When Giants Fall: An Economic Roadmap for the End of the American Era

Overview

Praise for When Giants Fall

"Michael Panzner has been dead right in his forecasts of financial Armageddon . . . His latest work is even more urgent in its warnings about the folly of our ways. We can only hope that he is wrong this time—but betting against his take on the world has been a recipe for losing money."
—Barry Ritholtz, CEO, Fusion IQ, and author of the popular financial blog The Big Picture

"We are at a pivotal point in history—a time when tectonic plates are ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (52) from $1.99   
  • New (9) from $3.78   
  • Used (43) from $1.99   

Overview

Praise for When Giants Fall

"Michael Panzner has been dead right in his forecasts of financial Armageddon . . . His latest work is even more urgent in its warnings about the folly of our ways. We can only hope that he is wrong this time—but betting against his take on the world has been a recipe for losing money."
—Barry Ritholtz, CEO, Fusion IQ, and author of the popular financial blog The Big Picture

"We are at a pivotal point in history—a time when tectonic plates are shifting markets and economies. The world will be a vastly more dangerous and unsettled place; nations, economies, and markets will be more vulnerable and disorderly; and volatility will rule the day. When Giants Fall is a prescient look at that world, and a must-read for those who plan on prospering and surviving."
—Jim Puplava, President, PFS Group, and host of Financial Sense Newshour

"In a positive sequel to his bestseller Financial Armageddon, Panzner offers the perfect roadmap guiding you through today's financial and economic minefields. Narrated in the tradition of Sun Tzu's Art of War, Panzner reveals the secret of knowing your enemy and thus knowing yourself. Follow this strategy and you will win, and win big."
—Paul B. Farrell, JD, PhD, author of The Lazy Person's Guide to Investing, The Winning Portfolio, The Millionaire Code, and Expert Investing on the Net

"When Giants Fall is insightful, absorbing, and breathtaking in scope. Once again, Panzner challenges the consensus of those who see only good times ahead. To those who didn't listen to what he had to say before, my advice is simple: don't make the same mistake twice."
—David Tice, President, David W. Tice & Associates

"Michael Panzner's timing is impeccable. Most of the dire predictions in his previous book, Financial Armageddon, came true within two years of publication. When Giants Fall will, alas, prove to be just as prescient, helping readers understand and prepare for America's self-inflicted, accelerating decline."
—John Rubino, author of Clean Money and coauthor of The Collapse of the Dollar and How to Profit from It

"Michael Panzner's lucid and accessible depiction of a very unsettling future provides us, by virtue of its unflinching honesty, an opportunity to plan and prepare ourselves, and thereby to cope and, perhaps, to thrive."
—Richard Klein, President, Book Revue

"When Giants Fall warns of impending financial turbulence with ominous consequences for Americans who believe their country's place in the world is no different than it was two decades ago. Panzner's incisive and sensible survival strategies will enable readers to navigate the uncertain economic landscape that lies ahead."
—Bill Cara, Cara Trading Advisors, and "Forbes' Favorite" blogger

"While I disagree with some of his conclusions, Panzner offers a very thought-provoking vision of a new, more sober world."
—Bill Fleckenstein, author of Greenspan's Bubbles: The Age of Ignorance at the Federal Reserve

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780470310434
  • Publisher: Wiley, John & Sons, Incorporated
  • Publication date: 2/9/2009
  • Edition number: 1
  • Pages: 288
  • Product dimensions: 6.10 (w) x 9.10 (h) x 1.10 (d)

Meet the Author

Michael J. Panzner is a twenty-five-year veteran of the global stock, bond, and currency markets. During his career, he has worked in New York and London for leading companies such as HSBC, Soros Funds, ABN AMRO, Dresdner Bank, and JPMorgan Chase. He is an FT Knowledge/New York Institute of Finance faculty member specializing in equities, trading, global capital markets, and technical analysis, and is the author of Financial Armageddon. Visit Panzner at www.economicroadmap.com.

Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

Preface.

Acknowledgements.

Introduction.

Part I. Fault Lines of a Fading Empire.

Chapter 1. Descent into Disorder.

Chapter 2. Tides, Torrents and Tsunamis.

Chapter 3. A Future of Violence.

Chapter 4. Money Talks.

Chapter 5. Local Is the New Global.

Chapter 6. Multiplying Divisions.

Part II. Opportunities and Threats.

Chapter 7. Everybody's Business.

Chapter 8. Small Fortunes.

Chapter 9. The Power of One.

Conclusion.

Bibliography.

About the Author.

Index.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Future Ain't What It Used To Be

    This book paints a very stark picture of the trends facing America, of the waning influence our country once enjoyed and the negative consequences staring our people in the face as our global hegemony declines. Panzner has followed today's headlines to some very (unfortunately) logical ends. It is was interesting to compare this book with Fareed Zakaria's The Post American World which was written in the still growing world economy. Zakaria comes off looking like the eternal optimist in comparison to Panzner.

    Sometimes the book gets a bit slow as he seeks to document and footnote every single assertion, but the process adds weight to his arguments. What I found most compelling was the part of the book that dealt with "De-globalization" and the fracturing of trade, treaties and the general cooperative spirit that a global economy seemed to be fostering and how it all stands to be replaced with regional conflict, protectionism, nationalism, racism, and contracted diplomacy, all things that seemingly have trended upward lately.

    While the validity of Panzner's arguments won't be completely revealed until we transition through the coming decade, books like his are important because they reveal how some of these scenarios could play out in a quickly changing world. Whether he is ultimately right or wrong, he has held up a mirror to many American policies, prejudices and worldviews to show us things we probably didn't want to see.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Why America will dwindle, who will benefit from it and how you can survive

    Books about the future usually mix and match four broad categories: The present is great or awful, and the future will be great or awful. This book builds on the awful end of today's economic problems. Michael J. Panzner reinforces the seesawing anxiety some people already feel about America and the future by contending that these dreary times will almost certainly worsen. People have been selling books about America's demise for decades and maybe one of them will be right someday, but this one is pretty dire. getAbstract admires Panzner's diligence and hard work, but notes that he offers few, if any, mitigating beds of roses to brighten his forecast. Instead, he blends generally negative economic, ecological, demographic and geopolitical news to project a downward trend that would scare even the most daredevil economic rollercoaster rider. Trends that harm America are likely to injure many other nations also, so some positive, mutual pushback seems inevitable, though Panzner cites instead how other nations would benefit from a weaker U.S. Given the reporting on negative trends and dangers he amasses to explain his pessimism, it would be no wonder if Panzner is depressed. If he's right, there will be plenty of depression to go around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)