Wonder of Ness

Overview

To some, Loch Ness is a joke. To some, it is the most important thing in the world.

A major new expedition has been formed to locate the elusive creature of Loch Ness. Suddenly it seems as if everyone in the world is rushing to join the expedition, and for every conceivable reason.

For each of them, it will be a journey into wonder--and a plunge into mystery, terror, and his ...

See more details below
Paperback
$12.92
BN.com price
(Save 7%)$13.95 List Price
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (7) from $10.46   
  • New (6) from $10.46   
  • Used (1) from $12.91   
Sending request ...

Overview

To some, Loch Ness is a joke. To some, it is the most important thing in the world.

A major new expedition has been formed to locate the elusive creature of Loch Ness. Suddenly it seems as if everyone in the world is rushing to join the expedition, and for every conceivable reason.

For each of them, it will be a journey into wonder--and a plunge into mystery, terror, and his own personal heart of darkness.

A grand symbolic adventure in the tradition of Moby Dick and The Hunting of the Snark.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Kirkus Reviews
2013-11-22
Paul sets up a unique framework for his novel of finding the Loch Ness Monster. Ed and Simon, two lifelong Nessie watchers, put together a team to finally find the monster. It's a diverse group, including American widow Barbara, young American student Carl, chef Greg, skeptic Kitengi, the Russian priest Stefan, French undersea explorer Pierre, and Nessie-hunter Walter and his wife, Susie. But it's a bit unclear why many of them are part of the team in the first place. All of them have at least vague ties to Nessie, but Barbara, for example, isn't an expert, though she's brought in all the way from America to run communications. Greg was traumatized by seeing Nessie, and Simon brings him in as a chef because he feels Greg will finally have a normal life if he faces his fear by seeing Nessie again--an assumption on Simon's part. Because there are so many characters, Paul is forced to cram in a lot of background, often by stuffing it into unnatural dialogue, as with a stiff conversation in which Simon gives his life story to a cabdriver. The humor often feels forced, with a group of people laughing uproariously at corny or unfunny jokes. At one point, Simon tells a mildly amusing joke about an atheist meeting God, after which the "crowd erupted in laughter. Barbara laughed so hard that she fell to her knees for an instant, then quickly got back to her feet, only to fall down again." There are some intriguing plot points--Barbara's past loves, Carl's exploring a new life in England--but the number and depth of the background stories about Nessie tend to slow the action, which doesn't really start moving until almost the final third of the book, when the team starts seeing results. A muddled story with some promising elements afloat.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781490411798
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
  • Publication date: 9/11/2013
  • Pages: 370
  • Product dimensions: 6.00 (w) x 9.00 (h) x 0.77 (d)

Meet the Author

JAMES JEFFREY PAUL was born in 1963. A native of Orlando, Florida and a graduate of Duke University and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, he is the author of the true crime book NOTHING IS STRANGE WITH YOU: THE LIFE AND CRIMES OF GOTDON STEWART NORTHCOTT and a play about Jack the Ripper and his last victim, MILLER'S COURT, which is available in print and as an audio download.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)