Winners of the Heisman Trophy

Winners of the Heisman Trophy

by John Devaney

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal - School Library Journal
Gr 5-8-- A revised edition of the 1986 title, this book provides a brief introduction concerning the history of the Heisman Trophy, followed by biographical sketches of 15 winners of the award. Devaney begins most chapters with a ``bait and switch'' approach, building up to a climactic moment in the player's college career, and then switching to a biographical sketch before completing the suspended drama. This new edition is more updated than revised, as the original introduction and the first 11 chapters are reprinted word for word and photo for photo. The three new chapters about recent winners of the Heisman give information about Bo Jackson, Tim Brown, and Barry Sanders. The other addition is a useful appendix that lists the winners of the Heisman from the original recipient in 1935 to 1989's winner. Playing positions and universities are also included in this section. Stock black-and-white photographs are sprinkled throughout the book. While factually accurate (although 1978 winner Billy Simms is referred to once as Billy Vessels), there is some fictionalization of thought and dialogue. This book is strictly for football fans, as some knowledge of the game is required to follow play descriptions. --Tom S. Hurlburt, formerly at Minneapolis Public Library

Product Details

Walker & Company
Publication date:
Edition description:
Rev. ed
Age Range:
10 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >