BN.com Gift Guide

World Spice at Home: New Flavors for 75 Favorite Dishes

Overview

Fans of Yotam Ottolenghi's Plenty and Jerusalem will be thrilled with the exciting new spice profiles in these 75 recipes. This book brings the world's exotic spices to your home kitchen to breath new life into favorite, familiar, and traditional dishes with wonderful new flavors. Transform a grilled ribeye steak using an Arabic baharat spice blend; add drama to your carrot cake using Kashmiri garam masala. Spices add gratifying dimension to foods, and while the spice blends come from around the world, these ...

See more details below
Paperback
$17.60
BN.com price
(Save 29%)$24.95 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (10) from $14.70   
  • New (8) from $14.70   
  • Used (2) from $15.14   
World Spice at Home: New Flavors for 75 Favorite Dishes

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$13.99
BN.com price
(Save 43%)$24.95 List Price

Overview

Fans of Yotam Ottolenghi's Plenty and Jerusalem will be thrilled with the exciting new spice profiles in these 75 recipes. This book brings the world's exotic spices to your home kitchen to breath new life into favorite, familiar, and traditional dishes with wonderful new flavors. Transform a grilled ribeye steak using an Arabic baharat spice blend; add drama to your carrot cake using Kashmiri garam masala. Spices add gratifying dimension to foods, and while the spice blends come from around the world, these recipes are friendly and familiar.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
After explaining how to select, store, and blend whole fresh spices, spice shop owner Bevill (worldspice.com) and cookbook author Kramis Hearne (The Dutch Oven Cookbook) share 75 recipes designed to help readers add global flavors to their everyday cooking. Some recipes, such as Chinese five-spice shortbread cookies and crispy jicama and watermelon salad with sumac, offer just a hint of exotic spice, while others, like grilled salmon with za’atar and herb-caper sauce, are assertively seasoned. Using the table of contents and additional recipe lists, readers can easily browse recipes by course (e.g., small bites, soups and stews, sweets and breads) or by spice blend (e.g., curry, berbere, dukkah). VERDICT: Bevill and Kramis Hearnes’s spice blends, which contain 7–14 spices (compared to 40-plus in some ethnic cookbooks), taste superior to many premade and shelf-weary equivalents. Their approachable recipes offer home cooks a gentle introduction to new flavorings.
—Library Journal 

. . . a fresh, surprising collection of recipes that’s more than just a pretty scent. Bevill and Hearne’s thoughtfulness is obvious in the 50 pages of front matter, a glossary not just of spices, but of blends and how and where they can be found and used. Although many of the basic ingredient combinations here are not new, the seasoning is rich and insightful.
—The Boston Globe

If you have ever explored Pike Place Market in depth you probably know about World Spice tucked down on Western Avenue directly behind the market. The rich smell of spices that waft from the storefront invite you in for another whiff. But deciding what to do with the spices is another story. Enter World Spice at Home: New Flavors for 75 Favorite Dishes, by World Spice owner Amanda Bevill and cookbook author Julie Gramis Hearne. The duo has paired up to bring exotic spices into your home kitchen for use in everyday dishes including soups, stews, brisket, vegetables and even sweets and breads . . . One of the most interesting sections of the book was the “Sweets & Breads” section that incorporated spices into cakes, truffles, cookies and even cornbread. 
—TableTalk Northwest

The 43 Most Anticipated Cookbooks of Fall 2014
—Eater.com

Authors Amanda Bevill, owner of World Spice Merchants by Seattle’s Pike Place Market, and Julie Kramis Hearne, a chef, writer and cooking instructor, have a world of redolent, palate-tempting ingredients to work from, as their introductory descriptions of spices from ajwain seed to vanilla bean prove. And it’s a joy just to flip through the book soaking up the considerable knowledge about spices and spice mixes, as well as their uses, that Bevill and Hearne impart.
—The Seattle Times

Library Journal
09/15/2014
After explaining how to select, store, and blend whole fresh spices, spice shop owner Bevill (worldspice.com) and cookbook author Kramis Hearne (The Dutch Oven Cookbook) share 75 recipes designed to help readers add global flavors to their everyday cooking. Some recipes, such as Chinese five-spice shortbread cookies and crispy jicama and watermelon salad with sumac, offer just a hint of exotic spice, while others, like grilled salmon with za'atar and herb-caper sauce, are assertively seasoned. Using the table of contents and additional recipe lists, readers can easily browse recipes by course (e.g., small bites, soups and stews, sweets and breads) or by spice blend (e.g., curry, berbere, dukkah). VERDICT Bevill and Kramis Hearnes's spice blends, which contain 7–14 spices (compared to 40-plus in some ethnic cookbooks), taste superior to many premade and shelf-weary equivalents. Their approachable recipes offer home cooks a gentle introduction to new flavorings.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781570619076
  • Publisher: Sasquatch Books
  • Publication date: 9/30/2014
  • Pages: 240
  • Sales rank: 24,007
  • Product dimensions: 8.50 (w) x 7.30 (h) x 0.80 (d)

Meet the Author

AMANDA BEVILL, owner of World Spice in Seattle's Pike Place Market, is a maven of the big and beautiful world of spices and blends.

JULIE KRAMIS HEARNE received her training at the Culinary Institute of America and worked as a chef at The Herbfarm Restaurant. She is co-author of three cookbooks.

Both authors live in Seattle, WA.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)