Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
Meet the WritersImage of Gabriel García Márquez
Gabriel García Márquez
Gabriel García Márquez is the product of his family and his nation. Born in the small coastal town of Aracataca in northern Colombia, he was raised by his maternal grandparents. As a child, he was mesmerized by stories spun by his grandmother and her sisters -- a rich gumbo of superstitions, folk tales, and ghost stories that fired his youthful imagination. And from his grandfather, a colonel in Colombia's devastating Civil War, he learned about his country's political struggles. This potent mix of Liberal politics, family lore, and regional mythology formed the framework for his magical realist novels.

When his grandfather died, García Márquez was sent to Sucre to live (for the first time) with his parents. He attended university in Bogotá, where he studied law in accordance with his parents' wishes. It was here that he first read The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka and discovered a literature he understood intuitively -- one with nontraditional plots and structures, just like the stories he had known all his life. His studies were interrupted when the university was closed, and he moved back north, intending to pursue both writing and law; but before long, he quit school to pursue a career in journalism.

In 1954 his newspaper sent García Márquez on assignment to Italy, marking the start of a lifelong self-imposed exile from the horrors of Colombian politics that took him to Barcelona, Paris, New York, and Mexico. Influenced by American novelist William Faulkner, creator of the fictionalized Yoknapatawpha County, and by the powerful intergenerational tragedies of the Greek dramatist Sophocles, García Márquez began writing fiction, honing a signature blend of fantasy and reality that culminated in the 1967 masterpiece One Hundred Years of Solitude. This sweeping epic became an instant classic and set the stage for more bestselling novels, including Love in the Time of Cholera, Love and Other Demons, and Memories of My Melancholy Whores. In addition, he has completed the first volume of a shelf-bending memoir, and his journalism and nonfiction essays have been collected into several anthologies.

In 1982, García Márquez was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature. In his acceptance speech, he called for a "sweeping utopia of life, where no one will be able to decide for others how they die, where love will prove true and happiness be possible, and where the races condemned to one hundred years of solitude will have, at last and forever, a second opportunity on earth." Few writers have pursued that utopia with more passion and vigor than this towering 20th-century novelist.   (Jessica Dukes)

*Back to Top
Good to Know
Gabriel José García Márquez' affectionate nickname is Gabo.

García Márquez' first two novellas were completed long before their actual release dates, but might not have been published if it weren't for his friends, who found the manuscripts in a desk drawer and a suitcase, and sent them in for publication.

*Back to Top

About the Writer
*Gabriel García Márquez Home
* Biography
* Good to Know
*La hojarasca (Spanish-Language Edition), 1955
*In Evil Hour, 1961
*Los funerales de la Mamá Grande (Spanish-Language Edition), 1962
*La mala hora (Spanish-Language Edition), 1962
*One Hundred Years of Solitude, 1967
*No One Writes to the Colonel, 1968
*Collected Novellas, 1972
*The Autumn of the Patriarch, 1975
*Chronicle of a Death Foretold, 1981
*Cronica de una muerte anunciada (Spanish-Language Edition), 1981
*Love in the Time of Cholera, 1985
*El amor en los tiempos del colera (Spanish-Language Edition), 1985
*The Story of a Shipwrecked Sailor, 1986
*The General in His Labyrinth, 1989
*El general en su laberinto (Spanish-Language Edition), 1989
*Strange Pilgrims: Twelve Stories, 1993
*Of Love and Other Demons, 1994
*Del amor y otros demonios (Spanish-Language Edition), 1994
*Cómo se cuenta un cuento, 1995
*Me alquilo para soñar (Spanish-Language Edition), 1995
*News of a Kidnapping, 1997
*Noticia de un secuestro (Spanish-Language Edition), 1997
*Vivir para contarla (Spanish-Language Edition), 2002
*Living to Tell the Tale, 2003
*Memoria de mis putas tristes (Spanish-Language Edition), 2004
*Memories of My Melancholy Whores, 2005
Photo by Sophie Baker