×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Where a Nickel Costs a Dime
     

Where a Nickel Costs a Dime

4.5 2
by Willie Perdomo
 

See All Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 0393313832

ISBN-13: 9780393313833

Pub. Date: 03/17/1996

Publisher: Norton, W. W. & Company, Inc.

A first book of poems by one of the best new voices to emerge from the Nuyorican Poets Cafe.Where a Nickel Costs a Dime captures the hip-hop rhythms and in-your-face intensity of the Nuyorican Poets Cafe, a downtown Manhattan club where the hottest young poets are finding their fame.
Willie Perdomo's poems, in the tradition of Amiri Baraka, Langston Hughes, and

Overview

A first book of poems by one of the best new voices to emerge from the Nuyorican Poets Cafe.Where a Nickel Costs a Dime captures the hip-hop rhythms and in-your-face intensity of the Nuyorican Poets Cafe, a downtown Manhattan club where the hottest young poets are finding their fame.
Willie Perdomo's poems, in the tradition of Amiri Baraka, Langston Hughes, and Ntozake Shange, meet at the intersection of the street and the academy.
The world in these piercing and heartbreaking poems is Spanish Harlem, "where night turns to day without sleep," where "Puerto Rico stays on our minds when the fresh breeze of cafe con leche y pan con mantequilla comes through half-opened windows and under our doors," where "babies fall asleep to the bark of a German shepherd," where "Independence Day is celebrated everyday," where "the police come into your house without knocking. They throw us off rooftops and say we slipped. They shoot my father and say he was crazy. They put a bullet in my head and say they found me that way."
Blending images of street life, drugs, and AIDS against hope and determination, Willie Perdomo is a cutting-edge bard who speaks to the soul of his generation.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780393313833
Publisher:
Norton, W. W. & Company, Inc.
Publication date:
03/17/1996
Pages:
80
Sales rank:
1,333,708
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 8.30(h) x 0.30(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Where a Nickel Costs a Dime 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I received this book as a gift from my niece. I must say I was surprised. I had never heard of Willie Perdoma, but I was facinated by his style. His words spoke to my inner thoughts. I carry his book in my bag on most days. I've read and re'read the book numerous times. If you live or ever lived in Spanish Harlem this book should be in your collection.