×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

William Shakespeare's The Phantom of Menace: Star Wars Part the First
     

William Shakespeare's The Phantom of Menace: Star Wars Part the First

3.5 2
by Ian Doescher
 

See All Formats & Editions

Join us, good gentles, for a merry reimagining of Star Wars: Episode 1 as only Shakespeare could have written it. The entire saga starts here, with a thrilling tale featuring a disguised queen, a young hero, and two fearless knights facing a hidden, vengeful enemy.

’Tis a true Shakespearean drama, filled with sword fights, soliloquies, and doomed

Overview

Join us, good gentles, for a merry reimagining of Star Wars: Episode 1 as only Shakespeare could have written it. The entire saga starts here, with a thrilling tale featuring a disguised queen, a young hero, and two fearless knights facing a hidden, vengeful enemy.

’Tis a true Shakespearean drama, filled with sword fights, soliloquies, and doomed romance . . . all in glorious iambic pentameter and coupled with twenty gorgeous Elizabethan illustrations. Hold on to your midi-chlorians: The play’s the thing, wherein you’ll catch the rise of Anakin!

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
“Enjoy this tale in iambic pentameter, for it has all the necessary aspects of any Shakespeare play – the betrayal, the hope, the tragedy...This book is necessary for any Star Wars fan’s collection.”—Geeks of Doom
 
“William Shakespeare and “Star Wars” collide in the most delightful fashion.”—McClatchy Tribune
 
“Witty and stylish, The Phantom of Menace is neither campy nor silly, but a finely-crafted work of art.”—Examiner.com

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781594748066
Publisher:
Quirk Publishing
Publication date:
04/07/2015
Series:
William Shakespeare's Star Wars Series , #1
Pages:
176
Sales rank:
67,421
Product dimensions:
5.40(w) x 8.10(h) x 0.80(d)

Meet the Author

Ian Doescher is the New York Times best-selling author of William Shakespeare’s Star Wars® seriesHe lives in Portland, Oregon, with his family. Visit him at IanDoescher.com.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

William Shakespeare's The Phantom of Menace: Star Wars Part the First 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
worse than star trek
wordsandpeace More than 1 year ago
VERDICT: For fans of Star Wars and Shakespeare, this book offers a refreshing look at how it all began. Tension, suspense and humor are all present. Not to miss. Having enjoyed so much William Shakespeare’s Star Wars Trilogy, time has come to turn to the prequel! The Phantom of Menace is the first installment, just as enjoyable as the first 3 volumes! And did you see this gorgeous cover? The Chorus opening the Play sets up the tone and the drama: Alack! What dreadful turmoil hath beset The strong Republic and its bonds of peace. O’ver distant trade routs all do sign and fret As fears of grim taxation do increase. … In time so long ago begins our play, In troubl’d galaxy far, far away. p.7 Ian Doescher keeps excelling at combining the genius of Shakespeare with the masterpiece of pop culture, all in iambic pentameters. That’s quite a feat to write about anything in pentameters in the first place (have you tried?), but to retell this famous story and keep its suspense as well as the characteristics of each character is pure genius. Not to mention the fun and humor of it all! I thought it was fantastic to make Rumor into a real character, quite Shakespearean indeed: RUMOR: See how, with mere suggestion of a tax, Begin star wars that shall your eyes amaze. p. 10 They are really hilarious passages, such as this one, after a gas attack: NUTE [to battle droids] For certain they are dead by now — since these Two Jedi are not politicians, they Are not with hot air fill’d, and thus have not The stores of breath essential to survive. p.16 The author faced a special challenge with the language of the Gungans and Jar Jar Binks and turned it into something quite entertaining. I liked how Doescher highlighted the theme of duality at many levels, including Shmi’s desire to keep Skywalker to herself and to let him go at the same time.