×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The White Assassin (Nightshade Chronicles Series #2)
     

The White Assassin (Nightshade Chronicles Series #2)

5.0 3
by Hilary Wagner
 

See All Formats & Editions

Book II of the Nightshade Chronicles begins three years after Juniper and his rebel band of rats liberate the Catacombs and defeat their oppressors. A sense of peace has settled over Nightshade City, but it is a false one. Billycan, the white assassin, has been found. Deep in the southern swamps, he now rules a primitive horde of savage swamp rats eager to overrun

Overview

Book II of the Nightshade Chronicles begins three years after Juniper and his rebel band of rats liberate the Catacombs and defeat their oppressors. A sense of peace has settled over Nightshade City, but it is a false one. Billycan, the white assassin, has been found. Deep in the southern swamps, he now rules a primitive horde of savage swamp rats eager to overrun Nightshade City and claim it for their king. With the help of an ancient colony of bats and an uneasy alliance with the swamp snakes, Juniper and his Council set out to thwart Billycan's plans. When an old secret is revealed--one so shocking it shakes both Billycan and Juniper to the core--the fate of Nightshade City and the life of Juniper's only son depend on Juniper's decision: should he help his mortal enemy? The past resurfaces with devastating impact in this exciting sequel to Nightshade City, a dark tale on intrigue, deception, and betrayal.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"Fans of Brian Jacques's 'Redwall' series (Philomel) will enjoy another fast-paced fantasy."

"The second installment of The Nightshade Chronicles doesn't disappoint."

Kirkus Reviews

The second installment of The Nightshade Chronicles doesn't disappoint.

Nightshade City is populated by intelligent and long-lived rats who escaped from a lab that was conducting experiments on them and then managed to defeat Billycan, an albino rat turned evil and über-violent by a series of injections administered in that same lab. As this volume opens, Juniper and the other citizens of Nightshade discover that Billycan, otherwise known as the White Assassin, is building an army of swamp rats to retake Nightshade City. They also discover something much harder to believe: There is a traitor in their ranks. Someone is in cahoots with Billycan. Who could it possibly be? Juniper and his friends manage to capture Billycan, take him back to Nightshade City and administer a truth serum in hopes of learning the identity of the traitor. But something strange happens when the truth serum is administered. Billycan seems like a different rat. Has he somehow changed, or is it all an act? Many surprises are in store in this volume, surprises that will cause the rats—and readers, too—to reevaluate their perceptions of family, loyalty, justice and culpability. Wagner's worldbuilding carries readers through these heavy themes with ease.

The ending satisfies, but there are some definite loose ends. Look forward to more adventures in Nightshade City.(Animal fantasy. 9-12)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780823424856
Publisher:
Holiday House, Inc.
Publication date:
01/28/2012
Series:
Nightshade Chronicles Series , #2
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
999,843
Product dimensions:
5.40(w) x 8.10(h) x 0.80(d)
Lexile:
710L (what's this?)
Age Range:
9 - 12 Years

Meet the Author

Hilary Wagner lives in the Chicago suburbs. Her first book, Nightshade City, was called "a good story well-told" by Kirkus Reviews, which also said, "Fans of Suzanne Collins's Underland Chronicles and Brian Jacques's Redwall series will enjoy this fast-paced adventure." Visit her website at www.nightshadecity.com.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

White Assassin 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Teeny32 More than 1 year ago
A great sequel! Cannot wait for the next one!
EdgarG More than 1 year ago
I read Book 1 of this series and was eagerly awaiting Book II. The swamp made for a great setting and the rest of the book takes place in Nightshade City. Billycan, who is the villain of the first book, takes center stage in this volume. It was highly intriguing going back in time and learning his full history and the bombshell at the end was totally unexpected. If you like the Warriors or Ga'hoole series, this is a great new series to embark on.