Zin! Zin! Zin! A Violin

Zin! Zin! Zin! A Violin

4.8 11
by Lloyd Moss, Marjorie Priceman
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

In this combination counting book and spirited tribute to classical music, the clever, rhythmic verse echoes the sounds that the various instruments in the orchestra create, from the mournful trombone to the swinging trumpet to the sharp violin. Full color.

Overview

In this combination counting book and spirited tribute to classical music, the clever, rhythmic verse echoes the sounds that the various instruments in the orchestra create, from the mournful trombone to the swinging trumpet to the sharp violin. Full color.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Fans of Stellaluna, Cannon's exceptional debut book, will approach her second with high expectationsand those will be met. Carefully crafted prose and stunning art shape a story that delicately spans the fictional and real, at the same time delivering a message worthy of reflection. Curious about what lies beyond his Family Cave, Trupp, a cat-like creature with snow-white fur and ice-blue eyes, walks for days until he approaches "people-dwellings." The peace-loving Fuzzhead borrows clothing from a scarecrow so humans won't notice his odd appearance and, accompanied by a raven, heads for a city. No one on the bustling streets pays any attention to Trupp until he meets a homeless woman named Bernice, who removes a piece of broken glass from his foot and takes him to a safer part of town. Equally affecting as her text, Cannon's poignantly detailed acrylic and pencil art underscores the contrasts between Trupp's primitive homeland and the gritty, graffiti-scarred city; and between his ethereal presence and the eccentric, gaudy appearance of Bernice, who keeps half a dozen toothbrushes tucked into her woolen cap. As the new friends settle down to sleep in the park, Bernice's wise words expose the heart of the story: "Funny, isn't it? I wear all this bright stuff to keep from feeling invisible. When people stare at me, it helps me know I'm here. But Trupp puts on clothes so he will disappear." Cannon says so much so simply. Ages 4-8. (Apr.)
Children's Literature - Dr. Judy Rowen
Lilting, rhyming text arcs across each page of brilliantly hued illustrations. This book is deceptively simple; it covers a quick introduction to musical instruments, serves as a counting book, and also teaches the words for groups of musicians (duo through nonet). The author's ear for music is evident in his crisp rhyme and meter; the poetry is never forced but always fun. The drawings are reminiscent of the New Yorker magazine. A Caldecott Honor book.
Children's Literature - Jan Lieberman
An upbeat, rhythmical introduction to the instruments of the orchestra. Beginning with the trombone alone, each instrument is presented in rhyme. Add one more, it's a duo, a trio next, a quartet, until there is a chamber group of 10. The sounds of the orchestra are poetically described: "The strings all soar/ the reeds implore/ the brasses roar with notes galore/ It's music that we all adore..." Illustrations swing and sway with a jaunty array of musicians and instruments.
School Library Journal
K-Gr 5-Layout, design, illustrations, and descriptive verses blend in perfect harmony to give voice to the unique sounds of 10 orchestral instruments. Readers meet the ``Fine FRENCH HORN, its valves all oiled/Bright and brassy, loops all coiled,'' and the ``FLUTE that sends our soul a-shiver;/ FLUTE, that slender, silver sliver.'' One by one as the numbers progress from ONE TROMBONE playing SOLO all the way up to ``A CHAMBER GROUP of TEN,'' the excitement, motion, and sounds increase. Priceman's amusing watercolors present an inspired assortment of characters who pose, prance, and float across the page and stage, their seeming wildness giving form to each instrument's function, as their exaggerated features and elongated limbs give them a sophisticated wit and elegant air. The rich, swirling background colors change with each double-page spread. As the numbers of players grow, the proscenium and curtain become more and more of a presence until viewers find themselves facing the concert group, and then onstage behind the musicians, who are facing the audience, taking a bow. A delight for music classes as well as a great introduction to the concert hall, this title will surely be met with applause.-Jane Marino, Scarsdale Public Library, NY
From the Publisher
"A book from which music issues forth as clearly as from any music box."

New York Times Book Review

"A delight...this title will surely be met with applause."

School Library Journal, starred review

A Caldecott Honor Book

An American Library Association Notable Children's Book

A School Library Journal Best Book

A New York Times Best Illustrated Book

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781416908388
Publisher:
Aladdin
Publication date:
10/01/2005
Series:
Stories to Go! Series
Pages:
32
Product dimensions:
2.60(w) x 8.10(h) x 0.10(d)
Age Range:
4 - 8 Years

Meet the Author

Lloyd Moss, the classical music guru of WQXR, has a long list of TV and film appearances and voice-overs to his credit. He lives in Croton-on-Hudson, New York.

Marjorie Priceman, illustrator of many acclaimed picture books, has won Caldecott Honors for her illustrations in Zin! Zin! Zin! A Violin! by Lloyd Moss and Hot Air: The (Mostly) True Story of the Frist Hot-Air Balloon Ride, which she also wrote. She lives in Lewisburg, Pennsylvania.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Zin! Zin! Zin! A Violin 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book keeps my almost-2 year old entertained for hours. He's already learned the names of 3 instruments. The artwork is fabulous.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It was a really great book that I enjoyed reading to my friends and family. I loved the flowing words and expressions in the book. The pictures were great and so were the colors. It really was a terrific way to learn numbers and musical instruments.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My son and I love this book! The illustrations are colorful and whimsical, and the text is cleverly written. Being a classical musician, I know I will give this book frequently as a gift--it is enjoyable for all ages!
reececo331 More than 1 year ago
Zin! Zin! Zin! A Violin by Lloyd Moss, Marjorie Priceman (Illustrations) used in teaching onomatopoeia and words that make sounds , a music text book to teach about signs of music
psycheKK More than 1 year ago
I love saying "Zin! Zin! Zin! a Violin", so, of course, I love reading this book. Even if that particular phrase does not amuse you, there is still much to love about this book. It is a counting poem about musical instrument -- that should appeal to math-lovers, poetry-lovers and music-lovers. If you still aren't sold on this book, check out the frenetic and jazzy illustrations. Not only are they multi-national, they are multi-animaled. Pretty much, this book has universal appeal, and, as it is a Caldecott Honor Book, I am not alone in that assessment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I PURCHASED THIS FOR MY GRANDSON WHO IS 3YRS. OLD. IT IS A FAVORITE OF OURS. WE BOTH ENJOY THIS BOOK!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We started reading "Zin Zin" when my son was about 2 1/2 and at 5 he still asks to read this one regularly. I never tire of it's skillfully crafted verse - it's a favorite!
alisonmidkiff More than 1 year ago
I love how all of the instruments are described in such detail and how Moss gives all the instruments almost their own personalities. I also like how he compares the instruments and tells of how they are alike and then also tells of their differences. He also incorporates numbers into the book as each instrument is added. Until he reaches "a chamber group of ten." The text is also presented in a very elegant like rhyme and it is just a fun book to read aloud. Children will love the bright illustrations and enjoy the whimsical text and pictures!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great book to introduce your child to numbers and musical instruments. Scholastic also has this on certain DVD's or Insight Cable on Demand sometimes, with Marvin Hamlisch having done the arrangement. It's awesome!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I like the colors. I wonder how they painted it. It's a book about people playing music and the words sound like music. They are such pretty people.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a delightful story with beautiful illustrations. The story is a great way to introduce musical terms and instruments into a child's life. A book that will be worth reading over and over again.