Worth the Risk: A McKinney Brothers Novel

Worth the Risk: A McKinney Brothers Novel

4.6 68
by Claudia Connor
     
 
For readers of Bella Andre, New York Times bestselling author Claudia Connor follows up her heartfelt debut, Worth the Fall, with a novel about Matt’s brother, Stephen. When a McKinney brother falls in love, powerful emotion and overwhelming desire are never far behind.
 
Two hearts locked away . . . Hannah Walker

Overview

For readers of Bella Andre, New York Times bestselling author Claudia Connor follows up her heartfelt debut, Worth the Fall, with a novel about Matt’s brother, Stephen. When a McKinney brother falls in love, powerful emotion and overwhelming desire are never far behind.
 
Two hearts locked away . . . Hannah Walker spends her days coaching children through injury and trauma, one therapeutic horseback ride at a time. She knows all too well how violence can change a child and leave scars that never heal. It’s easy for her to relate to the kids; what isn’t easy is the thought of facing her own harrowing past.
 
Millionaire playboy Stephen McKinney could use a little coaching himself. Five years ago he encountered his most horrible nightmare—and the nightmare won. No matter what he achieves, nothing can make up for that awful night . . . or so he believes.
 
Both desperate for a second chance . . . Stephen is used to getting what he wants. And he wants Hannah. So when she turns him down, he’s intrigued. What he doesn’t know is that her secrets will lead him to a place he never wanted to go again . . . to a side of himself he’s tried to forget . . . a side that would scare Hannah away from ever loving him. Now his only chance to win her trust is to bare his soul, risking everything he tried so hard to protect.

Praise for Worth the Risk and Claudia Connor
 
“Love, love, love! Read Claudia Connor for a consistently raw and emotional love story.”New York Times bestselling author Carly Phillips
 
“Achingly real characters, combined with Connor’s deft and tender handling of complex issues, make for a compelling, layered read.”USA Today bestselling author Maggie McGinnis

Worth the Risk is a story of healing, of overcoming heartbreaking memories and panic-inducing fears, and taking the risk to trust and love again. You do not want to miss this wonderfully emotional story by one of my new favorite authors!”—Wendy S. Marcus, author of Loving You Is Easy

“Connor’s writing is strong enough to maintain the emotional intensity of the main couple’s relationship through it all, providing a reading experience that will no doubt satisfy fans and leave many eager for more tales of the passionate McKinney Brothers.”RT Book Reviews

“A brand-new author I think you’re really gonna like.”New York Times bestselling author Kristan Higgins
 
“I can’t get enough of Claudia Connor’s heartwarming stories. Sexy, emotional, complex, dreamy—her characters satisfy on every level.”New York Times bestselling author Virna DePaul
 
“Loved this book, love this series and I cannot wait for more of this series and Claudia Connor.”—Live, Read and Breathe
 
“Claudia Connor is a natural storyteller. I was engrossed in Worth the Risk, down to the familiar interactions between the siblings.”—Book Crack
 
“This was just a really great book to read, and I definitely recommend it! I really want to go back and read Worth the Fall now! I can’t wait to see what else this author has in store for us!”—Pages of Comfort
 
Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780553390926
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Publication date:
02/03/2015
Series:
McKinney Brothers , #2
Sold by:
Random House
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
306
Sales rank:
7,198
File size:
5 MB

Meet the Author

New York Times bestselling author Claudia Connor attended Auburn University, where she received her undergraduate and masters degrees in early childhood education, and completed her studies in Sawbridgeworth, England. Always a lover of happy endings, she enjoys movies, reading, and spending her days putting on paper the stories in her head. She lives near Memphis, Tennessee, with her husband and three daughters.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Worth the Risk: A McKinney Brothers Novel 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 68 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. The character developement and interaction was fantastic, very believeable. I highly recommend this book. This book was 300 pages.
Bette313 More than 1 year ago
I didn't think it was possible for Claudia Connor to write another book that touched my heart as deeply as Worth the Fall did, but I was wrong. In this book both Stephen and Hannah have been touched by cruelty and hurt and have difficulty trusting and loving, but together they learn and risk it. This is absolutely a book everyone should have at the very top of their MUST read list. I highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Both of her books are awesome, sweet and sexy.  Hannah and Stephen's story is a must read.  Your heart will do flips!
Lab228 More than 1 year ago
This is the second book in The McKinney Brothers series. It focuses on Stephen’s story, the millionaire playboy. It is just as enjoyable as the first, Worth the Fall. When Hannah was fourteen, she went through a horrific event that left her scarred not only physically but also mentally. With the help of her brothers, she is working on rebuilding her life. As a therapist, Hannah, works with special needs children. She uses horses as therapy for the children. Stephen was previously in love and engaged but as a result of one awful night, he is now alone and he wants to keep it that way. He is the typical playboy, having sex with random women and does not want to become emotionally involved again. His family is worried about him. Since the incident, he has changed and is no longer the carefree and loving man his family once knew. He feels guilty and that is something difficult to overcome. When Stephen comes into Hannah’s life, in a grocery store no less, he can feel something between them. He tries to ignore it, after all Hannah seems so innocent. But Stephen is so drawn to Hannah he finds himself breaking his own rule of not becoming involved with anyone again. Hannah is determined to not allow the past dictate her future so she takes a chance on Stephen. Their relationship starts slowly and grows over time as they begin to learn to trust, it develops into something much more. Overall this was a good story. Characters well developed and real. Looking forward to another McKinney’s story. So far each book in this series can be read as a standalone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Why do 5he women ALWAYS have to be so intimidated with the men. This book was going well but just felt kind of awkward with the progression of the relationship. And I get tired of the all in then jump to a conclusion and don't talk it over with the guy before she runa off.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a tear jerker for sure but I loved every chapter... Wonderful character development... Great romance...Bit of mystery... Second book in the McKinney Brothers series... Hannah was kidnapped and nearly killed at the age of 14... Stephen, a self made millionaire who lost his fiancee in a horrible murder... Their coming together and learning to trust and love was beautifully done by Ms. Connor... Big family on both sides so I hope that this series goes on for a long time...
sugarpine721 More than 1 year ago
Worth the Risk has another McKinney brother falling in love...Claudia Connor has added another great addition to this series. Stephen's story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story had characters you love. I like reading books with heart. These stories remind me of Catherine Anderson; they make charactets real.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Anonymous 12 months ago
This second book is well written with likeable characters.
wizkids32 More than 1 year ago
This was a awesome book loved it loved how Matt and Abby fell in love and all of her kids and how Matt fell for them all and how she became to trust him and how he all most lost it being an idiot but in the end every thing turn out great in the end
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put it down . ..amazing writer...I can't wait for the next story . ..I love the McKinney family ! !!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Must read. Great story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Her first book, Worth the Fall was amazing and this effort did not disappoint. Ms. Conner is way above the norm of romance writers and I am grateful! I can't wait for the next book in the spring and I have never pre-ordered any romance books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Already ordered the next one! Don't pass up anything by this author. She's got the gift!
Wendylu4 More than 1 year ago
Loved, loved, loved!! This was another great book about the McKinney Brothers. There was so much emotion and romance. There was some action and humor and as well as interaction with the other McKinney's. Well worth the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a book that makes you feel good and gives you hope in love .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Skipped some - descriptive sex scenes are downers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago