Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.



by Tim Davys

See All Formats & Editions

“When you’re tired of run-of-the-mill fiction, it’s time to read [Tim Davys].”
—Brad Meltzer, author of The Book of Lies

“A world that's violent, tender, hilarious, and downright sickening. Really, what could be better?”
—Eric Garcia, author of Anonymous Rex

Tim Davys is one of the most


“When you’re tired of run-of-the-mill fiction, it’s time to read [Tim Davys].”
—Brad Meltzer, author of The Book of Lies

“A world that's violent, tender, hilarious, and downright sickening. Really, what could be better?”
—Eric Garcia, author of Anonymous Rex

Tim Davys is one of the most uniquely imaginative novelists writing today—the architect of Mollisan Town, a dark urban nightmare located in an alternate world populated by stuffed animals that lie, cheat, dream, despair, love, and kill. In the final installment in his acclaimed Mollisan Town Quartet, Davys leads us into Yok, a district of dashed hopes and broken dreams—the seediest neighborhood of “a unique place that is both strange and familiar” (Boston Globe)—and employs an engaging cast of damaged animate plush toys to explore provocative questions of life, death, and morality. Yok is nourishment for readers hungry for off-beat, literary fiction, and fans of Christopher Moore, Neil Gaiman, Clifford Chase, and Jasper Fforde will be inexorably drawn into Davys’ ingeniously sculpted world.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Fabulist Davys concludes the Mollisan Town quartet that began with 2007’s Amberville with four long stories that reflect familiar fairy tales or fables as seen through the fun-house prism of the author’s imagination. Mollisan Town, a place with all the faults and divisions of a modern city, is inhabited solely by living stuffed animals that have the same strivings as humans. In “Sors,” Dragon Aguado Molina gives Fox Antonio Ortega, handsome but not very bright, three nearly impossible tasks he must perform to win the hand of his daughter, Beatrice Cockatoo. In “Pertiny,” Eric Gecko lives a life of drudgery and abuse supporting his older brothers, Leopold Leopard and Rasmus Panther, until he unexpectedly gets a chance to win the prize they covet the most. In “Corbod,” Mike Chimpanzee finds rock and roll fame and fortune fleeting, yet when he uncorks a genie, he finds it impossible to formulate three wishes. In “Mindie,” Vincent Hare seeks the meaning of life and has a race with Diego Tortoise. Davys imbues his stuffed animal world with a dark edge that eschews happily ever after endings. Agent: Susanna Einstein, Einstein Thompson. (Aug.)
Boston Globe
Yok feels both clever and genuinely moving... A delicious read.”
Library Journal
The fourth book in the "Mollisan Town Quartet" (after Amberville, Lanceheim, and Torquai), this entry is made up of four stories set in the area named Yok. Each story offers a singular reading experience, delving into a different aspect of the conundrum called life. Fox Antonio Ortega is ruined by love, Erik Gecko runs away from success, rock star Mike Chimpanzee is imprisoned by freedom, and Vincent Hare is crushed by ambition. The writing is exquisite. These characters are all literal stuffed animals, though they are otherwise human in every other way, having all the normal human functions. This absurdist reverse anthropomorphism creates a weird sense of real unreality that is quite compelling. These stuffed animals are people stuck in fabric bodies. They are just like us but not. They can die at any time, either by accident or when the enigmatic "Chauffeurs" come to take them away. VERDICT An intense tragicomic examination of the problems of living: Watership Down meets Rabbit, Run. Highly recommended.—Henry Bankhead, Los Gatos P.L., CA
Kirkus Reviews
From the mysterious Swede behind the pseudonym Davys, a lively fourth book of sophisticated Aesopian fables set in a city much like those of the modern West, except for the fact that it's populated by walking, talking stuffed animals. Like its predecessors, the final volume of the Mollisan Town quartet (it began in 2007 with Amberville, followed by Lanceheim and Tourquai) is set in a specific district, in this case the seedy, down-at-the-heels Yok. The book consists of four long stories. In "Sors," the brutish restaurateur/racketeer Dragon Aguado Molina throws barriers in the way of the dashing but dim Fox Antonio Ortega, who, hopelessly smitten, seeks the hand of the dragon's daughter, Beatrice Cockatoo. In "Pertiny," long-suffering Erik Gecko, brewery worker and abused younger brother, tries to help his siblings and tormentors, Leopold Leopard and Rasmus Panther, chase their dream of TV-newsreader stardom--and gropes toward finding a way out for himself. "Corbod" features a dissatisfied rock guitarist, Mike Chimpanzee, and a genie who enjoins him to come up with three wishes. While Mike struggles to come up with suitably nonmaterialistic items, the two ("Cloud" and "Mr. Rock Star Ape," as they refer to each other) bicker. The entertaining "Mindie," told in overlapping documents and testimonies, features Vincent Hare, a brooding self-styled philosopher who's achingly aware that time is always slipping away: "I'm in a bit of a hurry," he says again and again. Davys makes ingenious use both of traditional folktales and of his conceit, and the book is charming, but at times it does feel a bit like a grab bag. An intriguing mix of fable, philosophy and witty fun.

Product Details

HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
Sales rank:
Product dimensions:
5.80(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.40(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Tim Davys is a pseudonym. He is the author of Amberville, Lanceheim, and Tourquai, the first three books in the Mollisan Town quartet. He lives in Sweden.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews