Wine for Every Day and Every Occasion: Red, White, and Bubbly to Celebrate the Joy of Living
  • Wine for Every Day and Every Occasion: Red, White, and Bubbly to Celebrate the Joy of Living
  • Wine for Every Day and Every Occasion: Red, White, and Bubbly to Celebrate the Joy of Living

Wine for Every Day and Every Occasion: Red, White, and Bubbly to Celebrate the Joy of Living

by Dorothy J. Gaiter, John Brecher
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Choosing a bottle of wine should be fun, not frightening. After all, one of the most important elements of enjoying wine is not so much the vintage or the vineyard but the occasion on which it is enjoyed.

In their new book, Wine for Every Day and Every Occasion, Dorothy J. Gaiter and John Brecher, authors of the popular weekly "Tastings" column in the

…  See more details below

Overview

Choosing a bottle of wine should be fun, not frightening. After all, one of the most important elements of enjoying wine is not so much the vintage or the vineyard but the occasion on which it is enjoyed.

In their new book, Wine for Every Day and Every Occasion, Dorothy J. Gaiter and John Brecher, authors of the popular weekly "Tastings" column in the Wall Street Journal, give you the kind of honest, accessible wine information that is hard to find.

In Wine for Every Day and Every Occasion, Dottie and John, as they are known to their fans, answer the most frequently asked questions about what wine to drink on specific occasions. They cover all the bases: What wine should I put away for my newborn's twenty-first birthday? What wine is best with Thanksgiving turkey? They also suggest ways in which wine can make every day a little bit more of an occasion — how to throw a wine tasting, how to start a wine-tasting group, even how to add wine to your tailgating party. And they share scores of tips from people like you.

Chapters include lists of specific wines and provide readers with suggestions for choosing Champagne to ring in the New Year and for chilled whites (and even reds) to drink in the summer. There is no stodginess about vintages and there are no numbered ratings. Wine for Every Day and Every Occasion gives you simple, straightforward advice to help you choose the best wines for life's best moments. As Dottie and John say, "The problem with most wine books is that they are about wine. Our book is about life."

So raise your glass to Wine for Every Day and Every Occasion. And drink to life.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Rather than overload budding oenophiles with a comprehensive survey of winemaking, grape varietals, regions and producers (which Gaiter and Brecher nicely did in The Wall Street Journal Guide to Wine), the authors of the WSJ's "Tastings" column structure this book around holidays, events and common challenges such as traveling, negotiating wine lists and shopping confidently. It's an accessible, pleasurable read, showcasing the couple's unpretentious love of wine, from the jug to the rare vintage. Some chapters are stronger than others-the quiz on movie and TV "wine scenes" falls short of more informative sections on kosher wine, wines for summer, what to serve with Thanksgiving fare, wines for weddings and wine tastings. And readers may tire of the cheery letters from fans and find themselves thirsting for more Gaiter and Brecher. But this is really a testament to the couple's appeal as the ultimate anti-snob experts-their spirit comes so alive on the page, you'd love to find them sitting in your living room, opening one of their favorite California Cabs or white Bordeaux. Agent, Amanda Urban. (On sale Oct. 12) Forecast: Gaiter and Brecher's book should attract those who read their column, as well as people who've seen the authors on the Today Show, Martha Stewart Living and CBS This Morning. Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information.
Library Journal
Fans of Gaiter and Brecher's popular Wall Street Journal column, "Tastings," will welcome this concise volume advocating the pleasures of wine. Each chapter deals with the selection and enjoyment of wine for particular occasions, e.g., weddings, anniversaries, Christmas, Passover, football games, and vacations. For each, they describe with mouthwatering appeal suggested wines in various price ranges. Practical advice on common questions such as whether to tip the sommelier is plentiful throughout. The chapter on New Year's Eve even describes how to safely open the bubbly, as well as what to open. An index of approximately 20 pages will help readers locate tasting notes on specific wines and wineries. Gaiter and Brecher's matter-of-fact writing style will not intimidate the novice or offend the veteran wine enthusiast. Highly recommended. (Index not seen.) Ann Weber, Bellarmine Coll. Preparatory, San Jose, CA Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780060548179
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
10/12/2004
Edition description:
First Edition
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
1,144,005
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.01(d)

Meet the Author

Dorothy J. Gaiter and John Brecher have been prominent journalists for more than thirty years. Between them, they have worked at the Miami Herald, the New York Times, Newsweek, and the Wall Street Journal. They have written the Journal's "Tastings" column since 1998 and have appeared on CBS Sunday Morning, Today, Martha Stewart Living, CNN, the Fine Living Network, CNBC, and National Public Radio. They also write a monthly wine column for SmartMoney magazine and are the authors of The Wall Street Journal Guide to Wine: New and Improved and Love by the Glass: Tasting Notes from a Marriage. Dottie and John have two daughters, Media and Zoë, and celebrated their twenty-fifth wedding anniversary in 2004. Their first wine together was André Cold Duck.

Dorothy J. Gaiter and John Brecher have been prominent journalists for more than thirty years. Between them, they have worked at the Miami Herald, the New York Times, Newsweek, and the Wall Street Journal. They have written the Journal's "Tastings" column since 1998 and have appeared on CBS Sunday Morning, Today, Martha Stewart Living, CNN, the Fine Living Network, CNBC, and National Public Radio. They also write a monthly wine column for SmartMoney magazine and are the authors of The Wall Street Journal Guide to Wine: New and Improved and Love by the Glass: Tasting Notes from a Marriage. Dottie and John have two daughters, Media and Zoë, and celebrated their twenty-fifth wedding anniversary in 2004. Their first wine together was André Cold Duck.

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >