William Alwyn: Chamber Music

( 1 )
BN.com price
(Save 5%)$12.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (6) from $3.43   
  • New (4) from $4.53   
  • Used (2) from $3.43   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 8/31/2010
  • Label: Naxos
  • UPC: 747313242573
  • Catalog Number: 8572425
  • Sales rank: 204,226


Disc 1
  1. 1 String trio - William Alwyn (15:43)
  2. 2 Suite for oboe & harp - William Alwyn & Sarah Francis (5:50)
  3. 3 Sonata for oboe & piano - William Alwyn & Sarah Francis (15:36)
  4. 4 Sonata for clarinet & piano - William Alwyn & Robert Plane (12:13)
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The art of British chamber music lives in Alwyn!

    The new Naxos recording of the chamber music of William Alwyn (Naxos 8.572425) is the latest in a series that catalogues the mid-twentieth century master and is a gem! Alwyn came from a family that had no musical background at all. His father, in fact, was a grocer and yet the family frequently talked about great literature and young William developed great skills as a flutist, pianist and, then, composer from his early school years. He later graduated from the Royal Academy of Music, joining their faculty at the age of 21! He left a large body of works, from several symphonies to small chamber works, like those heard here. These works, and this recording, are quite beautiful all around. The Sonata for Clarinet & Piano (1962) is a single extended movement work written in a flowing, yet bravura, style. It is rhapsodic, full of runs and flourishes of all sorts, ending quite dramatically. Originally written for Thea King, it is wonderfully performed here by Robert Plane, principal clarinet of the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra and pianist, Sophia Rahma, a highly skilled accompanist known throughout England. The Sonata for Oboe from 1934 opens with a lovely oscillating piano part under a lilting, sometimes jaunty, oboe melody. The first movement flows, somewhat impressionistically, into the middle andantino that has an almost chorale feel to it. The work concludes with a short, tuneful waltz that dissolves into a tranquil coda. The Sonatina for Viola & Piano (1941) opens a bit darkly, followed by a spritely dance. The aria movement is particularly beautiful and the work concludes with a brilliant, virtuostic finale. Lucy Gould, violist, masters the mood and demand of this master work. One of the best aspects of this collection is the inclusion of Alwyn's almost forgotten Suite for Oboe & Harp (1945). This wonderful little surprise was only discovered about thirty years ago in the Leon Goosens collection at the British library. A wonderful work, it focuses on a plaintive, almost Eastern sounding, oboe main theme and a very wistful harp part before the work concludes with a charming waltz. Another highlight of this disc is the String Trio, from 1959. This is a bold, mostly dark, work that stands in contrast in mood to the other works on this disc. Based on a non-harmonic twelve tone row, this is a dramatic and pensive work that stays intense for its fifteen minute duration. The collection concludes with the charming Conversations for violin, clarinet & piano (1950) Eight, brief, tuneful pieces are played all in a row and each carries a different but attractive mood. The "conversations" are the exchanges and sharing of melody between each instrument, especially noted in the Romanza and the Arioso. This entire collection is a must have for fans of Alwyn's music and for anyone looking to expand their knowledge of the wide range of wonderful chamber writing that actually characterized post-Elgar England right through the 1960s. All the performances are superb and the Naxos engineers have again produced a product that sounds clean, well balanced and lively. Highly recommended, indeed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews