Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
About the Writer
* Biography
In Our Other Stores
*Signed First Editions by Robert Jordan
If You Like Robert Jordan
You'll Like...
*Terry Brooks
*J.R.R. Tolkien
*Isaac Asimov's Foundation series
Meet the Writers

Image of 
									Robert JordanRobert Jordan
A Vietnam veteran who got his start in fantasy by extending the popular Conan the Barbarian series, Robert Jordan introduced a series of his own in 1990 and became a cult favorite. The Wheel of Time saga casts an epic struggle against evil in a complex, compelling world that keeps bringing readers back.

* Read the biography

Fact File

Robert Jordan
Also Known As:
James Oliver Rigney Jr. (real name)
Current Home:
Charleston, South Carolina, in a house built in 1797
Date of Birth:
October 17, 1948
Place of Birth:
Charleston, South Carolina
B.S. in physics, The Citadel, 1974

*  Robert Jordan's official web site

Jordan's Latest Wheel of Time Volume!

The Wheel of Time Series

Book Cover Image. Title: 
								Knife of Dreams, Author: 
								Robert Jordan.

Our Price:  $ 28.88
You Save:  3%

Knife of Dreams
by Robert Jordan
Jordan's fans have been waiting eagerly for this 11th installment in the Wheel of Time series. Though his legions of loyal readers might disagree, Jordan told, "I'm not a guru or a sage. I'm a storyteller."

*  Read an excerpt
Book Cover Image. Title: 
								Winter's Heart, Author: 
								Robert Jordan.
*  Eye of the World (1990)
*  The Great Hunt (1990)
*  Dragon Reborn (1992)
*  Shadow Rising (1992)
*  Fires of Heaven (1993)
*  Lord of Chaos (1994)
*  The Path of Daggers (1998)
*  Winter's Heart (2000)
*  Crossroads of Twilight (2002)
*  New Spring (2003)
*  Knife of Dreams (2005)

*  See the Robert Jordan chronology

The Best Book to Read First

Book Cover Image. Title: 
								The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time Series #1), Author: 
								Robert Jordan.

Our Price: $ 5.87
You Save:  26%

The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time Series #1)
by Robert Jordan
Jordan's addictive, sprawling series begins here. The hero, Rand, is a simple sheepherder who is ultimately led on a quest that brings him encounters with a cast of unforgettable characters. It's hard to explain it all -- you just have to start reading.

The Conan Series

Jordan's Other Names

Book Cover Image. Title: 
								Further Chronicles of Conan, Author: 
								Robert Jordan.

Our Price:  $ 16.95

Further Chronicles of Conan
by Robert Jordan
During the 1980s, Jordan wrote several novels for the popular Conan the Barbarian series created by Robert E. Howard in the 1930s. This new series offers his three most popular Conan chronicles, available in one volume for the first time: "Conan the Magnificent, Conan the Triumphant, " and "Conan the Victorious."

Book Cover Image. Title: 
								Cheyenne Raiders, Author: 
								Robert Jordan, Jackson  O'Reilly.

Our Price:  $ 13.36
You Save:  10%

Cheyenne Raiders
by Robert Jordan, Jackson O'Reilly
Hard-core Jordan fans may be interested in his simpler but similarly dramatic efforts in other genres, namely this western (written as Jackson O'Reilly) and the three historical Fallon novels (as Reagan O'Neal), based in the early-19th-century American South.

*Find books in the Fallon series
Photo by John Petter Reinertsen, Samfoto AS