Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
About the Writer
* Biography
* Interview
* Good to Know
In Our Other Stores
*Signed First Editions by W.E.B. Griffin
If You Like W.E.B. Griffin
You'll Like...
*Tom Clancy
*Nelson DeMille
*Dale Brown
*Jack Higgins
Meet the Writers

Image of 
									W.E.B. GriffinW.E.B. Griffin
Fellow bestselling author Tom Clancy is right on target when he describes W.E.B. Griffin -- world renowned for his military and police novels filled with vivid detail and dead-on accuracy -- as "a storyteller in the grand tradition, probably the best man around for describing the military community."

* Read the biography

Fact File

W.E.B. Griffin
Also Known As:
William Edmund Butterworth III (real name); Alex Baldwin, Webb Beech, Walter E. Blake, Jack Dugan, John Kevin Dugan, Eden Hughes, James McDouglas, Allison Mitchell, Edmund O. Scholefield, Blakely St. James, Patrick J. Williams
Current Home:
Coppell, Texas
Date of Birth:
November 10, 1929
Place of Birth:
Newark, New Jersey
Alabama Library Association, Alabama Author's Award, 1982

Griffin's Latest

Selected Works: The Corps Series

Book Cover Image. Title: 
								The Double Agents, Author: 
								W. E. B. Griffin, William E. Butterworth IV.

Our Price:  $ 23.48
You Save:  9%

The Double Agents
by W. E. B. Griffin, William E. Butterworth IV
W. E. B. Griffin's iconoclastic OSS heroes face a historic challenge in the brand-new volume of the New York Times-bestselling series.
Book Cover Image. Title: 
								The Corps Book IX: Under Fire, Author: 
								W.E.B. Griffin.
*  The Corps Book I: Semper Fi (1986)
*  The Corps Book II: Call to Arms (1987)
*  The Corps Book III: Counterattack (1990)
*  The Corps Book IV: Battleground (1991)
*  The Corps Book V: Line of Fire (1992)
*  The Corps VI: Close Combat (1993)
*  The Corps Book VII: Behind the Lines (1996)
*  The Corps Book VIII: In Danger's Path (1999)
*  The Corps Book IX: Under Fire (2002)
*  Retreat, Hell!: A Novel of the Corps (2004)

*  See the W.E.B. Griffin chronology

Griffin's Other Names

While best known for his military fiction, Griffin has written many other works -- on various topics ranging from race cars to romance -- under a series of pen names, including: W. E. Butterworth, Eden Hughes, Allison Mitchell, and Blakely St. James. While many of the works are no longer in print, you can find some of them with the help of our Out of Print, Used & Rare bookstore.

*  Books written as W. E. Butterworth
*  Books written as Eden Hughes
*  Books written as Allison Mitchell

*  Books written as Blakely St. James

The Series to Start With: Brotherhood of War

The Men at War Series

Book Cover Image. Title: 
								Brotherhood of War Book I: The Lieutenants, Author: 
								W.E.B. Griffin.

Our Price:  $ 8.99

Brotherhood of War Book I: The Lieutenants
by W.E.B. Griffin
Griffin first staked his claim as a star in the literary limelight with the Brotherhood of War series, consisting of nine novels featuring the lives and loves of soldiers serving in the U.S. Army.

*Brotherhood of War Book II: The Captains  by W.E.B. Griffin
*Brotherhood of War Book III: The Majors  by W.E.B. Griffin
*Brotherhood of War Book IV: The Colonels  by W.E.B. Griffin
*Brotherhood of War Book V: The Berets  by W.E.B. Griffin
Book Cover Image. Title: 
								Men at War Book I: The Last Heroes, Author: 
								W.E.B. Griffin.

Our Price:  $ 7.99

Men at War Book I: The Last Heroes
by W.E.B. Griffin
Griffin started writing his Men at War series based on the adventures and exploits of William "Wild Bill" Donovan -- head of the top-secret CIA precursor, the OSS, during World War II -- under the name Alex Baldwin. Kirkus Reviews called the series "Shrewd, sharp, rousing entertainment."

*Men at War Book II: The Secret Warriors  by W.E.B. Griffin
*Men at War Book III: The Soldier Spies  by W.E.B. Griffin
*Men at War Book IV: The Fighting Agents  by W.E.B. Griffin