Wonderland Creek

Wonderland Creek

4.6 62
by Lynn Austin
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Lynn Austin Will Delight Readers with Her Winsome Heroine

Alice Grace Ripley lives in a dream world, her nose stuck in a book. But happily-ever-after life she's planned on suddenly falls apart when her boyfriend, Gordon, breaks up with her, accusing her of living in a world of fiction instead of the real world. Then to top it off, Alice loses her beloved job…  See more details below

Overview

Lynn Austin Will Delight Readers with Her Winsome Heroine

Alice Grace Ripley lives in a dream world, her nose stuck in a book. But happily-ever-after life she's planned on suddenly falls apart when her boyfriend, Gordon, breaks up with her, accusing her of living in a world of fiction instead of the real world. Then to top it off, Alice loses her beloved job at the library because of cutbacks due to the Great Depression.

Fleeing small-town gossip, Alice heads to the mountains of eastern Kentucky to deliver five boxes of donated books to the library in the tiny coal-mining village of Acorn. Dropped off by her relatives, Alice volunteers to stay for two weeks to help the librarian, Leslie McDougal.

But the librarian turns out to be far different than she anticipated--not to mention the four lady librarians who travel to the remote homes to deliver the much-desired books. While Alice is trapped in Acorn against her will, she soon finds that real-life adventure and mystery--and especially romance--are far better than her humble dreams could have imagined.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
Set during the Great Depression, this novel by six-time Christy winner Austin (While We're Far Apart; Hidden Places) examines the life of a bookish young woman who loses her library job and her boyfriend at the same time. As the gossip begins to mount, Alice agrees to deliver books to a rural Kentucky library in need. Once there, she is abandoned by her family members who dropped her off. Stuck in Acorn, she befriends the librarians and discovers that there is more of interest in this small town than she assumed. VERDICT Austin's historical novels have been well received by her numerous fans. This latest entry will not disappoint. The vivid female protagonist and touches of humor and romance will appeal to fans of Lynn Morris and T. Davis Bunn.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781441233950
Publisher:
Baker Publishing Group
Publication date:
10/01/2011
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
400
Sales rank:
50,611
File size:
2 MB

Meet the Author

Lynn Austin, a former teacher who now writes and speaks full time, has won six Christy Awards for her historical fiction. One of those novels, Hidden Places, has also been made into a Hallmark Channel movie. Lynn and her husband have raised three children and make their home near Chicago, Illinois.
Lynn Austin has sold more than one and a half million copies of her books worldwide. A former teacher who now writes and speaks full-time, she has won eight Christy Awards for her historical fiction. One of those novels, Hidden Places, has also been made into an Original Hallmark Channel movie. Lynn and her husband have raised three children and make their home in western Michigan. Learn more at www.lynnaustin.org.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >