Browse Meet the Writers
 
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
 
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
 
  Special Features  
 
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
 
Award Winners
 
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
 
Find a Store
 
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
About the Writer
* Biography
* Interview
* Good to Know
*Chronology
If You Like Colm Tóibín
You'll Like...
*J. D. Salinger
*Raymond Carver
*Anthony Burgess
*Frank McCourt
Meet the Writers

Image of 
									Colm TóibínColm Tóibín
He’s written newspaper columns, travelogues, a history of the Irish Famine, and an examination of the Catholic Church in Europe, but Colm Tóibín is known primarily, in the words of one critic, as a novelist with “a spare style and compressed but powerful prose that owes as much to the American writer Raymond Carver as it does to any modern Irish writer.”

* Read the interview




Fact File

Name:
Colm Tóibín
Current Home:
Dublin, Ireland
Date of Birth:
May 30, 1955
Place of Birth:
Enniscorthy, County Wexford, Ireland
Education:
St. Peter's College, Wexford; University College, Dublin, B.A. in English and history

*  Colm Tóibín's official web site




Tóibín's Latest

Selected Works

Book Cover Image. Title: 
								The Master, Author: 
								Colm Toibin.

Our Price:  $ 22.62
You Save:  9%


The Master
by Colm Toibin
In the tradition of Michael Cunningham's The Hours, Tóibín delves into the story of Henry James. "Tóibín has not only written a spectacular novel, he has found a way to pay tribute to Henry James. We should all be so lucky and so gifted," observes Lovely Bones author Alice Sebold of this daring literary experiment.

*  Read an excerpt
Book Cover Image. Title: 
								Heather Blazing, Author: 
								Colm Toibin, Metropolitan Museum of Art.
*  The South: A Novel (1990)
*  Homage to Barcelona (1990)
*  Heather Blazing (1992)
*  The Story of the Night (1996)
*  Love in a Dark Time (2002)
*  The Master (2004)

*  See the Colm Tóibín chronology


If At First You Don't Succeed...

"My first novel was turned down by about 20 publishers over a period of two and a half years," Tóibín confesses in our exclusive interview. "Because my name is Irish and would not be familiar to English editors, one of them said: 'If she writes anything else, do let us know.' Slowly, very slowly, the books began to sell and be noticed."



An Early Inspiration

Favorite Writers and Reads

Book Cover Image. Title: 
								The Sun Also Rises, Author: 
								Ernest Hemingway.

Our Price:  $ 13.57
You Save:  9%


The Sun Also Rises
by Ernest Hemingway
"I read Hemingway’s The Sun Also Rises when I was 16 or 17," Tóibín recalls. "I loved the glamour, the sour wisdom, and the range of characters. I had never thought of going to Spain, but the book made me love Spain and want to go there."

*Read an excerpt
Book Cover Image. Title: 
								Things Fall Apart, Author: 
								Chinua Achebe.

Our Price:  $ 10.70
You Save:  10%


Things Fall Apart
by Chinua Achebe
"This reads like a ballad, and its procedures have the same melancholy inevitability as the words of a beautiful old song," Tóibín reflects as he tells us of one of his favorite books, Chinua Achebe's Things Fall Apart. Read our interview to learn more about Tóibín's favorite books, including:

*The Trial  by Franz Kafka
*The Enigma of Arrival  by V. S. Naipaul
*The Portrait of a Lady  by Henry James
*Pride and Prejudice (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)  by Jane Austen, Carol Howard (intro.)
*Read the interview
Photo by Bruce Weber