Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
About the Writer
* Biography
* Good to Know
In Our Other Stores
*Signed First Editions by Marion Zimmer Bradley
If You Like Marion Zimmer Bradley
You'll Like...
*Robert Jordan
*Diana Gabaldon
*Robert A. Heinlein
*Dorothy Dunnett
Meet the Writers

Image of 
									Marion Zimmer BradleyMarion Zimmer Bradley
A prolific storyteller from the time she was old enough to talk, Marion Zimmer Bradley had an enormous impact on the science fiction and fantasy genres, imagining centuries of technological and culture clashes in the colonization of a distant planet in her Darkover series and recasting the Arthurian legends from the perspective of the women in his life in her 1983 masterpiece, The Mists of Avalon.

* Read the biography

Fact File

Marion Zimmer Bradley
Also Known As:
Lee Chapman, Morgan Ives, Miriam Gardner, John Dexter
Date of Birth:
June 30, 1930
Place of Birth:
Albany, New York
Date of Death:
September 25, 1999
Place of Death:
Berkeley, California
B.A., Hardin-Simmons College, 1964; additional study at University of California, Berkeley, 1965-1967
Locus Award for best fantasy novel for The Mists of Avalon, 1984

Bradley's Legacy Continues...

Selected Works

Book Cover Image. Title: 
								Ancestors of Avalon, Author: 
								Diana L. Paxson, Marion Zimmer Bradley.

Our Price:  $ 23.22
You Save:  10%

Ancestors of Avalon
by Diana L. Paxson, Marion Zimmer Bradley
The latest installment in the saga begun by Marion Zimmer Bradley's Arthurian classic The Mists of Avalon, Ancestors of Avalon chronicles the adventures of a band of priests and priestesses. Since Bradley's death in 1999, Diana L. Paxson has done a commendable job of continuing this beloved Celtic saga for the fans.

*  Read an excerpt
Book Cover Image. Title: 
								Gravelight, Author: 
								Marion Zimmer Bradley.
*  The Planet Savers (1962)
*  Falcons of Narebelda (1964)
*  The Shattered Chain (1976)
*  Stormqueen (1978)
*  The Mists of Avalon (1983)
*  Firebrand (1987)
*  Witch Hill (1990)
*  Ghostlight (1995)
*  Witchlight (1996)
*  Ancestors of Avalon (2004)

*  See the Marion Zimmer Bradley chronology

The Best Book to Read First

Book Cover Image. Title: 
								The Mists of Avalon, Author: 
								Marion Zimmer Bradley.

Our Price: $ 11.78
You Save:  34%

The Mists of Avalon
by Marion Zimmer Bradley
The Mists of Avalon -- Bradley’s hugely popular retelling of the King Arthur stories from the perspective of the women around him -- was hailed by critics not so much as a shift in focus but a “revisioning” of the legend.

*  Check out the Reading Group Guide

From Page to Screen

Bradley's masterpiece, The Mists Avalon, flummoxed Hollywood for nearly 20 years before finally making it to cable television as a TNT movie in 2001, starring Joan Allen, Anjelica Huston, and Julianna Margulies.

*  Check out The Mists of Avalon on DVD