Young Master Darcy

( 3 )

Overview

It is Christmas, 1797, and thirteen year-old Master Fitzwilliam Darcy is returning from his first term at Eton in full anticipation of the holidays. Soon, he and his family will leave their fashionable London home for Pemberley, their Derbyshire estate, to prepare for the arrival of his irrepressible cousin Richard and the rest of his Matlock relations. But when Darcy arrives in London, he learns that his mother is ill. Her doctor's prognosis is dire--Lady Anne cannot survive another year! As Christmas ...
See more details below
Paperback
$11.61
BN.com price
(Save 7%)$12.50 List Price
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (11) from $6.61   
  • New (5) from $11.26   
  • Used (6) from $6.61   
Sending request ...

Overview

It is Christmas, 1797, and thirteen year-old Master Fitzwilliam Darcy is returning from his first term at Eton in full anticipation of the holidays. Soon, he and his family will leave their fashionable London home for Pemberley, their Derbyshire estate, to prepare for the arrival of his irrepressible cousin Richard and the rest of his Matlock relations. But when Darcy arrives in London, he learns that his mother is ill. Her doctor's prognosis is dire--Lady Anne cannot survive another year! As Christmas approaches, Darcy is torn between his parents' struggles to carry on and the attraction of an unusual company of players in Lambton for the holidays. With the arrival of Richard and his family, he must try to satisfy the expectations of all and, in doing so, learn what it means to be a Darcy.

Pamela Aidan has created a touching coming-of-age novella based on characters from Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. A Lesson In Honour explores love, duty, and family honour--principles that a young Fitzwilliam Darcy learns from both of his parents as they confront a family crisis--as well as a lesson derived from youthful indiscretion and adolescent romance that helps defiine the man Elizabeth Bennet will encounter at the Meryton assembly many years later.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780983103103
  • Publisher: Wytherngate Press
  • Publication date: 12/1/2010
  • Pages: 122
  • Sales rank: 635,668
  • Product dimensions: 5.50 (w) x 8.50 (h) x 0.29 (d)

Meet the Author

Pamela Aidan grew up in small towns outside of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. She graduated from high school with the desire to be a history teacher, but changed her major to Library Science after her first year at college. Later, she earned a Masters in Library and Information Science from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and has worked as a librarian in a wide variety of settings for over thirty years. She is also the director of Liberty Lake Municipal Library in eastern Washington, a short distance from her home in Idaho. She and her husband have six children and, so far, six grandchildren.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    A MUST-READ for fans of Pamela Aidan's Fitwilliam Darcy, Gentleman books!

    This story is a quick read and very well written. As always, Ms. Aidan has captured the language of Austen beautifully. The plot takes place over a couple of weeks in December, during Darcy's Christmas break from Eton. Upon his arrival at his London home, Darcy is informed that his mother is terminally ill. The news is, of course, shocking for Darcy, but he promises both his father and mother that he will shoulder the burden as a man. Darcy's mother desires that no fuss is made of her illness, and that Christmas be celebrated at Pemberley, along with their Matlock relations, as it has always been. So, the Darcys set off for Pemberley, and Darcy begins preparing for the arrival of his cousins, Richard and D'Arcy. Though Darcy works to deal manfully with his mother's illness, he finds he needs a diversion, and while riding his horse near Lambton one day, he comes across a group of children practicing for a mummer's play. He gives a false name and takes on a lower-class accent to join in with the children. He is soon given a part in the play, which is to take place at the same time the Darcys are to be in church on Christmas Eve. -- For those of you who have read FD, Gentleman - Duty and Desire, you will already know what happens when young Richard helps young Darcy to sneak away from the family pew that night! The story is full of great foreshadowing to the events of Pride and Prejudice (particularly to Darcy's proud behavior); for those who have read the FD, Gentleman trilogy, the foreshadowing is even more pronounced. There are several "aha" moments that let you enjoy the irony of knowing what is in store for Darcy in the future. In addition to all this, there is the amusement of witnessing Darcy and Richard (as well as D'Arcy and Wickham ) as lads! Their antics will bring a smile to your face, if not a laugh or two!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Delightful!

    This is a wonderfully delightful tale of young Darcy's last Christmas with his mother. If you have read Aidan's "Fitzwilliam Darcy Gentleman" trilogy then some of the events that take place are hinted at in the trilogy but now are flushed out for your enjoyment. This is a short story that is filled with youth and young innocence. Very delightful to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)