Wonderful Stories from Skog Forest Near the Little Yellow House, Volume 1: 'Li'l Bunny's Big Adventure'

( 10 )

Overview

While writing these children's books I mixed fact with fiction, reality with fantasy, and the will to overcome near-impossible problems with creative solutions. Since children need positive encouragement, optimism, hope, and, most of all - love, I've created stories using animals - who are true to their particular nature. I chose animals which children can both relate to and understand by their own unique behaviors, but sometimes with a little humor and a few unexpected ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (5) from $2.18   
  • New (2) from $11.27   
  • Used (3) from $2.18   
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.
Sending request ...

More About This Book

Overview

While writing these children's books I mixed fact with fiction, reality with fantasy, and the will to overcome near-impossible problems with creative solutions. Since children need positive encouragement, optimism, hope, and, most of all - love, I've created stories using animals - who are true to their particular nature. I chose animals which children can both relate to and understand by their own unique behaviors, but sometimes with a little humor and a few unexpected happenings. Positive reading for positive readers!

This first book in the Wonderful Stories from Skog Forest series is about a yearling bunny that visits a bunny feeding station built by the owner of the home, Mr. Teddy. While the bunny feeds, he is constantly on the lookout for Odin, the Fox King. One day, Odin chases the li'l bunny and instead of escaping like usual, he tumbles down a snowy hill and ends up in a giant snowball that eventually falls into the Flusse River. Li'l bunny then digs his way to the top where he meets many new friends as he floats away, but also realizes that he has injured his right ear. After a meeting with a wise blue jay, Mr. Vis, li'l bunny is convinced that his injury isn't a disability at all, but a blessing that makes him stand out in Skog Forest and leads him to great happiness. This book teaches children with injuries and disabilities that these misfortunes may bring them fortune in many different ways and not to listen to ridicule.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781418437312
  • Publisher: AuthorHouse
  • Publication date: 6/23/2004
  • Pages: 52
  • Sales rank: 1,022,861
  • Age range: 9 - 12 Years
  • Product dimensions: 8.25 (w) x 11.00 (h) x 0.11 (d)

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    I think this is a great book for any child to read. This is the kind of book that will encourage more reading and creative thought.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is a very good series of books in the tradition of Winnie the Pooh and Peter Rabbit and I love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2007

    Injoyed reader

    This book should be distributed and read in every school. Very good learning tool.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2007

    Great read for you kids.

    Mr peterson's books are a refreshing change from once upon a time kids stories. He teachs the young reader while he or she listens to a entertaining story. My grandson enjoyed book two and can't wait for me to read him the other two. Mr Peterson has a direct voice to the child and get's his message to the reader. You will not regret buying and reading these books to your children or grandchildren. I hihly reccomend them. Bernard Shaw

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2007

    Family Friend/Classmate

    The Wonderful Stories from Skog Forest are colorful and captivating, they will warm your heart and delight children of all ages. Focused to the 9-12 year old reader these stories are classic and the younger children really love them when read too. They reminded me of Peter Rabbit/Curious George and the Cat in the Hat books. Inspired by the birth of his son Brandon and his love for animals. The author uses his characters cleverly to teach children to love and respect animals and not to be afraid of nature. His characters (some named for family) have humorous and exciting adventures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    enjoyable, different childrens fare

    I found these stories to be enjoyable and different i recommend them

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    All three volumes are great! Wonderfully done and highly entertaining. Marvelous stories for everyone to enjoy. Anxiously awaiting Volume 4?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2007

    20 Year Army Vet

    Highly recommended for ALL ages. The smiles on my childrens faces stated it all when reading stories. Can't wait to read next volume.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2004

    My Kids Loved It!!!

    What a cute story! My kids love it, and for the price you can't go wrong. I would highly recommend this book to anyone with children or grandchildren.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What a wonderful story from Skog Forest!

    This is the kind of story that helps children with disabilities overcome these hardships, and prosper from them. The characters are well formed. Althought many of the woodland animals make fun of Li'l Bunny's disability, Mr. Vis the wise blue jay, encourages Li'l Bunny to embrace his disability and turn it into something positive. I would definitely recommend this book to any child, or parent or grandparent with little ones who love great stories of accomplishment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)