Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
About the Writer
* Biography
* Good to Know
Meet the Writers

Image of 
									William F. Buckley, Jr.William F. Buckley, Jr.
Known for his brilliant mind, rapier wit, and formidable vocabulary, William F. Buckley, Jr. was one of the 20th century's most articulate conservative thinkers and writers.

* Read the biography

Fact File

William F. Buckley, Jr.
Current Home:
New York City and Connecticut
Date of Birth:
November 24, 1925
Place of Birth:
New York, New York
Date of Death:
February 27, 2008
Place of Death:
Stamford, Connecticut
B.S., Yale University, 1950
Emmy Award for Outstanding Achievement, 1969; The American Book Award for Best Mystery (paperback) for Stained Glass, 1980; Presidential Medal of Freedom, 1991

Buckley's Latest

Selected Works

Book Cover Image. Title: 
								Rake, Author: 
								William F. Buckley,  Jr..

Our Price:  $ 24.95

by William F. Buckley, Jr.
Handsome, charismatic 1992 Democratic presidential candidate Ruben Castle is a former antiwar protester who now tacks to the center and is adept at taking both sides of an issue. He's also an inveterate womanizer with a scandal in his closet: a secret marriage to college sweetheart Henrietta, which he didn't bother terminating before wedding boozy ex-Miss America Priscilla, and which produced a son who now returns to haunt him.
Book Cover Image. Title: 
								Elvis in the Morning, Author: 
								William F. Buckley,  Jr..
*  Dialogues in Americanism (1964)
*  God and Man at Yale (1977)
*  Stained Glass (1979)
*  Gratitude: Reflections on What We Owe to Our Country (1990)
*  Nearer, My God: An Autobiography of Faith (1997)
*  Elvis in the Morning (2001)
*  Getting It Right (2003)
*  Last Call for Blackford Oakes (2005)
*  Rake (2007)

*  See the William F. Buckley, Jr. chronology

More Blackford Oakes Novels

Book Cover Image. Title: 
								Stained Glass, Author: 
								William F. Buckley,  Jr..

Our Price: $ 10.95

Stained Glass
by William F. Buckley, Jr.
Buckley won the American Book Award for Best Mystery for Stained Glass -- one in a series of bestselling novels starring the intrepid Blackford Oakes. More adventures from the series include:

*  Brothers No More    by William F. Buckley, Jr.
*  Saving the Queen   by William F. Buckley, Jr.
*  See You Later, Alligator    by William F. Buckley, Jr.
*  Tucker's Last Stand    by William F. Buckley, Jr.