Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
Meet the WritersImage of Dick Francis
Dick Francis
Dick Francis was born in Lawrenny, South Wales in 1920. He served in the Royal Air Force for six years during World War II, piloting fighter and bomber aircraft including the Spitfire and Lancaster between 1943 and 1946.

Following the war, Francis, the son of a jockey, became a celebrity in the world of British National Hunt racing. He won more than 350 races, was Champion Jockey in 1953-1954, and was retained as jockey to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother for four seasons, 1953 through 1957. Francis rode eight times in the world famous Grand National Steeplechase, and nearly won in 1956 when his horse, the Queen Mother's Devon Loch, a few strides away from victory with a clear field, suddenly collapsed. This incident, which Francis calls "both the high point and low point of my career as a jockey," was the impetus for him to begin a second career as a writer. Shortly after the incident, a literary agent approached Francis about writing an autobiography.

In 1957, Francis suffered another serious fall and was advised to retire from race riding. He completed his autobiography, The Sport of Queens, which was published later that year, and accepted an invitation to write six features for the London Sunday Express. He stayed on as the newspaper's racing correspondent for 16 years.

Sports writing soon led to fiction writing, which in turn led to a string of bestselling novels. His first, Dead Cert, was published in 1962. His 36th novel, 10 Lb. Penalty, was published in the U. S. by G. P. Putnam's Sons in September 1997. In addition to his novels and autobiography, Francis has also published a biography of Lester Piggott, A Jockey's Life, and eight short stories. He has edited (with John Welcome) four collections of racing stories, and has contributed to anthologies and periodicals.

Francis's books have been bestsellers in a number of countries, and have been translated into more than 30 languages, including all European languages, Japanese, Korean, Taiwanese, Bantu, and several dialects of Chinese. Each of his novels has also been recorded on audio in both Britain and the United States.

Francis was made an Officer of the most noble Order of the British Empire in 1984, and was awarded the British Crime Writers Association silver dagger in 1965, gold dagger in 1980 and Cartier diamond dagger for his life's work in 1990. The recipient of three Edgar Allen Poe Awards for Best Novel from the Mystery Writers of America, most recently for 1995's Come to Grief, Francis is the only person to have been awarded the prestigious award more than once. The Mystery Writers of America named Francis Grand Master for his life's work in 1996, and he was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters from Tufts University in 1991.

Author biography courtesy of Penguin Group (USA).

*Back to Top

About the Writer
*Dick Francis Home
* Biography
In Our Other Stores
* Signed, First Editions by Dick Francis
*The Sport of Queens: The Autobiography of Dick Francis, 1957
*Dead Cert, 1962
*Nerve, 1964
*For Kicks, 1965
*Flying Finish, 1965
*Blood Sport, 1967
*Forfeit, 1968
*Enquiry, 1969
*Rat Race, 1970
*Bonecrack, 1971
*Smokescreen, 1972
*Slay Ride, 1973
*Knockdown, 1974
*High Stakes, 1975
*In the Frame, 1976
*Risk, 1977
*Trial Run, 1978
*Whip Hand, 1979
*Reflex, 1980
*Twice Shy, 1981
*Banker, 1982
*The Danger, 1983
*Proof, 1984
*Break In, 1985
*Bolt, 1986
*A Jockey's Life: The Biography of Lester Piggott, 1986
*Hot Money, 1987
*The Edge, 1988
*Straight, 1989
*Longshot, 1990
*Comeback, 1991
*Driving Force, 1992
*Decider, 1993
*Wild Horses, 1994
*Come to Grief, 1995
*To the Hilt, 1996
*10 Lb. Penalty, 1997
*Field of Thirteen, 1998
*Second Wind, 1999
*Shattered, 2000
*Under Orders, 2006
*Dead Heat, 2007
Photo by Adrian Houston/Idos