What Happens in Scotland (Second Sons Series #1)

What Happens in Scotland (Second Sons Series #1)

3.8 116
by Jennifer McQuiston
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Jennifer McQuiston’s debut historical romance, What Happens in Scotland, is a lively, romantic adventure about a wedding that neither the bride or the groom remembers.

Lady Georgette Thorold has always been wary of marriage, so when she wakes up  next to an attractive Scotsman with a wedding ring on her finger, it’s easy to understand why

See more details below

Overview

Jennifer McQuiston’s debut historical romance, What Happens in Scotland, is a lively, romantic adventure about a wedding that neither the bride or the groom remembers.

Lady Georgette Thorold has always been wary of marriage, so when she wakes up  next to an attractive Scotsman with a wedding ring on her finger, it’s easy to understand why she panics and flees. Convinced that Georgette is a thief, her may-be husband, James McKenzie, searches for her. As both try to recall what happened that fateful night, they begin to realize that their attraction and desire for each other is undeniable. But is it enough?

Fans of Sarah MacLean and Mary Balogh will enjoy this utterly charming historical romance from award-winning author Jennifer McQuiston that features unforgettable characters and a satisfying mix of adventure and passion.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
In McQuiston’s Victorian romance debut, Lady Georgette Thorold, a beautiful young widow, awakens naked in bed, married to an equally naked stranger. Angry and confused, the prudish Georgette knocks out James MacKenzie with a chamber pot before running away. Upon being roused, James cannot find his purse; he assumes his wife stole it and vows to see her punished. The second son of an earl and formerly a bad boy, James is now his Scottish town’s solicitor and is determined to make good. McQuiston provides a strong backstory for James but little for Georgette, and their separation until the book’s halfway point undermines its promising screwball start. In a more thoughtful and tender second half, the two go about solving the mysteries of their marriage, falling in love along the way, but the book’s lost footing is never quite regained. Agent: Kevan Lyon, Marsal Lyon Literary Agency. (Mar.)
Night Owl Reviews
“What Happens in Scotland is a delightful historical romance from debut author Jennifer McQuiston. Readers beware... you’ll love this charming story as much as I did. So what are you waiting for...grab yourself a copy and get to reading.”
New York Journal of Books
“. . . a delightful book, filled with humorous fish-out-of-water scenes, bright dialogue, and fast-moving action….Ms. McQuiston has created a funny, sparking, unique romance novel.”
New York Times bestselling author Sarah MacLean
“What Happens in Scotland is clever and funny, charming and romantic, and a gorgeous read from first page to last. With a fresh voice and a gift for the unexpected, Jennifer McQuiston is a fabulous storyteller—make space on your keeper shelf!”
New York Times Best-Selling Author - Sarah MacLean
"What Happens in Scotland is clever and funny, charming and romantic, and a gorgeous read from first page to last. With a fresh voice and a gift for the unexpected, Jennifer McQuiston is a fabulous storyteller—make space on your keeper shelf!"
USA Today's "Happy Ever After"
“a tale both hilarious and harrowing”

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062231291
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
02/26/2013
Series:
Jennifer McQuiston's Second Sons Series, #1
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
253,448
Product dimensions:
4.10(w) x 6.70(h) x 1.40(d)

Meet the Author

A veterinarian and infectious disease researcher by training, Jennifer McQuiston has always preferred reading romance to scientific textbooks. She resides in Atlanta, Georgia, with her husband, their two girls, and an odd assortment of pets, including the pony she promised her children if mommy ever got a book deal.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >