Wife of Moon (Wind River Reservation Series #10)

( 6 )

Overview

Arapaho attorney Vicki Holden and Father John O'Malley must find the link between the murder of a woman—and the murder of her ancestor from a century earlier.

Read More Show Less
... See more details below
Paperback (Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)
$7.19
BN.com price
(Save 10%)$7.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (50) from $1.99   
  • New (10) from $4.28   
  • Used (40) from $1.99   
Wife of Moon (Wind River Reservation Series #10)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$7.99
BN.com price

Overview

Arapaho attorney Vicki Holden and Father John O'Malley must find the link between the murder of a woman—and the murder of her ancestor from a century earlier.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Bestseller Coel surpasses her own high standard in her 10th whodunit (after 2003's Killing Raven) to feature Arapaho lawyer Vicky Holden and Father John O'Malley. An exhibit of Edward S. Curtis's early 20th-century Plains Indians photographs has attracted a lot of visitors to the museum of St. Francis Mission on the Wind River Reservation. When someone shoots to death a descendant of a tribal chief shown in one of the Curtis pictures and the museum's new curator disappears, there could be a connection to a murder committed in 1907 on the rez. Meanwhile, Father John's assistant is preparing the mission for a visit from Wyoming senator Jaime Evans, who may soon be announcing his presidential candidacy and who proves to have a family link to the tell-tale Curtis photo. Handsome attorney Adam Lone Eagle steps from the shadows and resumes his pursuit of Vicky, who is still trying to come to terms with her fatal attraction to Father John. Stir in a crazed ex-CIA operative, and you have a hint of what awaits you in this action-filled page-turner. Coel draws readers into early Arapaho life as smoothly as she brings them into the sinister goings-on at present-day Wind River, masterfully blending authentic history with an ingenious plot. Agent, Rich Henshaw. (Sept. 7) Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information.
Library Journal
Coel's latest addition to her Wind River Reservation series featuring Father John O'Malley and Arapaho attorney Vicky Holden offers a fascinating plot as Vicky must deal with two murders. One occurred back in 1907, when a visiting photographer documented Indian life and a chief's daughter was murdered. Now, while the photographs are on display, a modern descendant is killed. Coel lives in Boulder, CO. Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information.
School Library Journal
Adult/High School-The killing in 1907 of a tribal leader's daughter serves as the background for murders that take place on the present-day Arapaho Reservation. The earlier crime, the recent murder of the wife of the tribal council leader, and the disappearance of the newly appointed curator of the tribal museum all draw a common link from a picture in the museum's exhibit of Edward S. Curtis's early-20th-century photographs of Plains Indians. In this 10th title to feature Father John O'Malley and Arapaho lawyer Vicky Holden, the two investigators work independently at first, but they eventually run into one another. While they are intent on finding the killer, their underlying unrequited love for one another intensifies the emotional atmosphere of the tale. In an action-driven ending, they pull together to solve all the parts of the plot's puzzle except their own troubled love. Idiosyncrasies, personal preferences, and physical attributes of characters seamlessly interweave people and plot in this stand-alone novel.-Pam Johnson, Fairfax County Public Library, VA Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780425201381
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
  • Publication date: 9/6/2005
  • Series: Wind River Reservation Series , #10
  • Format: Mass Market Paperback
  • Edition description: Reprint
  • Pages: 304
  • Sales rank: 166,402
  • Product dimensions: 4.32 (w) x 6.70 (h) x 0.86 (d)

Meet the Author

Margaret Coel

Margaret Coel is the New York Times bestselling, award-winning author of The Thunder Keeper, The Spirit Woman, The Lost Bird, The Story Teller, The Dream Stalker, The Ghost Walker, The Eagle Catcher, and several works of nonfiction. She has also authored many articles on the people and places of the American West. Her work has won national and regional awards. Her first John O'Malley mystery, The Eagle Catcher, was a national bestseller, garnering excellent reviews from the Denver Post, Tony Hillerman, Jean Hager, Loren D. Estleman, Stephen White, Earlene Fowler, Ann Ripley and other top writers in the field. A native of Colorado, she resides in Boulder.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 6 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 7 of 6 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Warrior Assesment Place

    Warrior Assesment Place. The apprentices will be tested in three places- hunting, fighting, and tracking.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great read as usual!

    If you enjoy a good mystery then Wife of Moon is a book for you. Coel has satisfied my expectation for her characters,Vickie Holden and Father John O'Malley and her story line. Together they solve a rather complicated crime which involves several twists and turns. It is a page turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Tirch foundbu

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    deep look at the Arapaho culture wrapped around a fabulous mystery

    The murders begin in 1907 on the Arapaho Wind River Reservation when photographer Edward S. Curtis convinces the Indians to reconstruct a village and have warriors attack the tribe. During the shooting with blank bullets, Bashful Woman, the daughter of Chief Sharp Nose, is killed by a real bullet. Her Anglo husband Carston Evans testifies that he saw the Indian Thunder kill his wife and his two Native American friends were adding him in the attack. His testimony was enough to convict and hang the trio.---- In the present, Denise, a descendant of Sharp Nose is murdered and her husband J.T. Painted Horse is the FBI¿s number one suspect until he is tortured and killed by men who were looking for something on the same night Denise died. Christine, the curator of the Arapaho Museum, disappears and her home is ransacked. Lawyer Vicky Holden and Father John O¿Malley investigate the homicide from different directions, but reach the same conclusion. Vicky tries to convince the authorities who she believes is behind the murders while Father John tries to protect the last remaining witness.---- Through the use of flashbacks readers learn what really happened on that day in 1907 and how justice was thwarted. The Arapaho still seek justice for Bashful Women in the present but they are up against high powered politicians who will use any means at their disposal to erase the proof of what happened almost a century ago and they will kill anyone who has knowledge of that event. WIFE OF MOON is an exciting who-done-it that will appeal to fans of Tony Hillerman and David and Aimee Thurlo thrillers .Margaret Coel provides a deep look at the Arapaho culture wrapped around a fabulous mystery.---- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 7 of 6 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)