Wildest Places on Earth: Italian Gardens and the Invention of Wilderness

Wildest Places on Earth: Italian Gardens and the Invention of Wilderness

by John Hanson Mitchell
     
 
A captivating journey to uncover the essence of wilderness, by one of this country's most original nature writers.

In The Wildest Place on Earth Mitchell sets out on a journey to uncover the essence of wilderness. Instead of traveling to remote, untamed parts of the world, Mitchell ends up exploring the green realms of his childhood and the gardens of Italy.

Overview

A captivating journey to uncover the essence of wilderness, by one of this country's most original nature writers.

In The Wildest Place on Earth Mitchell sets out on a journey to uncover the essence of wilderness. Instead of traveling to remote, untamed parts of the world, Mitchell ends up exploring the green realms of his childhood and the gardens of Italy. He is pulled inward and toward home, back to what Thoreau called "contact"—an abiding, enduring, and daily connection with the world. He comes to realize that the wildest place may be right in his own backyard.

A Merloyd Lawrence Book

Author Biography: John Hanson Mitchell is the author of The Wildest Place on Earth, Ceremonial Time, and Trespassing and the editor of Sanctuary, the journal of the Massachusetts Audubon Society. Winner of the 1994 John Burroughs Essay Award, he received the 2000 New England Booksellers' Award for his body of work. He lives in Littleton, Massachusetts.

Editorial Reviews

bn.com
The Barnes & Noble Review
The editor of Sanctuary, the journal of the Massachusetts Audubon Society, offers an unusual twist on the genre of nature writing by using Italian garden design as a framework for exploring the meaning of wildness. This is not as much of a stretch as you might imagine. Over the centuries, Italian gardens have always incorporated wild spaces as part of the overall design. It is the balance of order and disorder, of control and freedom that gives these gardens their special qualities.

I took a particular interest in this book, having procured my own small urban garden. Like the author, I, too, had sought nature in the properly designated places, such as the Catskills, so I was interested in knowing if he thought the possibility for wildness could exist in some landscape of human creation. In John Hanson Mitchell's case, his home in the woods ensured that wild nature was always a presence. I enjoyed his tales of creating an Italian garden in the middle of the forest, complete with a formal hedge maze, but what struck me was his sensitivity to the unexpected moments of wildness to be found in domesticated spaces. Pan, the archaic embodiment of wildness, figures prominently in the book. After finishing it -- which took longer than usual because I couldn't bring myself to rush through it -- I came away with the hope that Pan might visit me one day in my little sanctuary.

The Wildest Place on Earth is a lovely meditation on the relationship between the creations of humankind and those of nature. (Laura Wood, Science & Nature Editor)

Richard Nelson
A unique, delightful, and absolutely essential voice.
Boston Globe
A natural story teller, as keen an observer of the people he talks about as he is about what grows and lives on the land itself.
Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Mitchell (Ceremonial Time) opens this lush, labyrinthine book with his long-ago encounter, in the American desert, with "a wildman," "who claimed you could live forever in the wilderness with two or three milk goats and a working knowledge of edible plants." The younger Mitchell embraced this philosophy, but, ultimately, it was in "the most thoroughly transformed landscape of all, the hedged terraces, all es, pathways, pools, fountains, and hidden rooms of what was left of the old Renaissance gardens of Italy" that he "rediscovered that old sense of goatly wildness." From the great mazes of ancient Egypt to the 12th-century hedge maze where Henry II's wife murdered his mistress, to the construction of his own backyard maze and tea house, Mitchell explores the wilderness of the human imagination and "the undiscovered country of the nearby." Three of what Thoreau would have called "clews" to Mitchell's project keep cropping up: first, Thoreau's idea of "Contact," or oneness with nature; second, the contrast between conceptions of true wilderness "as a separate place" with "a certain aura of power or ability to bestow information or insight" and the construction of the garden; and finally, the beloved demigod Pan, who physically embodies both the untamed forests and deserts (his goat half) and sculpted gardens (his human half). Part travelogue, part garden history in the tradition of Edith Wharton's Italian Villas and Their Gardens, this poetic little book traces the transportation of humankind to the wilderness and the transformation of the wild into rich human habitat. (Apr. 1) Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information.
Booknews
Mitchell, editor of the National Audubon Society magazine and author of natural and human history books, deals with the perennial human quest for inspiration in wild places, and the irony of finding it not in the remote wilderness of the mountains but in the well-ordered, cultivated gardens of Europe<-->and his own back garden in Massachusetts. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781582430461
Publisher:
Counterpoint Press
Publication date:
03/01/2001
Pages:
208
Product dimensions:
6.50(w) x 8.98(h) x 0.78(d)

What People are saying about this

Roger B. Swain
"Think of this book as Pan-theism in its purest sense. Through a labyrinth of continents and centuries, Mitchell seeks the soul of wildness guided always by the faint randy odor of this Lord of the Wood. The spirit may be ancient, but the trail is fresh, as Mitchell finds it leading to his very doorstep. To follow in his footsteps is to be similarly amazed." -- editor of Horticulture magazine and host of PBS's "The Victory Garden"
Michael Pollan
"I read the book straight through with enormous, mounting pleasure and deepening admiration. It's extremely original, beautifully written, and full of provocative ideas." -- Author of Botany of Desire

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >