Windows to Heaven: Introducing Icons to Protestants and Catholics

Windows to Heaven: Introducing Icons to Protestants and Catholics

by Elizabeth Zelensky, Lela Gilbert
     
 

An exquisite guidebook that explores the nature and purpose of icons and how they might enrich the spiritual lives of readers--Protestant and Catholic as well as Orthodox.See more details below

Overview

An exquisite guidebook that explores the nature and purpose of icons and how they might enrich the spiritual lives of readers--Protestant and Catholic as well as Orthodox.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
In recent years, Protestants have discovered icons, once the provenance of Eastern Orthodox churches. Zelensky (a historian of Russia) and Gilbert (a prolific writer/ghostwriter) team up to introduce Eastern icons to Western Christians. The authors open with a lucid discussion of what an icon is-and is not. It is not merely a work of art depicting the life of Jesus; it is a way of entering into relationship with the Triune God, "an instrument through which the knowledge of God... becomes accessible" to humanity. The heart of the book is a reading of five famous icons, including Andrei Rublev's icon of the Holy Trinity. Readers will learn about the history of these icons, their "writers" (creators), symbolism and place in Orthodox theology and liturgy. Six glossy illustrations round out the book. One wishes that the authors had refrained from straying occasionally into large philosophical debates, such as the issue of relativism versus objective reality; their forays into these quagmires are superficial and distracting. Still, the book is a feast; its authors compellingly suggest that icons offer a much-needed space for contemplation in a frenetic world. Indeed, this little book is itself such an oasis. Readers who like Frederica Mathewes-Green and Henri Nouwen will welcome this new addition to the icon shelf. (Feb.) Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781587431098
Publisher:
Baker Publishing Group
Publication date:
02/01/2005
Pages:
150
Sales rank:
839,200
Product dimensions:
6.38(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.40(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >