The Yummy Mummy

( 6 )

Overview

In the tradition of Little Earthquakes, Babyville and I Don't Know How She Does It: the effervescent, canny, and downright delightful debut of Polly Williams, a spirited new voice in women's fiction.

Amy Crane's daughter, the exquisite and sweet-tempered Evie, is six months old. any Amy -- who's trying to decide whether to resume her high-pressure job in PR -- adores her. But these days, Amy doesn't exactly adore herself.

Even worse, the whole ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (36) from $1.99   
  • New (4) from $7.84   
  • Used (32) from $1.99   
Sending request ...

Overview

In the tradition of Little Earthquakes, Babyville and I Don't Know How She Does It: the effervescent, canny, and downright delightful debut of Polly Williams, a spirited new voice in women's fiction.

Amy Crane's daughter, the exquisite and sweet-tempered Evie, is six months old. any Amy -- who's trying to decide whether to resume her high-pressure job in PR -- adores her. But these days, Amy doesn't exactly adore herself.

Even worse, the whole time she's feeling invisible and about as attractive as a barnyard animal, Amy suspects that Evie's father, Joe, is having an affair. Then Amy meets Alice, who seems to have this mommy thing down: She's single-girl-slender, for one thing, with groomed eyebrows, a smooth forehead, and killer clothes. Plus she has a sex life. In short, she's a Yummy Mummy, one of a new breed who manage to make motherhood look positively sexy. Under Alice's tutelage, Amy discovers that she's got some yumminess of her own. Joe takes notice, as does her handsome Pilates instructor. But once Amy's libido awakens from its extended slumber, a whole new set of problems develops.

Filled with acute perceptions of the challenges faced by new moms, as well as the uniquely terrifying landscape of new motherhood, The Yummy Mummy is as endearing -- and as refreshing -- as a baby who sleeps through the night.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

Rosalyn Landor's musical, upper-middle-class British accent is a pleasure to listen to. Her expressive voice is perfect for the first-person narration of Amy Crane, a new mother facing the stress of sleepless nights and dirty diapers; the low self-esteem of weight gain and fear that her significant other is cheating on her; and the conflict of whether to return to work. Landor perfectly captures Amy's anxiety, self-denigration, hope and excitement at every turn. She also clearly differentiates between the character's voices and easily portrays an American friend of Amy's and a West Indian suitor of Amy's mother. This is a mommy lit novel that translates seamlessly to the audio medium. Simultaneous release with the Hyperion hardcover (Reviews, Oct. 16). (Jan.)

Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information
Publishers Weekly
London-based journalist Williams writes for In Style, and her debut novel features flawlessly chic celebrity moms who go deep into Gwennie-and-Apple competitive territory. Thirty-one-year-old Amy Crane, six months postpartum, is stuck between two groups of mommy friends. On one side are the women from her childbirth class, dedicated mothers whose chubby figures and comfy clothes declare, "We now put someone else's needs before our vanity." On the other side is Amy's new friend Alice, a so-called "yummy mummy," who, with her similarly slim and elegant West London friends, takes Amy on as her newest project. Soon, Amy is caught up in a whirlwind of designer shoes, fad diets, Pilates classes (complete with a troublingly handsome instructor) and Botox injections, all of which alienate Joe, her longtime boyfriend and the father of her daughter. Amy's misadventures are, for the most part, endearing, and her comic attempts to regain her pre-pregnancy lifestyle stay just this side of satire. Williams weighs in on nearly every maternal controversy (from extended breastfeeding to the return to paid employment), further prolonging Amy's inevitable decision as to the kind of mummy she wants to be. Fortunately, Williams's wit and Amy's appealing foibles will make readers stick around for her occasionally laborious journey. (Jan.) Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.
Library Journal
Amy Crane, a former public relations professional, finds herself knocked out of orbit by motherhood; she adores her six-month-old daughter, Evie, but feels that she's lost her old self-she's not working, not looking well kempt, and has no sex life to speak of. Adding insult to injury, Amy suspects that her boyfriend (and Evie's father), Joe, has been having an affair. When her new friend, Alice, a sexy, stylish single mother, coaches Amy on how she can be "yummy," too-new clothes, hair, makeup, and attitude-both Amy's boyfriend and her Pilates instructor notice, with unexpected results. Journalist Williams' debut novel, which attempts a witty and conspiratorial look at the pressures and insecurities of new motherhood, has a lukewarm beginning that pleasingly develops into a strong finish, leaning heavily on the "things are not always what they seem" theme. Gossipy and intimate, Amy's narrative is flush with self-deprecating humor, label name-dropping, and characters embodying all manner of modern motherhood. Recommended for larger public libraries or those where the "mom lit" trend is popular. [This book was a best seller in Britain.-Ed.]-Amy Brozio-Andrews, Albany P.L., NY Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.
Kirkus Reviews
PR executive muddles her way through maternity leave. Amy Crane used to be a take-charge kind of woman. She managed coveted accounts from her desk at a swank British public-relations agency and had steamy sex with her boyfriend, Joe. One wild night sans birth control changes everything. Now Amy's got a new boss: her infant daughter Evie. And Evie is a demanding mistress. In an all-too-familiar plot development, poor sleep-deprived Amy can't seem to get the hang of motherhood. She is sinking into the abyss of maternity leave, and her sex life is nonexistent. Joe's mysterious behavior serves to exacerbate Amy's delusions of inadequacy. She's convinced that Joe's getting action elsewhere, and she longs to get a grip on her out-of-control life. Amy's crew of mom-friends from her childbirth class can't provide any help-they've all resigned themselves to wearing matronly clothes and devoting their lives to their offspring. Amy can't accept this lifestyle, and soon she connects with Alice, a yummy mummy. Alice has lost all her baby weight, has perfectly groomed eyebrows and gets plenty of sexual attention from men. Always one for a shopping spree and makeover project, Alice takes on "Project Amy" and sets about transforming her from a wallflower into a Victoria Beckham-style mom. Once Project Amy is underway, Joe becomes distraught, claiming he wants his familiar girlfriend back. As Amy experiences a sexual reawakening, jealousy rears its head. If Joe and Amy can't stop bickering and start communicating, their family could disintegrate. Williams, a journalist living in London, takes on many conventional themes in her first stab at fiction. Though there are some clever and endearing momentsbetween mother and child, the bulk of the book is as appealing as reheated leftovers. Others have handled the "new mommy" story more capably. Agent: Kim Witherspoon/InkWell Management
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781401302313
  • Publisher: Hyperion
  • Publication date: 1/2/2007
  • Pages: 384
  • Product dimensions: 6.50 (w) x 9.62 (h) x 1.25 (d)

Meet the Author

Polly Williams is a journalist who writes for In Style, Marie Claire, and The Sunday Times, as well as other publications. She lives in London with her husband and son, and is expecting another baby this summer.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 6 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 6 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    I could not put this book down! I love the short chapters and th

    I could not put this book down! I love the short chapters and the embarassing things that Amy gets herself into. A 'young mom' must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Funny

    I enjoyed this book. It was funny and the plot was fun. My only complaint was that it was just too wordy. It would have had a better flow if there were less words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)