×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Wish List: City Love 4
     

Wish List: City Love 4

4.0 5
by Belinda Williams
 

Could the wrong man on paper be the perfect man in real life?

Cate Harmon likes lists. While this may serve her well as a financial planner, her girlfriends think that creating a checklist for her ideal man is going a step too far. But she has one, and she's sticking to it.

Cate has always dreamed of starting a family and settling down and yet

Overview

Could the wrong man on paper be the perfect man in real life?

Cate Harmon likes lists. While this may serve her well as a financial planner, her girlfriends think that creating a checklist for her ideal man is going a step too far. But she has one, and she's sticking to it.

Cate has always dreamed of starting a family and settling down and yet she's the only one of her close knit friendship group still unattached. But that doesn't mean she's going to lower her standards.

Enter Dave, a reformed bad boy with gorgeous hair and eyes the wrong color. Dave doesn't tick any of the boxes on Cate's list. It's unthinkable that she would develop feelings for him, and yet ... Cate finds herself being drawn to Dave in a way she's never felt before.

Will Cate confront the reasons behind her list? Or will she risk losing a man who could be better than any list she could ever dream up?

This romance where opposites attract is perfect for fans of Rachel Gibson, Susan Mallery, Victoria Dahl, and Susan Elizabeth Phillips.


Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781760302016
Publisher:
Pan Macmillan Australia
Publication date:
05/26/2016
Series:
City Love
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
813,620
File size:
397 KB

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Belinda is a marketing communications specialist and copywriter who allowed an addiction to romance and chick-lit to get the better of her. She was named a top ten finalist in the Romance Writers of Australia Emerald Award in both 2013 and 2014.

Her other addictions include music and cars. Belinda's eclectic music taste forms the foundation of many of her writing ideas and her healthy appreciation for fast cars means she would not so secretly love a Lamborghini. For now she'll have to settle with her son's Hot Wheels collection and writing hot male leads with sports cars.

Belinda lives in Sydney and blogs regularly about writing and reading here: belindawilliamsbooks.com


Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Wish List: City Love 4 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
MTSmith More than 1 year ago
There was definitely more to this story than I thought there'd be. While an Ideal Man Wish List is a great focal point, the bigger story was why the list existed in the first place. I don't know a single woman who has ever created a real Ideal Man Wish List. Every woman I know would say what she hoped the man she married would be like. Some wound up with him, some found love with someone who was the total opposite. This was Cate. My heart bled for her as the tragedy of her past was revealed and I realized why she was dead set on finding a man who fulfilled every box on her checklist. But I was also elated that Dave was nothing like her Ideal Man. Because he was her Perfect Man. He wasn't perfect in the flawless sense. He was perfect because he fit her. He made her feel appreciated, wanted, needed, and loved. To be truthful, I think that's what all women want in a partner, to feel all of those things without having to change to be those things. There is a span of time when Cate and Dave separate. Now, my opinion, separation can be a good thing but forgiveness shouldn't be so easily given when the couple is brought back together again. The reason for separating is monumental. The path to happiness isn't paved with gold or smooth tiles. It requires work, and work means explanations and that internal struggle of forgiving or not forgiving. While I was happy they got together again, I wanted more of that internal struggle and the realization that forgiving was okay, that moving on together was completely possible. I didn't read the other books in this series but this book reads (somewhat) as a standalone. I say somewhat because Cate's friends have already had their stories and they're featured in this one as well. Knowing something about each friend will help understand their roles in Cate's romance. Even without that knowledge, this is an enjoyable read. It's quirky and cute but emotional and evocative revolving around a tried and true trope many romance readers are familiar with and, possible, enjoy. Received from publisher for an honest review
shortsassyblog More than 1 year ago
3 stars The wish List is a stand alone is a series called City Love. I always have a hard time with stand alone's in a series. I always feel like I would have liked the story more if I could have read the other books first. I need to start reading books in order to get the whole back story. Cate is looking for love. She is kind of uptight and a little stuck up. She has a list of "qualifications" she wants in a boyfriend. When she meets Dave, she has an attraction towards him, but when she sees he is a plumber, she quickly decides against dating him. Here is my problem, when she finds out he is a business owner and has money, her feelings change. It made me not like Cate too much after that. I get that she had a rough past and didn't want to go back to where she came from, but, this was an unlikable characteristic. After that, the story fell flat for me.
PagesofComfort More than 1 year ago
4.5 stars! I received a free copy of this ebook in exchange for an honest review. This is the first book I've read by Belinda Williams and I must say that I loved it! I didn't read the others in the series, and honestly didn't realize it was a series until I started reading. But that didn't take anything away from this story at all. I really love how Cate has a list (whether in her mind or actually written down) about what would make the perfect person for her. Honestly, my husband and I are quite different and I think it makes life so much better! But Cate thinks she has an idea of what she wants, until she meets Dave. While she really likes him, he doesn't meet her criteria, so she questions whether to move forward. Meanwhile, she meets another guy who does meet everything on her list. Needless to say, she has a difficult decision ahead of her! This story was really cute and I loved reading every bit of it. I really want to go back and read the others in the series, regardless of knowing how they turn out. Williams has a way with writing that really grabbed me and her characters are so fun. I would definitely recommend this book to any other romance fan! I had a hard time putting it down! Pagesofcomfort.blogspot.com
ljtljtljt More than 1 year ago
Belinda Williams has written another fun and exciting novel with Wish List, the fourth book from her City Love series. It is a fast-paced read, replete with an engaging storyline, well-defined characters, and a complicated, yet seductive romance. The story takes place in the land down under, specifically in Sydney and the South Coast. Although this book is part of a series, it can be totally enjoyed as a standalone. Cate Harmon likes lists, order, and numbers, so her career as an accountant and financial planner is a perfectly natural fit. She is smart, beautiful and has some really good friends and a awesome brother. Cate is the only one of her friends that does not have a significant other, which depresses her at times. When her hot water heater breaks and floods her apartment, plumber Dave Worthington comes to the rescue. At the beginning, he is not what Cate considers boyfriend material, yet overtime her list of significant other requirements are replaced by Dave's compassion, collection of classic cars and love. Ms. Williams has become one of my favorite authors and I never pass up an opportunity to read anything she writes. This is an well-written story, and Cate and Dave are interesting, complex and genuine. They challenge each other without even knowing it. If you enjoy a novel with a strong heroine, an eclectic group of caring friends, and an unsung hero, then spend sometime in Oz with Wish List. Complimentary copy provided by the publisher via NetGalley.
Samantha_Alice More than 1 year ago
4.5 lists aren't always needed stars. I have to be honest, I didn't remember Cate very much from the other books in this series which means she didn't stand out to me. I'm glad she did get her own book because she made me laugh, shake my head and snort. The read was enjoyable as I anticipated because Belinda Williams is quite the writer. I happened to like the secondary characters as much as the primary but that's to be expected since many of the secondary characters are from the previous books. Dave was so unexpectedly cute and charming! I don't know how else to say it. He was shy and kind of like a teenage boy at times because he beat around the bush so much instead of directly saying he was interested and I find it so charming. I don't know, he wormed his way under my skin like he did Cate and I was all about Dave. Chant with me now: Dave, DAve, DAVe, DAVE! Cate grew as a character throughout the pages of the book which I really liked. The story gives you background on her and dives deeply into all that is Cate so that it makes sense why she is the way she is and why lists are so important to her. She's kind of the person that does what she thinks is best for others even if it isn't necessarily the best for her. She also is a bit of an idealist which made me laugh.