Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
About the Writer
* Biography
* Good to Know
In Our Other Stores
*P. D. James Movies
*Signed First Editions by P. D. James
If You Like P. D. James
You'll Like...
*Ruth Rendell
*Minette Walters
*Reginald Hill
*A Traitor to Memory
by Elizabeth George
Meet the Writers

Image of 
									P. D. JamesP. D. James
With morality-conscious mysteries that do not linger on gore, P. D. James is a sort of anti-Lecter. Her tales are told in the whodunit tradition that prizes character, restraint and the slow unraveling of both a mystery and a social niche.

* Read the biography

Fact File

P. D. James
Also Known As:
Phyllis Dorothy James White (full name)
Current Home:
London, England
Date of Birth:
August 3, 1920
Place of Birth:
Oxford, England
Attended the Cambridge High School for Girls from 1931 to 1937 and later took evening classes in hospital administration
Grand Master Award from Mystery Writers of America, 1999; Diamond Dagger from British Crime Writers' Association, 1987

New from James

Selected Works

Book Cover Image. Title: 
								The Lighthouse, Author: 
								P. D. James.

Our Price:  $ 12.34
You Save:  22%

The Lighthouse
by P. D. James
In this eagerly awaited successor to the international bestseller The Murder Room, Commander Adam Dagliesh comes to the rescue when someone is murdered at a resort on Combe Island off the Cornish coast. Unfortunately, Dagliesh and his team have problems of their own.

*  Read a chapter
Book Cover Image. Title: 
								Cover Her Face, Author: 
								P. D. James.
*  Cover Her Face (1962)
*  Unnatural Causes (1967)
*  Shroud for a Nightingale (1971)
*  An Unsuitable Job for a Woman (1972)
*  A Taste for Death (1985)
*  Time to Be in Earnest: A Fragment of Autobiography (2000)
*  Death in Holy Orders (2001)
*  The Murder Room (2003)
*  The Lighthouse (2005)

*  See the P. D. James chronology

The Latest Dalgleish Caper

A Year in the Life

Book Cover Image. Title: 
								Death in Holy Orders, Author: 
								P. D. James.

Our Price:  $ 7.99

Death in Holy Orders
by P. D. James
Entering her 80s, James showed no signs of slowing down: Her 2001 mystery is another success. The death of an archdeacon brings Adam Dalgleish to a theological college in this reflective, engaging novel.

*Read an excerpt
Book Cover Image. Title: 
								Time to Be in Earnest: A Fragment of Autobiography, Author: 
								P. D. James.

Our Price:  $ 11.70
You Save:  22%

Time to Be in Earnest: A Fragment of Autobiography
by P. D. James
When James decided to write a memoir in 1997, she took a somewhat unconventional approach and structured it as a one-year diary, hence the title. The result combines a view of her later daily life and the world around her with a look on past events, from living in wartime England to her husband's battle with mental illness.

*Read an excerpt