×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Yellow: Race in America Beyond Black and White
     

Yellow: Race in America Beyond Black and White

5.0 1
by Frank Wu
 

See All Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 046500640X

ISBN-13: 9780465006403

Pub. Date: 03/25/2003

Publisher: Basic Books


Writing in the tradition of W. E. B. Du Bois, Cornel West, and others who confronted the "color line" of the twentieth century, journalist, scholar, and activist Frank H. Wu offers a unique perspective on how changing ideas of racial identity will affect race relations in the twenty-first century. Wu examines affirmative action, globalization, immigration, and

Overview


Writing in the tradition of W. E. B. Du Bois, Cornel West, and others who confronted the "color line" of the twentieth century, journalist, scholar, and activist Frank H. Wu offers a unique perspective on how changing ideas of racial identity will affect race relations in the twenty-first century. Wu examines affirmative action, globalization, immigration, and other controversial contemporary issues through the lens of the Asian-American experience. Mixing personal anecdotes, legal cases, and journalistic reporting, Wu confronts damaging Asian-American stereotypes such as "the model minority" and "the perpetual foreigner." By offering new ways of thinking about race in American society, Wu's work dares us to make good on our great democratic experiment.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780465006403
Publisher:
Basic Books
Publication date:
03/25/2003
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
416
Sales rank:
291,682
Product dimensions:
5.25(w) x 8.00(h) x 1.00(d)

Table of Contents

1East Is East, East Is West: Asians as Americans1
2The Model Minority: Asian American "Success" as a Race Relations Failure39
3The Perpetual Foreigner: Yellow Peril in the Pacific Century79
4Neither Black Nor White: Affirmative Action and Asian Americans131
5True But Wrong: New Arguments Against New Discrimination173
6The Best "Chink" Food: Dog-Eating and the Dilemma of Diversity215
7The Changing Face of America: Intermarriage and the Mixed Race Movement261
8The Power of Coalitions: Why I Teach at Howard301
Epilogue: Deep Springs343
References349
Notes355
Acknowledgments383
Index385
About the Author399

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Yellow: Race in America Beyond Black and White 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A great book by a a widely-known legal scholar, teacher, author and attorney, who just becomes the first Asian-American Dean of the Wayne State University Law School at the age of 37. No matter how successful as doctors, we are forever foreigner, non-American, even we are the third-generation American who do not even know how to write or speak Chinese.