BN.com Gift Guide

World of Hurt

Overview

With World of Hurt, his first new novel in six years, Rosen returns with a tour-de-force tale of real estate deception and psychological abuse. When real estate agent Larry Peplow is found murdered in a desolate field, the search for his killer takes retired baseball player-turned-private investigator Harvey Blissberg from Cambridge, Massachusetts, to affluent Chicago suburbs to the coast of Maine...and to some places not found in any atlas. Lured into the investigation by his older brother, Norm, Harvey leaves ...
See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (35) from $1.99   
  • New (1) from $6.50   
  • Used (34) from $1.99   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$6.50
Seller since 2014

Feedback rating:

(77)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
0802732518 Only 1 copy left! Clean, unmarked copy. Hardcover, with dust jacket- In excellent shape! I can send expedited rate if you chose; otherwise it will promptly be sent ... via media rate. Have any questions? Email me; I'm happy to help! Read more Show Less

Ships from: Los Angeles, CA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
World of Hurt

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$8.99
BN.com price
(Save 10%)$9.99 List Price
This digital version does not exactly match the physical book displayed here.

Overview

With World of Hurt, his first new novel in six years, Rosen returns with a tour-de-force tale of real estate deception and psychological abuse. When real estate agent Larry Peplow is found murdered in a desolate field, the search for his killer takes retired baseball player-turned-private investigator Harvey Blissberg from Cambridge, Massachusetts, to affluent Chicago suburbs to the coast of Maine...and to some places not found in any atlas. Lured into the investigation by his older brother, Norm, Harvey leaves Boston, his troubled relationship with live-in love Mickey Slavin, and his new therapist to follow the trail of damaged souls that ends at Larry Peplow's corpse. No one seems to know much about Peplow - just that he'd last lived in Maine, that he was part of Norm's regular pickup basketball game, and that just before his head was blown off he'd told a little real estate lie... In World of Hurt, everyone lies - even Harvey falls into the habit - but the biggest fabrication of all turns out to be Larry Peplow himself. Discovering his secrets takes time, for his murder conceals another, much slower death that is all but forgotten. The pieces that Harvey slowly puts together are painful, and the final puzzle is a picture of madness, sadness, and murderous rage.

The first book in six years by the Edgar Award-winning author of Strike Three, You're Dead, this Harvey Blissberg Mystery centers around the trauma of psychological abuse.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Edgar winner Rosen (for Strike Three, You're Dead) has written three well-received mysteries starring laconic ex-ballplayer Harvey Blissberg of Boston. The fourth is an asymmetrical novel that moves uneasily between Portland, Maine, and a handful of fictional Chicago suburbs as Harvey, investigating the last days of a dead realtor, finds out a lot about dishonesty, betrayal and revenge. Larry Peplow, with few friends in Garden Hills, Ill., and a curiously empty life, left little to explain a bullet to the head. His past reveals more. He was once a psychotherapist in Maine, with a woman patient who committed suicide. Harvey, moving just ahead of the local cops, cheats on his longtime lover with a randy Garden Hills housewife. While most of the segments set in Chicago sections seem lifeless, those set in the East unleash a deluge of pertinent information. Rosen writes crisp dialogue but he overburdens his characters with flaws, and Harvey's baseball life is an ace too rarely played. The verve shown in Rosen's earlier work is missing here. Readers will hope it's just a slump. Author tour. (Oct.)
Wes Lukowsky
Harvey Blissberg, ex-major league outfielder turned private eye, is summoned to Chicago by his brother, Norm, to look into the murder of real-estate agent Larry Peplow. Norm once played basketball with Larry and feels an obligation to this pleasant, apparently family-less man whose death the police appear to have chalked up to street crime. Harvey takes the case, if only to assuage his brother's sense of obligation. What he learns isn't pretty: Peplow worked primarily with a development that may be located on a toxic-waste site; he was something of a lecher; and he worked as a psychologist until one of his female patients, with whom he had an affair, committed suicide. Harvey, involved in a fling of his own, finds himself wondering whether he is as dishonest as Peplow. This fourth Blissberg novel is another strong entry in a steadily improving series. The ex-ballplayer gambit fades in significance as Harvey's character evolves. In the tradition of Bill Pronzini, Lawrence Block, and Joseph Hansen, Rosen is creating a fictional biography one book at a time.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780802732514
  • Publisher: Walker & Company
  • Publication date: 10/1/1994
  • Pages: 264
  • Product dimensions: 6.27 (w) x 9.32 (h) x 1.27 (d)

Table of Contents

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)