×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Year of Disappearances (The Ethical Vampire Series, #2)
     

The Year of Disappearances (The Ethical Vampire Series, #2)

4.0 39
by Susan Hubbard
 

See All Formats & Editions

In the sequel to her acclaimed novel The Sanguinist's Daughter (formerly The Society of S), Susan Hubbard continues the adventures of Ariella Montero, who, in the midst of the ongoing presidential campaign, discovers that a leading contender for America's top political office just happens to be a vampire surrounded by the demons of lying,

Overview

In the sequel to her acclaimed novel The Sanguinist's Daughter (formerly The Society of S), Susan Hubbard continues the adventures of Ariella Montero, who, in the midst of the ongoing presidential campaign, discovers that a leading contender for America's top political office just happens to be a vampire surrounded by the demons of lying, cheating, and murder. The Year of Disappearances traces Ariella Montero's fourteenth year, during which she is accused of lying, cheating, and murder (twice). Her education continues, but instead of literature, science, and math, she learns folklore, the art and craft of journalism, and most important, the nature of personal demons. The book's themes involve masks and the duality of the self, the evil of hypocrisy, and the perpetual conflict between the desires of the flesh and those of the spirit. As Ari comes to question her own authenticity, listeners may begin to question her. Could the accusations against her be justified? Is she a reliable narrator? Or is someone else at work, telling us her story?

Susan Hubbard’s “smooth supernatural thriller” (Publishers Weekly) continues the most surprising vampire story you’ll ever read. New York Times bestselling author Charlaine Harris likens Hubbard’s “mysterious and well-written” novels to Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight saga, whose fans “pump new blood into Hubbard’s series” (Florida Today).  “Fans of Stephenie Meyer, I have a new author for you who is even better. meet Susan Hubbard,” proclaims the Poisoned Pen newsletter from the Poisoned Pen mystery bookstore.

Reviews

"Wonderful and suspenseful." -- Charlaine Harris, author of All Together Dead



"With a delicate touch, the talented Hubbard manages to merge environmental concerns with a murder mystery, a coming of age tale with a literary vampire twist." -- Tammar Stein, St. Petersburg Times

Product Details

BN ID:
2940152855197
Publisher:
Blue Garage Co.
Publication date:
12/20/2015
Series:
Ethical Vampire Series , #2
Sold by:
Draft2Digital
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
1,160,598
File size:
294 KB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Year of Disappearances 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
There is a secret society. They live in plain view. They seem very much like you and me. But, if you look very closely, you may notice that the person you're speaking to doesn't have a shadow.

There are vampires living amongst us. They are highly evolved; not at all like the vampires you've grown up with. They work and play in the daylight, they are friendly and educated, and a growing number of them have never tasted human blood and have no need for it.

Ariella Montero lives in the chasm between our two worlds. She is half-human, half-vampire and is struggling to find her place in both societies. She can read minds, hypnotize people, and make herself invisible. But can she establish real relationships in the human world and escape the dangers that threaten her in the vampire world?

Years ago Ari's best friend was murdered. Ari remembers the night. Her father was engaged in a battle with another man. And there was a fire.

Now, Ari is living a new life with her mother in Florida. But strange things are beginning to happen. It started when the honeybees began to die. Then Ari noticed a man in a van following her. A new friend was murdered and another friend disappeared. It is all too coincidental to ignore. Is Ari to blame or is she being preyed upon?

THE YEAR OF DISAPPEARANCES offers a unique concept of what it is like to be a vampire in modern society. It is a cleverly written story line that easily leaves the possibility for future books. Although this title follows THE SOCIETY OF S, it can easily stand alone. And, I can only hope that author Susan Hubbard decides to develop the story of Ari and her "kind" into a long-running series!
harstan More than 1 year ago
Teenage Ariella 'Ari' Montero is a half-breed vampire, who lives with her vampiric mother in Homosassa Springs, Florida which many vampires call home as they have their own shops, restaurants and other hangouts catering to the their needs. Ari is lonely as she has no friends so is elated to meet Autumn and Mysty. However, a van pulls up near where the three girls are walking together Ari senses evil from the driver whose eyes contain no pupils. When Mysty disappears, the police and the XBC suspect Ari as the last known person to have been with her.----------- To escape from the suspicious townsfolk, Ari goes to Hillhouse College in southern Georgia. A bored Autumn comes to visit her. When Ari and her classmates go on a field trip Autumn sneaks away to tour the campus. Ari and her classmates see a body in the swamp that turns out to be Autumn. She tells a powerful vampire leader that humans are taking pills that turn them into zombies like what happened to Mysty. Something must be done before vampire become the supreme species.------------ Even vampires are divided as to how they should relate to humans as some extremists believe mankind is cattle to their superior species using ruthless means to obtain easy sustenance. Politics and remorse are two lessons Ari receives at school, but she like her parents (her dad is a scientist) believes that peaceful co-existence between the species is possible and necessary. Although the heroine seems much more experienced than a young teen, vampire lovers will enjoy this cutting sequel to THE SOCIETY OF S.-------------- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Unreadable, poorly written, with a shallow plot and unlikable characters. A waste of money.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a vampire lover. Was confused in the beginning of the book. Realized there is a book before this one even though its not a series. Because of this, it was hard to understand the main character, who she was and what her background or how she became to be. The ending was also different. Have to look for the first book and see if it explains questions I have about the main character.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
to the The Society of S - I enjoyed both books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
breid6925 More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I had also read the first book, "The Society of S". The book left many unanswered questions which leaves me to believe/hope they author will write a 3rd book. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys vampire-fiction.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago