The World Government

Overview

In The New Philosophy of Universalism Nicholas Hagger outlined a new philosophy on the oneness of the universe and humankind and its applications for many disciplines including international relations. In this work of political Universalism Hagger presents the long yearned for human dream of world government and a World State that would enforce peace. In the hands of conquerors of self-interested elites concerned to loot the Earth's resources to enrich themselves this could be ...

See more details below
Paperback
$22.50
BN.com price
(Save 9%)$24.95 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (8) from $14.58   
  • New (5) from $14.58   
  • Used (3) from $22.49   
World Government: A Blueprint For A Univ

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$8.49
BN.com price
(Save 15%)$9.99 List Price

Overview

In The New Philosophy of Universalism Nicholas Hagger outlined a new philosophy on the oneness of the universe and humankind and its applications for many disciplines including international relations. In this work of political Universalism Hagger presents the long yearned for human dream of world government and a World State that would enforce peace. In the hands of conquerors of self-interested elites concerned to loot the Earth's resources to enrich themselves this could be disastrous.

But in the hands of a philanthropic body of experts and elected representatives this could benefit humankind by legislating to abolish war, famine, disease and poverty. A challenging philosophical vision of a better future in the tradition of Plato and Kant, this is required reading for all interested in improving the structures of global governance.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781846943881
  • Publisher: Iff Books
  • Publication date: 11/16/2010
  • Pages: 284
  • Product dimensions: 6.00 (w) x 8.90 (h) x 0.80 (d)

Table of Contents

Prologue: World Government and Peace 1

Part 1 The Dream of World Government

1 History's Inexorable Flow towards World Government 10

2 The Long Yearning for a World State 18

3 History's Progress to an End-Point: The Collapse of the Old Order 39

Part 2 The World Government as A Reality in Our Time

4 Models of a Supranational Authority: the Status Quo 70

Model 1 World Community through Organizations 75

Model 2 Sticking with the UN and Strengthening Great-Power Agreement 80

Model 3 World Constitutional Convention 85

5 Models of a Supranational Authority: Reforming the UN 92

Model 4 Revising the UN Charter to Strengthen International Law 92

Model 5 A Treaty for a New Organization to Exist Alongside, and Strengthen, the UN 99

6 Models of a Supranational Authority: Global Governance 103

Model 6 √Člites' Secretive World Government through Exclusive Groups 103

Model 7 Democratizing the UN and making Global Governance Accountable 111

Part 3 The Statecraft of World Government: A Blueprint for A World State

7 The Ideal Form of World State 122

Model 8 A World Commission, World Parliamentary Assembly, World Senate, World Judicial Tribunals, World Armed Force, World Council of Ministers, World President, World Leaders' Guidance Council, World Bank and World Court of Justice, all above the UN 128

8 The Structure of the New World State 136

Diagram/Flow Chart of the Supranational Authority 143

9 Peering into the Future: A Glimpse of the World State 159

Epilogue: Making a Golden Age Happen 172

Chart of 25 Civilizations and Cultures from One to One: The Fundamental Unity of World Culture 178

Appendices Data: Facts relating to the UN, Regions and Nation-States

A US-Based Documents

1 Declaration of Independence, 1776 182

2 The North Atlantic Treaty, 1948 186

3 Project for the New American Century, 1997 190

B The UN

1 Overview of the UN Structure 193

2 Structure of UN Agencies 194

3 UN Organizations 195

4 The UN's 192 Member States 200

5 The UN Universal Declaration of Human Rights, 1948 203

6 Wars the UN Failed to Prevent Involving 123 Countries, 1945-2009 210

7 37 Major Conflicts the UN Failed to Prevent after 1945: 689 UN Resolutions and 33,750,000 Deaths 225

C Freedom

1 119 Electoral Democracies, 2009 230

2 Freedom Ratings, 2009 231

3 Freedom Ratings Table by Countries and Territories, 2009 235

4 The World's 20 Worst Dictators, 2009 243

D Regions and Nation-States

1 Regional Populations as Percentages of World Population, 2008 244

2 Historical and Predicted Regional Populations as Percentages of World Population 244

3 Nation-States' Populations as Percentages of World Population 245

4 8 Regions and 195 Nation-States 256

5 18 Mini-Regions and 209 Nation-States 258

6 Club of Rome's 10 Zones 262

7 The IMF's 190 Countries, 2009 263

8 Overview of the EU's Institutions 267

List of Websites Supporting Data 268

Notes and References 271

Bibliography 281

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)