of respite from their previous wartime efforts. Instead of a vacation, however, Leary and Mundy encounter a multipronged threat to the peace of both systems: space pirates in state-of-the-art vessels and factions that would undermine the fragile peace. The latest addition to Drake's popular series (With the Lightnings; The Far Side of the Stars) features a pair of appealing heroes, fast-paced military action, and first-rate storytelling. VERDICT A rousing tale of space battles and personal courage, this sf adventure should appeal to fans of David Weber's "Honor Harrington" novels, as well as those who enjoy the works of John Ringo and Eric Flint.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781439134450
Publisher:
Baen
Publication date:
05/31/2011
Series:
RCN Series, #8
Pages:
528
Sales rank:
593,938
Product dimensions:
6.60(w) x 4.20(h) x 1.12(d)

Meet the Author

David Drake was attending Duke University Law School when he was drafted. He served the next two years in the Army, spending 1970 as an enlisted interrogator with the 11th armored Cavalry in Viet Nam and Cambodia. Upon return he completed his law degree at Duke and was for eight years Assistant Town Attorney for Chapel Hill, North Carolina. He has been a full-time freelance writer since 1981. His books include the genre-defining and bestselling Hammer’s Slammers series, the RCN series including In the Stormy Red Sky, The Way to Glory, and many more.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

What Distant Deeps 4.6 out of 5 based on 1 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous 13 days ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the better series, like the Honor series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago