World of Hurt

World of Hurt

by Richard Dean Rosen
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

With World of Hurt, his first new novel in six years, Rosen returns with a tour-de-force tale of real estate deception and psychological abuse. When real estate agent Larry Peplow is found murdered in a desolate field, the search for his killer takes retired baseball player-turned-private investigator Harvey Blissberg from Cambridge, Massachusetts, to affluent Chicago… See more details below

Overview

With World of Hurt, his first new novel in six years, Rosen returns with a tour-de-force tale of real estate deception and psychological abuse. When real estate agent Larry Peplow is found murdered in a desolate field, the search for his killer takes retired baseball player-turned-private investigator Harvey Blissberg from Cambridge, Massachusetts, to affluent Chicago suburbs to the coast of Maine...and to some places not found in any atlas. Lured into the investigation by his older brother, Norm, Harvey leaves Boston, his troubled relationship with live-in love Mickey Slavin, and his new therapist to follow the trail of damaged souls that ends at Larry Peplow's corpse. No one seems to know much about Peplow - just that he'd last lived in Maine, that he was part of Norm's regular pickup basketball game, and that just before his head was blown off he'd told a little real estate lie... In World of Hurt, everyone lies - even Harvey falls into the habit - but the biggest fabrication of all turns out to be Larry Peplow himself. Discovering his secrets takes time, for his murder conceals another, much slower death that is all but forgotten. The pieces that Harvey slowly puts together are painful, and the final puzzle is a picture of madness, sadness, and murderous rage.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Edgar winner Rosen (for Strike Three, You're Dead) has written three well-received mysteries starring laconic ex-ballplayer Harvey Blissberg of Boston. The fourth is an asymmetrical novel that moves uneasily between Portland, Maine, and a handful of fictional Chicago suburbs as Harvey, investigating the last days of a dead realtor, finds out a lot about dishonesty, betrayal and revenge. Larry Peplow, with few friends in Garden Hills, Ill., and a curiously empty life, left little to explain a bullet to the head. His past reveals more. He was once a psychotherapist in Maine, with a woman patient who committed suicide. Harvey, moving just ahead of the local cops, cheats on his longtime lover with a randy Garden Hills housewife. While most of the segments set in Chicago sections seem lifeless, those set in the East unleash a deluge of pertinent information. Rosen writes crisp dialogue but he overburdens his characters with flaws, and Harvey's baseball life is an ace too rarely played. The verve shown in Rosen's earlier work is missing here. Readers will hope it's just a slump. Author tour. (Oct.)
Wes Lukowsky
Harvey Blissberg, ex-major league outfielder turned private eye, is summoned to Chicago by his brother, Norm, to look into the murder of real-estate agent Larry Peplow. Norm once played basketball with Larry and feels an obligation to this pleasant, apparently family-less man whose death the police appear to have chalked up to street crime. Harvey takes the case, if only to assuage his brother's sense of obligation. What he learns isn't pretty: Peplow worked primarily with a development that may be located on a toxic-waste site; he was something of a lecher; and he worked as a psychologist until one of his female patients, with whom he had an affair, committed suicide. Harvey, involved in a fling of his own, finds himself wondering whether he is as dishonest as Peplow. This fourth Blissberg novel is another strong entry in a steadily improving series. The ex-ballplayer gambit fades in significance as Harvey's character evolves. In the tradition of Bill Pronzini, Lawrence Block, and Joseph Hansen, Rosen is creating a fictional biography one book at a time.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780802732514
Publisher:
Walker & Company
Publication date:
10/01/1994
Pages:
264
Product dimensions:
6.27(w) x 9.32(h) x 1.27(d)

Related Subjects

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >