Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
Meet the Writers
E. M. Forster
Edward Morgan Forster was born in London in 1879, attended Tonbridge School as a day boy, and went on to King's College, Cambridge, in 1897. With King's he had a lifelong connection and was elected to an Honorary Fellowship in 1946. He declared that his life as a whole had not been dramatic, and he was unfailingly modest about his achievements. Interviewed by the BBC on his eightieth birthday, he said: "I have not written as much as I'd like to... I write for two reasons: partly to make money and partly to win the respect of people whom I respect... I had better add that I am quite sure I am not a great novelist." Eminent critics and the general public have judged otherwise and in his obituary The Times called him "one of the most esteemed English novelists of his time."

He wrote six novels, four of which appeared before the First World War, Where Angels Fear to Tread (1905), The Longest Journey (1907), A Room with a View (1908), and Howard's End (1910). An interval of fourteen years elapsed before he published A Passage to India. It won both the Prix Femina Vie Heureuse and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize. Maurice, his novel on a homosexual theme, finished in 1914, was published posthumously in 1971. He also published two volumes of short stories; two collections of essays; a critical work, Aspects of the Novel; The Hill of Devi, a fascinating record of two visits Forster made to the Indian State of Dewas Senior; two biographies; two books about Alexandria (where he worked for the Red Cross in the First World War); and, with Eric Crozier, the libretto for Britten's opera Billy Budd. He died in June 1970.

Author biography courtesy of Penguin Group (USA).

*Back to Top

About the Writer
*E. M. Forster Home
* Biography
In Our Other Stores
*E. M. Forster Movies
*Where Angels Fear to Tread, 1905
*The Longest Journey, 1907
*Room with a View, 1908
*Howards End, 1910
*The Celestial Omnibus and Other Stories, 1911
*Government of Egypt (history), 1921
*Alexandria: A History and a Guide, 1922
*Pharos and Pharillon (history), 1923
*Passage to India, 1924
*Anonymity: An Enquiry, 1925
*Aspects of the Novel, 1927
*The Eternal Moment and Other Stories, 1928
*Goldsworthy Lowes Dickinson and Related Writings, 1934
*Abinger Harvest (essays), 1936
*Nordic Twilight (political), 1940
*Two Cheers for Democracy (essays), 1951
*The Hill of Devi, 1953
*Albergo Empedocle and Other Writings, 1971
*Maurice, 1971
*The Life to Come and Other Stories, 1973
*A Commonplace Book, 1985