Wolf Among the Stars by Steve White | Hardcover | Barnes & Noble
Wolf Among the Stars

Wolf Among the Stars

4.0 2
by Steve White
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

A near-future Earth has shaken off the devastating colonization by alien Lokaran invaders and totalitarian rule by the alien’s puppets, the Earth First party. But now Earth is flung into galactic intrigue and war. The Lokaron empire teeters on the edge of a fratricidal meltdown and a cabal of ancient enemies hope to use Earth as a proxy to destroy the empire

Overview

A near-future Earth has shaken off the devastating colonization by alien Lokaran invaders and totalitarian rule by the alien’s puppets, the Earth First party. But now Earth is flung into galactic intrigue and war. The Lokaron empire teeters on the edge of a fratricidal meltdown and a cabal of ancient enemies hope to use Earth as a proxy to destroy the empire and rule over a new Galactic Dark Age.

Now Captain Andrew Roark, the son of heroes of the rebellion and an officer trained in Lokaran space warfare tactics, joins with a highly capable Lokar who opposes the empire but wishes to see it transformed rather than destroyed. Together they must uncover a conspiracy to control Earth, and then obtain the secret key to defeating it. War for galactic control looms, and freedom for Earth—so recently escaped from under the boot-heel of one oppressor—is once again in the balance.

About Steve White:

“White offers fast action and historically informed world-building.”—Publishers Weekly

About Steve White’s Forge of the Titans:

“. . . recalls the best of the John Campbell era of SF. White's core audience of hard SF fans will be pleased. . .”—Publishers Weekly

“. . .engaging entertainment. . .much suspense and many well-handled action scenes. . .”—Booklist

About Steve White’s St. Anthony’s Fire:

“Give this one high marks for entertainment.”—Booklist

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
About 50 years after a disastrous first contact with the alien Lokaron, Earth has become a battleground of take-no-prisoners interstellar trade and politics among various human and alien factions. When Capt. Andrew Roark investigates the mysterious death of his boss, a respected Earth admiral, he discovers that the shapeshifting Kappainu have infiltrated Earth and plan to start an interstellar war for their own ends. Joined by Adm. Arnstein’s bereaved daughter, Rachel, and Lokaron double (or possibly triple) agent Reislon’Sygnath, Roark must take on the shapeshifter ninth column for the good of the galaxy. Set in the same universe as White’s 2000 novel Eagle Against the Stars, this slam-bang space intrigue adventure does suffer at times from egregious recaps and excessive exposition, but as a criticism of the simplistic xenophobia, isolationism, and imperialism common in human-uber-alles space opera as well as real life, it is distinctly refreshing. (Nov.)
Library Journal
Having freed itself from the alien Lokaran invaders and the totalitarian Earth First Party, Earth now finds itself embroiled in galactic warfare as enemies of the collapsing Lokaran Empire seek to use the planet as a new battleground. Capt. Andrew Roark, a veteran of the rebellion, joins forces with a Lokar who seeks to transform his race into a nonimperialistic society. Together, these former enemies must prevent the return of tyranny to the galaxy. VERDICT The sequel to Eagle Against the Stars is a strong tale of military sf featuring memorable characters and fast-paced action. Fans of David Weber and David Drake will like this action-packed story of war among the stars.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781451637540
Publisher:
Baen
Publication date:
11/01/2011
Pages:
256
Sales rank:
269,406
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 9.40(h) x 1.00(d)

Meet the Author

Steve White completed a tour of duty in Vietnam as a naval officer. With David Weber, he has collaborated on Insurrection, Crusade, In Death Ground, and the New York Times best seller The Shiva Option. His most recent books for Baen were the epic fantasy Demon’s Gate and the science fiction adventure novel Blood of the Heroes.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >