Zits: Chillax by Jerry Scott, Jim Borgman | | NOOK Book (eBook) | Barnes & Noble
Zits: Chillax

Zits: Chillax

3.6 3
by Jerry Scott, Jim Borgman
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Zits jumps from the comics page to the bookshelf, and Zits: Chillax is perfect for fans of James Patterson's Homeroom Diaries as well as the Zits comic strip!

Jeremy Duncan, future rock god, is going to his first real rock concert (Gingivitis rules!) without his parents (hallelujah!) and with a mission in mind. It'll be an epic night he'll

Overview

Zits jumps from the comics page to the bookshelf, and Zits: Chillax is perfect for fans of James Patterson's Homeroom Diaries as well as the Zits comic strip!

Jeremy Duncan, future rock god, is going to his first real rock concert (Gingivitis rules!) without his parents (hallelujah!) and with a mission in mind. It'll be an epic night he'll never forget.

Comics genius Stan Lee calls Zits "a comedic masterpiece."

Featuring black-and-white illustrations on every page, Zits: Chillax is based on the hit syndicated comic strip.

Editorial Reviews

Stan Lee
“Zits is a comedic masterpiece!”
Lincoln Peirce
“Zits is plugged in and ready to rock!”
Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
“This is crazy fun all around, with just the right degree of seriousness to anchor the levity.Fans of Zits can rejoice in this new direction.”
School Library Journal
Gr 6–9—Chillax shares the humor and heart of the popular comic strip. An engaging and fast read, the book is chock-full of the black-and-white illustrations that "Zits" enthusiasts love. Readers follow Jeremy to his very first rock concert and watch him figure out how to deal with the illness of a friend's mom, all while learning how to communicate with his girlfriend. Throughout the story, even in the more serious parts, hilarious high jinks ensue, and readers will get a kick out of Jeremy's exaggerated teenage antics, including a bedroom so messy that he does not know where his bed is, and a van that can only be started with a smelly retainer (the wires are just the right length). Although the characters drive and attend concerts, the book will appeal to a younger audience as the treatment of the more mature themes may be too shallow for older teens. Reluctant readers of all ages, however, will enjoy the book, and it's a great recommendation for kids who have graduated from "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" (Abrams) and are looking for something similar, if a bit more mature.—Sharon McKellar, Oakland Public Library, CA
Kirkus Reviews
A hybrid graphic-and-prose novel starring Jeremy Duncan from the author and illustrator's comic strip Zits covers well-trodden ground with charm and humor. Jeremy and his good friend Hector have scored tickets to see rock gods Gingivitis in concert. Just one problem: Neither one has permission from his parents. And one more problem: Jeremy and Hector's band mate Tim's mom (aka T-Mom) has been diagnosed with cancer, and Tim will be spending the night of the concert donating bone marrow. Can Jeremy and Hector make it to the concert and bring back something meaningful for their pal Tim? Black-and-white cartoon-style drawings are interwoven seamlessly with the text. Sometimes the drawings illustrate events described in the prose, and other times action and dialogue unfold within comics panels. There's nothing groundbreaking in the narrative's frequent comic observations: Rock stars are eccentric; guys don't talk about their feelings (though maybe they should). Nevertheless, the laid-back, stand-up-comedy–esque tone is good for plenty of chuckles ("Here's a free tip: Hollering ‘Dude!' at a rock concert is about as specific as hollering ‘Mom!' at a water aerobics class"), and the resolution is warm while retaining a humorous edge. Well-executed, clean fun with a heart. (Graphic-and-prose fiction. 12 & up)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062228529
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
05/21/2013
Series:
Zits , #1
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
256
Sales rank:
357,322
File size:
10 MB
Age Range:
13 - 8 Years

Meet the Author

Jerry Scott has been a professional cartoonist (aka getting paid to do a comic strip) for almost thirty years, and has been the corecipient of the National Cartoonists Society's Best Comic Strip of the Year honor four times. Sweet! In 1997 (the nineties rock!), and along with the artistic genius of Jim Borgman, Zits the comic strip was born. Jerry is a total overachiever, the recipient of many prestigious awards, which are too numerous and we're too lazy to list—just trust us, he's awesome. He's currently livin' the dream in California with his family.


Jim Borgman has been a cartoonist since kindergarten. An overachiever like Jerry, he has been voted the Best Editorial Cartoonist in America five times (whoa!), been the corecipient (with Jerry) of the Best Comic Strip of the Year Award three times, and he's won most of the top cartooning awards ever presented. Jim's cartoons have hung in some pretty serious places, like the Smithsonian, the National Archives, and various presidential libraries—and above the president of the United States' personal toilet (okay, that one's pretty cool). Jim lives in Colorado with his family.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Zits: Chillax 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you love the strip, you'll love the book. Same great humor and a quick read -- would be perfect to lure any teenagers in to reading on their summer vacations, but just as fun for adults who like comics and illustrated novels.
Anonymous 17 days ago
This_Kid_Reviews_Books More than 1 year ago
Jeremy felt helpless that his friend(Tim)’s mom got cancer. Jeremy and his friends were finally going to get to go to an epic rock concert without any parents (the band they want to see is called Gingivitis) but Tim is donating bone marrow for his mom on that night. Jeremy and his best friends Hector, Pierce, Sara (Jeremy’s girlfriend) and Dijon (Sara’s BFF) try to figure out how to help Tim. Sara and Dijon decide to go with Tim to the hospital when he donated the marrow, Pierce shaves his head in support, Jeremy and Hector hatch a plan of their own to try to help out. When I first got this book, I was thinking it would be a compilation (that’s my new word for today – thank you Mr. Thesaurus :) ) of Zits comic strips. I love reading Zits in the newspaper! This isn’t a bunch of comics, it’s a middle grade novel! Very cool. The novel has a bunch of great black and white illustrations throughout it. I think that Mr. Scott and Mr. Borgman did a great job changing their comic strip into an MG book. I also liked that besides lots of comic strip humor, the book had a story. It tells about how Jeremy has to deal with his girlfriend and how he wants to get to the rock concert but it also has the serious part to the plot about his friend’s mom having cancer. It made the story believable for me. It is kind of like real life. I also liked that I learned more about the characters in the Zits comic than I get just reading the strip. *NOTE* I got a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Waste of money, don't bother ordering. Obviously they've run out of ideas.