Windward Passage

Windward Passage

by Jim Nisbet, Barry Press
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Winner of San Francisco Book Festival's Best Sci Fi Book!
From the writer whose work has been called "truly, hellishly gritty" (Los Angeles Times) comes a gnarled mystery with shades of Philip K. Dick and James Ellroy.
Jim Nisbet is a cult favorite in Europe and it's easy to see why. He's "a lot more than just good . . . his style has overtones of Walker

Overview

Winner of San Francisco Book Festival's Best Sci Fi Book!
From the writer whose work has been called "truly, hellishly gritty" (Los Angeles Times) comes a gnarled mystery with shades of Philip K. Dick and James Ellroy.
Jim Nisbet is a cult favorite in Europe and it's easy to see why. He's "a lot more than just good . . . his style has overtones of Walker Percy's smooth southern satin, but his characters—losers, grifters, con men—hark back to the days of James M. Cain's twisted images of morality," writes the Toronto Globe-Mail. In the tradition of Jim Thompson and Damon Runyon, Jim Nisbet is too good to miss and Windward Passage is a masterpiece that raises the bar even for a master like Nisbet.
In the parallel near-future, a ship named for a jellyfish sinks into the Caribbean with its captain chained to the mast. Left behind is a logbook missing ten pages, presidential DNA hidden in a brick of smuggled cocaine, and a nearly- completed novel. Tipsy, the dead sailor's sister, and Red Means, his erstwhile employer, travel from San Francisco to the Caribbean and back as they attempt to unravel a mystery that rapidly widens from death at sea to international conspiracy.
With verve and humor to match the Illuminati Trilogy, Nisbet has fashioned an engaging facsimile of our modern world, albeit with snappier dialogue, amped-up technology, and even more clearly stated political prejudices. "Neither Norman Mailer nor Truman Capote has in their writing been able to produce such an intensity as Nisbet has achieved," writes Germany's Die Welt. Pick up Windward Passageand see why.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
The compelling tale of a dead smuggler known only as Charley forms the backdrop for Nisbet's ambitious if meandering thriller set largely in the Caribbean. When Charley's sailboat sinks in shallow water with him chained to the mast, Charley's sister, Tipsy, and his drug lord boss, Red Means, launch their own personal salvage operation. Hidden among many bricks of cocaine below the ship's deck is thought to be a DNA sample from an unidentified U.S. president. Together, Tipsy and Red try to figure out who killed Charley and why someone would want some president's DNA, guided by the incomplete log they find in the dry part of the partially submerged boat. Nisbet (Dark Companion) has his own eccentric plotting style that tends to create parallel worlds within his main story. Long-winded and often tediously detailed, these digressions detract from an otherwise addictive narrative. (Apr.)
From the Publisher
Praise for Windward Passage

"Jim Nisbet — whose pen is mightier than a million swords — does it again with Windward Passage. This is a book that should not be missed." -Michael Connelly

"Jim Nisbet is a cult favorite in Europe and it's easy to see why. In the tradition of Jim Thompson and Damon Runyon, Nisbet is too good to miss and Windward Passage is a masterpiece that raises the bar even for such a master storyteller." - San Francisco Chronicle

"Sure, Nisbet breaks all the rules, but that's really the whole point. His novels are the literary equivalent of road trips, and a good road trip follows no map." -Booklist

"Nisbet pushes the boundaries of fiction with brave experimental forays...Fans of Nisbet's previous work will find this a welcome addition to an already impressive collection of gritty and adventurous work." — ForeWord Reviews

"This is a gripping conspiracy thriller...Fast-paced throughout...Timely yet eerie in many ways, fans will enjoy this strange but exhilarating tale as political bias trumps over logic, fairness and common good in Jim Nisbet's strong suspense." -Harriet Klausner, Midwest Book Review

"In Windward Passage, his tenth book, [Nisbet] pulls out all the stops, combining his long-standing noir sensibilities with an off-the-wall post-modern disposition and cultural critique...With his ear to the ground, Nesbit updates the traditional noir narrative, combining it with a sea adventure story, conundrums, a dash of cyberpunk, and a sprinkling of literary concerns... So hat's off not only to Nisbet, but to Overlook Press. Because this is Nisbet at his wildest and weirdest...an entertaining, insightful and highly recommended adventure." — CrimeTime Blog (UK)

"Jim Nisbet's power of suggestion . . . seduces the imagination without churning the stomach."-Wichita Times-Record

"Nisbet's prose drives and sparkles as it takes the reader into a world without morality or ethics."-San Antonio Express-News

Timely yet eerie in many ways, fans will enjoy this strange but exhilarating tale as political bias trumps over logic, fairness and common good in Jim Nisbet's strong suspense." - The Mystery Gazette

Library Journal
A sailboat piloted by Charley Powell, ace seaman, aspiring novelist, and sometime smuggler, goes down in the Caribbean with unusual cargo—a bit of presidential DNA hidden inside a kilo of cocaine. The sinking attracts an extraordinary amount of attention, including that of Charley's employer, smuggler and sea dog Red Means, who has contracted to deliver the DNA and wants to get it back before his contractors find him; Charley's sister, Tipsy, who wants to know why Charley's severed head is in the freezer of Red's boat; and Vassily Novgorodovich, an elderly Russian gentleman, who is to receive the cargo for a mysterious right-wing group seeking to clone the perfect leader and who will stop at nothing, including murder, to obtain it. VERDICT Nisbet mixes noir mystery, dystopian sf, and a great deal of humor into a bubbling, complex stew. With his scruffy characters, political and philosophical bent, and ability to turn a striking simile, he resembles no one so much as a somewhat more subdued (no talking inanimate objects) Tom Robbins. Highly recommended.—Lawrence Rungren, Merrimack Valley Lib. Consortium, North Andover, MA

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781482928792
Publisher:
Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Publication date:
11/15/2013
Edition description:
Unabridged
Product dimensions:
5.30(w) x 5.90(h) x 1.90(d)

Meet the Author

Jim Nisbet is the author of twelve novels and five books of poetry. He has been nominated for the Pushcart Prize three times, shortlisted for the Hammett Prize, and published in ten languages. He lives in San Francisco, California.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >