The Wrong Mother (Zailer & Waterhouse Series #3)

The Wrong Mother (Zailer & Waterhouse Series #3)

3.3 51
by Sophie Hannah
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

A chilling, compulsively readable novel of psychological suspense from the author of The Dead Lie Down and The Other Woman’s House

Sally Thorning is watching the news with her husband one night when she hears an unexpected name—Mark Bretherick. It’s a name she shouldn’t know, but last year after a business trip

…  See more details below

Overview

A chilling, compulsively readable novel of psychological suspense from the author of The Dead Lie Down and The Other Woman’s House

Sally Thorning is watching the news with her husband one night when she hears an unexpected name—Mark Bretherick. It’s a name she shouldn’t know, but last year after a business trip canceled at the last minute, Sally treated herself to a secret vacation—away from her hectic family life—and met a man. After their brief affair, the two planned to never meet again. All the details are the same: his job, where he lives, his wife Geraldine and daughter Lucy. But the photograph on the news is not the man Sally knew. And now Geraldine and Lucy are dead.

The third book in Sophie Hannah’s acclaimed Zailer and Waterhouse series, The Wrong Mother delivers white knuckle suspense and Hannah’s trademark plot twists, and is perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Ruth Rendell.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Marilyn Stasio
Hannah goes in for all those bizarre plot twists and outlandish behaviors that have come to define the psychological-suspense story, but she does it with style and wit. And while these Gothic chords bring a dissonant note to the realistic chapters written in the police-procedural format, they can't muffle the voices of the women in this story who persist in speaking intimately and honestly about the pressures on them as supermoms.
—The New York Times
Publishers Weekly
Sally Thorning, part-time environment rescuer and full-time mother, struggles to maintain her sanity and juggle the overwhelming demands of work and home in this superior psychological mystery from British author Hannah (Little Face). During a week away from her husband and children, Sally has a brief affair. A year later a local headline tragedy—Sally's lover's wife appears to have murdered her six-year-old daughter then committed suicide—reveals that Sally's lover was not who he claimed to be and she needs to find out why. After surviving a shove in front of a bus, Sally re-examines that unwise affair as she plays amateur detective and nearly loses all she values in the process. The story alternates between Sally's confessional and a tight police procedural interspersed with evidence—pages torn from the diary of the alleged daughter-killer. Paced like a ticking time bomb with flawlessly distinct characterization, this is a fiercely fresh and un-put-downable read. 5-city author tour. (Oct.)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780143116301
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
09/29/2009
Series:
Zailer & Waterhouse Series, #3
Edition description:
Original
Pages:
432
Sales rank:
598,528
Product dimensions:
5.30(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Meet the Author

Sophie Hannah is the bestselling author of nine novels and is also an award-winning poet. Her Hercule Poirot mystery, the first to be sanctioned by the Agatha Christie estate, was published in 2014. She lives in Cambridge, England, with her husband and two children, and is a Fellow Commoner at Lucy Cavendish College.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Wrong Mother 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 51 reviews.
NinnyJC More than 1 year ago
The story centers around Sally Thorning & a brief affair she had a year ago with Mark Bretherin. Sally hears on the news that Marks family has been killed & when they show Marks pic-it isnt the man she knows as Mark. Sally tries to sort out who Mark really is, and the story takes off from there. Readers will enjoy the mystery from the cops perspective, and Sally's until it all comes together in the last climatic chapter. I couldnt put this book down. Lots of interwoven storylines and characters makes this a great mystery I couldnt piece together & when it all together-wow!!! Critics were right when they said it was like a ticking time bomb waiting to go off.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was enthralling - I did not want to put it down - had to keep reading to find out the ending, which was a big surprise!! I definitely have to read Hannah's other books now.
bridget3420 More than 1 year ago
Sally had an affair. She was exhausted and in desperate need of a break. When her business trip was unexpectedly cancelled, she decided to get away anyway. She met Mark and their tryst began. They talked about lives they lead, about their work and about their families. When the vacation came to an end, the two parted ways thinking they would never see each other again. One night while Sally and her husband are watching TV and to Sally's surprise, Mark's name comes up on the news. To her surprise, his wife and child have both been killed. When they show Mark's picture, Sally realizes that the man she was with was not really Mark, her short term lover was using the identity of someone else. Now she is in panic mode and scared for her family. Will she be able to protect her family from this madman that she once shared a bed with? I'm addicted. Now I have to go out and buy all of her other books. Seriously. This was a phenomenal read that blew my mind. I actually received an ARC of this at the beginning of the summer, so I had actually read it a while ago. I am still in a daze over how wonderfully thrilling this book was. If you aren't going to buy it, at least enter my giveaway because I really think you all could get hooked on Sophie's writing. If you do, maybe we could start a club. LOL.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gripping, immersive, practically impossible to put down! Totally surprised by "who did it". I love the writing style, switching POVs and all. The ending was lovely; all lines tied up and (mostly) happy, justice meted out. Sally's POV was terrifying and the "villain's" perfectly chilling. I didn't know this was the end of a series, but I wanted Simon and Charlie together from the moment I met them. Great chemistry and characterization. Now I need to read the rest!
emmi331 More than 1 year ago
Set in a small city in England, this novel is absolutely riveting. A mother and her young daughter have been murdered - or is it suicide? -and the police are on the job - when they aren't trying to sort out their tangled relationships and resentments. Two other mothers with young daughters are key to the plot as well, and their stories include adultery, obsession, and the stress of parenting small children. This last is a recurring theme in the story, and anyone who has dealt with some of the difficult aspects of child rearing will be sympathetic, perhaps even to the extreme reactions here. Filled with twists and turns, and an unexpected resolution.
GtzLstNRding More than 1 year ago
Pyscological triller/murder mystery - this book has so many twitsts and turns it keeps you on the edge of your seat. Hang on to the ride with is one. This was the first Sofphie Hannah book I've read and it was worth the read. I'll have to check out some of her other books.
momto3MT More than 1 year ago
Actually I put it away after reading about a third of the book. There are a zillion characters but no character development. On top of that the author makes significant errors and confuses further by misnaming some of the characters. This was a very odd book, I would recommend it to no one, and if you must, get it from your library, DO NOT waste money buying this one!
Been_There_Done_That More than 1 year ago
I've read a lot of crime novels and am somewhat jaded. This book is quite refreshing. Totally unpredictable, even for the experienced crime novel/mystery thriller fan. Can't wait to read more of Sophie Hannah's books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book started out good, but got very confusing. I don't reccomend it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JustMyTwoCents More than 1 year ago
I think there may be a disconnect for me when it comes to understanding British suspense/mystery writing vs. American. This story and its premise started out very good, but then too many inconsequential characters kept getting added to the story line, making it very hard to follow. I did not understand why the police officers seemed constantly annoyed with one another. When a female character described a male character in complimentary terms, one of the officers had to resist the urge to hit her. I didn't understand what was going on in his head. I also did not understand the near constant ruminations many of them had about each other's sex lives. It had nothing to do with the story. And I still don't understand what led the police to start digging in the garden that led to a discovery of two bodies. Too much of this story just didn't make sense to me--and I think it may have been cultural. What started out as an interesting premise, ended up being very difficult to finish. I  ran into similar problems trying to understand Ruth Rendell mysteries--where the explanation for everyithing seems to be that the criminal was psychotic. Others may enjoy this, but it wasn't for me. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this book !
georgousIK More than 1 year ago
This book seemed to drag a bit. There were so many characters and story lines I didn't feel like I knew or cared about any of the characters. I did like the way most of the story lines came together at the end with an interesting plot twist.
JenQIPM More than 1 year ago
The book overall was good, but I thought it was a bit confusing and hard to follow.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago